Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 29, 2013
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 28, 2013
BEAUTIFUL grounds and well-maintained! The deluxe cabin was just FUN! Love your good bye sign wondering if wife is in car!!
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
Nice lots.
Jun 27, 2013
Well groomed campground. Great people. Super quiet place to relax Enjoyed our stay, especially the owls.
Jun 27, 2013
Very friendly staff. Enjoyed the pancake breakfast. Since GPS directions are inaccurate a few more road signs would be nice. Otherwise, a nice place to stay.
Jun 27, 2013
well maintained, pleasant site, good amenities. so convenient for the Badlands.
Jun 27, 2013
We were there during severe weather, and the staff made sure to let us know the procedure in the case that we would need to take shelter. We did not get to use the campground amenities.
Jun 27, 2013
Camp sites not level so unfriendly for big rigs with hydraulic levelers. Also no cell reception at campground

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that you seem to have had difficulty with your levelers. Most campers with big rigs find our campground easy to navigate with large pull through sites. The sites are gravel, but we do our best to keep them graded and level.
Jun 27, 2013
No pool steps for kids.....pool cold, kids didn't like it...just a little below average for stay...we like parks that cut there grass.... Taken care of better

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. I understand that you would have preferred steps, but our pool does have 2 ladders for entry and exit. We also have a kiddie pool that provides lots of fun for children who prefer shallow water.
Jun 26, 2013
Jun 26, 2013
this place was great!
Jun 26, 2013
Great campground! I recommend it!
Jun 26, 2013
Jun 26, 2013
Just what a campground should be. Thanks for all your hard work.
Jun 26, 2013
Everyone was very friendly! All services were GREAT!! We would definitely go back if we were in the area!
Jun 25, 2013
This was our first stay in a KOA. We had ants in our sleeper cabin, but the staff addressed it right away, which was super! The cabins are very nice. My only suggestion would be to have more than one outlet. We wanted to charge both cell phones, the camera battery and my computer (I'm self employed - so I can't totally unplug.) My daughter needs a night light, so one outlet was not enough for us.
Jun 25, 2013
Great location, very nice cabin set up. Facilities are a bit light but still great for a short stay!
Jun 25, 2013
You are our favorite KOA. Our dog LOVES your fenced in dog run. Your pancake breakfast is GREAT. Thanks.
Jun 25, 2013
Best dog park and walk on berm ever.
Jun 25, 2013
Wish we could have stated here when it wasn't storming. Everything was clean, area around incredibly scenic and very pet friendly. The good news is that the drainage is great there. Rained all night and the next morning didn't have to walk my dog through the mud. Right next to the White River. Worth the stay.
Jun 25, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
This campground is like an oasis in the desert
Jun 24, 2013
Great hospitality. Great pancakes. Thanks for having us.
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
We loved staying by the frog pond and hearing them sing all night! The pancake breakfast in the morning was nice too! Your campground was the nicest we could find near the Badlands park! The only thing I would suggest is that you move the sign for your campground (the one that says KOA 15 furlongs ahead). We didn't know then what a furlong was, and so we turned right at that very sign! : )
Jun 24, 2013
Everything was clean and the staff was warm and friendly.
Jun 24, 2013
Nice, Thanks
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 23, 2013
Wonderfully helpful staff, clean facilities and an amazing location! Highly recommended!
Jun 23, 2013
Jun 23, 2013
Jun 23, 2013
very clean and well run camp grounds. Will look for a KOA park again
Jun 23, 2013
Really liked the the extra space between camp sites. The Indian tacos were great but our space was to close to the water treatment pond and the smell woke us up at night.
Jun 23, 2013
Really nice campsite! Made to feel very welcome. Enjoyed our stay.
Jun 22, 2013
Clean, well maintained, with room between sites. We were extremely pleased!
Jun 22, 2013
I have stayed at your campground numerous times beginning with trips with my children and now with my grandchildren. It is a favorite stop on any trip that takes us through South Dakota!
Jun 22, 2013
This is a true family atmosphere. We stayed here a week earlier, too, at the beginning of our trip, and the owner remember and welcomed us back. The Indian tacos hit the spot after a long car ride. The pool is not heated but who needs that when it is 95. Grounds are clean and well kept. Bring lots of padding or sleeping bags if a hard mattress isn't your thing. Highly recommend staying here.
Jun 22, 2013
Our stay was great. The campground was clean, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast and dinner was a nice touch.
Jun 22, 2013
No internet and food sucked at restaurant

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that you were unaware that all of our campers have access to free wifi. That information appeared on your receipt. If you arrived after hours, we would have been happy to provide it to you in the morning.
Jun 21, 2013
Excellent location although you have to go through Badlands National Park to get there and its back off the beaten path it was a great place. It's a few miles from I-90 direct but worth the drive through the Badlands Park also it's not too far from Wall Drug and the senic route back from Wall was fantastic. Nice place to stay.
Jun 21, 2013
Great staff at the grounds and in the office. Really helpful. Thank you
Jun 21, 2013
had a lovely time here!!!! couldn't get cable to work but were having to much fun to care!!!
Jun 21, 2013
Very nice campground. Flat gravel lots, close to Badlands National Park. Their WiFi was usable and a godsend because there was no cell service there for Verizon for voice or data unless you used an external antenna and signal booster.
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 20, 2013
We had a wonderful time! It was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The only frustrating thing was that we did not have a BBQ grill at our site and had to buy a grill to put over the put which made it difficult to cook. I would definitely stay here again!!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.