Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 14, 2013
Very nice setting facilities and people! Definitely recommend and return again.
Jul 14, 2013
Great campsite. Excellent staff. Good location. Only negative is the bathrooms need updating but they are very clean! We would go back.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
This was one of our favorite campgrounds of our 17-day trip. Our kids loved the pool (and baby pool for our little one) and playground. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. I wish we'd been able to stay longer!
Jul 14, 2013
Stayed one night to tour the Badlands on our way back east. This is the only SHADY campground around and that makes a huge difference in the middle of summer. Clean restrooms and pool, breakfast and dinner available. No complaints!
Jul 14, 2013
Very Clean. Loved the pool in a hot place. Biting bugs were bad though. Very nice and clean bathrooms. Service was excellent. We love KOA.
Jul 14, 2013
Each stay at Badlands KOA has been a great stay.
Jul 13, 2013
Really loved this KOA. People very friendly, good pool and loved our Deluxe Cabin w/ bath. Absolutely loved the Badlands...beautiful! Thanks!
Jul 13, 2013
Campground is really nice and quiet. Food was very good. Nice friendly people.
Jul 13, 2013
Very nice. Good location. Friendly people.
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Lots of activities for the kids. Staff at campground are very pleasant and accommodating
Jul 12, 2013
We liked the shady area for the campsite. Everything was convenient and easy to get to. I think the swimming area should be opened longer.
Jul 11, 2013
Stayed six years ago and came back because of a great experience. Same again. Friendly and helpful staff and overall clean grounds and facility. Kids love wading in the river adjacent to the grounds. Close to Badlands NP.
Jul 11, 2013
We stayed for two nights and everything was very nice. It was quiet and in a great location. I've visited this campground three times now and will be back!
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Very good except for low lying limbs. Staff cam and cut them so I could get my 5th wheel. Staff was very courteous and helpful in rectifying the situation. No complaints. I will stay there again when heading out that way from Minnesota. Thanks for a great stay.
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Great, Great, Great
Jul 10, 2013
Beautiful campground, great campsite, wonderful staff! Wished we had planned to stay another night. Will definitely be back.
Jul 10, 2013
My wife and I have stayed at many KOAs over the years and the Badlands/White River KOA was simply the best!! I'd recommend it to anyone.
Jul 10, 2013
Very well maintained campground-clean (restrooms sparkled!. Grounds were free of litter and doggie deposits (big factor). The staff were excellent - friendly and helpful. Great place to stay while visiting the Badlands - only minutes away from Southern entrance.
Jul 10, 2013
Camp ground and facility is great, if the Badlands is the destination it is great. If Rapid City is a part it is an hour plus to Rapid City.
Jul 10, 2013
People were very friendly and helpful. Very clean grounds and facilities. Really enjoyed our stay here and wish we could have stayed longer...nice job in making our visit very pleasant.
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Truly an oasis in the Badlands. Quiet, shaded, clean, friendly staff.
Jul 10, 2013
There are three problems: 1.) The facilities are acceptable. However, the male bathroom looked like a bloodied crime scene. Needless to say, to avoid bloodborne pathogen problems, we had to find other bathroom/shower accommodations. 2.) The employees were downright rude. 3.) There are two ways to the campground--the LONG route through Rapid City OR you can pay to go through Badlands.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. Our staff cleaned and sanitized that restroom as soon as we were made aware of the issue. The National Park does collect a fee from those visiting the park. However, if you are only using park roads to access the campground, there is no fee.
Jul 09, 2013
This an extremely clean well run campground with an excellent and friendly staff. If you are in the badlands this is THE place to stay
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
My 2 daughters and I had a fantastic experience at the KOA at the Badlands/White River in South Dakota. Everything was clean and in great condition. It was a very nice touch that we were given a free package of hash browns when we arrived as well. I will recommend you to everyone I know!
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Just an excellent experience. The host family really works hard to make this a personal experience...very kid and dog friendly, and I loved the pancake breakfast...
Jul 09, 2013
Very shaded and clean. Dinner was great. Wonderful surprise to find this little oasis.
Jul 09, 2013
Really nice and personable staff, lots of space for the kids to run around!
Jul 09, 2013
Quiet and clean; exceptional owners
Jul 09, 2013
Facilities were clean. Staff was friendly. Setting was convenient but not beautiful. Mosquitos were terrible. We were eaten alive!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. Good News! We have been managing the mosquitos with natural products and the situation is much improved.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Only there one night. The staff was great, the camping spots for RV's are big and shady. The Indian taco were wonderful.
Jul 08, 2013
Very enjoyable; clean and centrally located to scenic sites of interest.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay here. It was a very friendly atmosphere and all facilities were clean. It was great!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.