Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 22 - October 9

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 21, 2015
nice park
Jul 21, 2015
I would have given the fifth star rating had they even attempted to go out of their way to accommodate a 42ft motor home (US) with a 50 amp service site.....considering the whole time we were at this KOA there was a 50amp site available. We asked for one and was told none were available.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
Very nice campground, well spaced, and staff are very helpful. Liked the camp away from the National Park and the hustle and tussle.
Jul 20, 2015
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The bison burgers and Indian tacos at the snack bar were delicious. After a busy day it was great to not have to cook! The pool and mini golf were enjoyable as well.
Jul 20, 2015
The campground itself is "technically" in the Badlands, but don't expect to see any of the beauty from your camp spot. It's about four miles outside, so you won't get a space with a view. And the pool.... kind of scary how dirty it was. I would recommend finding somewhere closer to the actual visitors center of the Badlands.
Jul 20, 2015
We felt price gouged on food.
Jul 20, 2015
Best koa I've ever stayed at.
Jul 20, 2015
Great campground. Despite being full, service was great and the campsites and campground were well kept. We had a great stay, and will return.
Jul 20, 2015
great place to stay for a family
Jul 20, 2015
Love this KOA. Beautiful park setting, lots of trees and grass for the badlands area! Great people working there and friendly! Would and will tell everyone about what a great KOA it is
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Campground was great- clean, utilities worked well. Wi-Fi was poor, but that is not why I go camping.
Jul 20, 2015
Great campground. Very isolated. Make sure to have everything you need. But it's a great place to stay.
Jul 20, 2015
Easy reservation, check in and check out. Quiet. Very clean. Good playground and pool. We only stayed one night but would recommend staying longer to enjoy facilities longer.
Jul 20, 2015
This was a wonderful campground just outside of the Badlands. The owners were very friendly and attentive to all our needs. We stayed in a "primitive" tent site which was nice and shady. We are planning a trip out to Yellowstone and Jackson Hole next summer and plan to stop back at this KOA on our way.
Jul 19, 2015
Friendly staff, level site and close to Badlands NP
Jul 19, 2015
Great!
Jul 19, 2015
Met both the Browns. They are extremely professional and take great pride in their campground. All facilities are well maintained and very clean. Great visit...couldn't have been more pleased.
Jul 19, 2015
Nice playground and friendly staff. Site was a bit small. Very close to our neighbor's slide out.
Jul 19, 2015
I'm sorry to report I wouldn't recommend this campground to anyone because of my experience with the owners. Karen's directions would have taken me 75 mi thru desolate areas with no services - in the dark of night. I'm a lone woman pulling a camper. I got lost. When I spoke to her about it, she was indignant & wouldn't talk to me again. Only negative point in my 2-mon journey. Surprising treatmt
Jul 19, 2015
A nice place to stay near the Badlands. Our two boys had a wonderful time!
Jul 18, 2015
This is my third time at this KOA. Always a nice stop.
Jul 18, 2015
Staff were extremely helpful and friendly
Jul 18, 2015
Nice place, cabin was comfortable and everything worked correctly. Enjoyed our stay.
Jul 18, 2015
Everything was clean ,neat and well cared for. The laundry was wonderful. The campsite was level, neat and very quite. Would stay there again and refer this campground to everyone coming to the badlands. Owners are very helpful also and very pleasant.
Jul 18, 2015
Nice location. Did not like bathrooms. Did not like weak internet service. Did not like cross campsite hook ups. Not enough employees to keep things running smooth.
Jul 18, 2015
Very clean and easy to pull through for the night. The staff is helpful and courteous.
Jul 18, 2015
It's was a clean campground and everyone seemed friendly. This was a smaller site than other Koa sites so everything was close.
Jul 17, 2015
Great place with great people.
Jul 17, 2015
People were very helpful when we checked in Also very helpful when I locked myself out of the camper
Jul 17, 2015
Great location and site.
Jul 17, 2015
Staff great-a bit disorganized-they cancelled our reservation accidentally before our arrival and then booked us in the wrong size cabin. However, they offered us a discount and were very friendly and accommodating.
Jul 17, 2015
Wonderful!
Jul 16, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
Nice clean campground with good spacing between the sites. Thank you for enjoyable time in the Badlands.
Jul 16, 2015
Loved the Kamp kitchen. Great stay. Would stay here over Rushmore, even with the drive. Mosquitos/biting flies were quite annoying this time of year. Maybe let us know when we are checking in so we can get the right stuff to combat those flying demons.
Jul 16, 2015
We enjoyed our stay, but on checking the man host was very threatening about driving only 5 mph it was not appreciated
Jul 15, 2015
Jul 15, 2015
We stayed in tipi 130, we swam in the pool, ate dinner there, and had a great time. Friendly staff and clean grounds. Thanks!
Jul 15, 2015
This KOA was outstanding. We loved our site and everything was great, including the buffalo burgers and the camp store! They had just the right cover for the holding tank cover that broke when we where getting ready to leave. Karen Brown and her husband were amazing and GREAT camp hosts!
Jul 15, 2015
Really a great experience. The cabin was clean and we had no difficulties getting in or out.
Jul 15, 2015
Staff was super helpful. The grounds were well maintained and they were working on improvements. Well shaded park.
Jul 15, 2015
Great Location Great Service
Jul 15, 2015
Good
Jul 15, 2015
The place was fine except they said they had wifi but you could not connect & the cable was awful.
Jul 15, 2015
The campground is in the perfect location to explore the Badlands. Seeing mature trees after a long hot drive was an oasis. Camp sit was along the White River, which was dried up to the point of being a swamp. Got eaten alive by mosquitos. My only complaint, which is not the KOA's fault. Nice grounds, friendly people, good pool. Sketchy wi-fi. Never could connect.
Jul 14, 2015
Beautiful and well maintained campground. One of the best KOA's we've been to. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Nice and peaceful atmosphere and the sites were spacious! Thanks to all the staff for making our stay wonderful!! Highly recommend!!
Jul 14, 2015
It was a little chaotic when we checked in but management was very friendly. Had a little kitchen in back of office that cooked buffalo burgers and dogs.
Jul 14, 2015
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award