Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. Spacious and quite camp sites. Good activities for the kids and they loved the fun bikes.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
This was a wonderful camp, very quiet and close to Badlands NP. In the cabin, we did notice the mattresses were not as inviting (too hard!) as a previous KOA cabin was. It would be nice if there were more outlets and hooks for hanging gear.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
The noise from the bugs was a little different. The sites were breath taking. The older staff NOT KID friendly. Very clean and well setup.
Aug 19, 2013
To much road noice, could not rest properly during the night

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. I wonder if you are referring to the correct campground. Our campground is in a rural setting, 13 miles from the interstate, and borders the White River.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
was a very nice campground
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Fantastic experience! Great staff and wonderful facilities.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
No fly swatter, no chair. Mattress was horrible on bottom double bunk.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
The owners were friendly and there were not too many rules. There were also Mosquitos
Aug 17, 2013
Not specific to this KOA. But there should not be a surcharge for having 4 people in a four or 6 person kamping Kabin. I understand surcharges for tent sites & RV's. but it feels like gouging to pay extra for less than rated Kabin occupancy.
Aug 17, 2013
Beautiful area, pool was nice with the hot weather, having food available as an option to cooking was nice.
Aug 17, 2013
Better than expected. Despite the campground being 40+ years old it is well maintained and improvements made. Staff was helpful. Close to many things to do and see yet could get on the open roads for a morning run. Only advice would bring extra sewer line as one may not work for todays RV's and you'll need the extra line to reach the hook up. I would go back if in the area again!
Aug 17, 2013
Great Indian Tacos & Pancake breakfast ! Campground host was very helpful & pleasant
Aug 16, 2013
Great location. Staff at registration was a bit unfriendly. Otherwise great stay.
Aug 16, 2013
We had a wonderful time at the Badlands/White River KOA. This was our first time in the Badlands and coming back to a great campground after a long day of sight seeing is almost like coming home. Facilities are well maintained, nice pool and clean bathrooms. We will be back on our next trip to SD.
Aug 16, 2013
Need more hooks in the showers. Also need some paper towels in the bathrooms. Great place! This was our second stay here. Looking forward to the 3rd.
Aug 16, 2013
The campgrount was quiet, except for the cicadas. The washrooms were clean and staff was friendly and helpful.
Aug 16, 2013
Beautiful place! Very well kept! Quiet! Spectacular views of the Badlands very near by.
Aug 16, 2013
There was some confusion about site that we had registered for. We did get a nice site but no cable, and connections were on wrong side.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. We do encourage campers, who are making reservations online, to read the site descriptions carefully to eliminate confusion at check in. As your stay was during a holiday weekend, we were not able to make changes to your reservation at that time.
Aug 15, 2013
KOA campggrounds are really great. The facilities are clean. Maybe some more restrooms are welcome in highseason.
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
The campground was well maintained and clean. A very nice spot with lots of trees. Their Indian Bread tacos were delicious. We would definitely stay again.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Very nice place to camp. Both times.
Aug 13, 2013
Very pleasant, clean and neat with friendly staff. A bit pricey.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Wished we had stayed longer than one night. And think we will all crave your delicious Indian tacos until we can visit again. The cabin we rented was immaculate, wish all places were as great and as clean as this KOA. Would highly recommend this KOA, and have bragged about how good your tacos were. Think all KOAs should have those. Have to say KOAs seem to be the best places to camp
Aug 13, 2013
Nice people. Nice park. Have no complaints. Would stay there again if in the area.
Aug 13, 2013
very friendly staff and owners. super clean bath house and laundry area. the entire grounds were very clean and well groomed. i recommend this campground 100%. thanks for a great experience
Aug 12, 2013
The grounds looked nice, but we couldn't get past the cicada noise. So we just left and paid to stay in the National park campground, where there wasn't any noise. Is there anyway to get the money back for the booking?
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
All pleasant. Pool excellent. Pet park good. Staff and owner tops.
Aug 12, 2013
The tent pads were great. Wood framed and filled with small round rocks that made a smooth surface and didn't let water collect under tent.
Aug 11, 2013
The staff is very friendly and helpful. We found this to be a lovely park, and the owner is working hard to make things perfect. Just beware that you are in a town with no grocery, and the closest we found was a small one in Wall about 30 miles away. Great stop to see the Badlands. It's basically right outside the entrance.
Aug 11, 2013
Had a great time.Campsites were roomy,with lots of shade. Bathrooms & laundry room were clean.WiFi was pretty fast,but there was no phone service.You are really close to the Badlands Natnl Park-lots of beautiful scenery.The only drawback is that you are 1 1/2 hours or more from Sturgis,Crazy horse,Mt Rushmore.Loved being on motorcycle,but would have liked less travel to activities.
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
We had a good time at the Badlands KOA. The pancakes were very good and saved us time for exploring. Two things could be improved: the fire rings/grills are very inadequate, and the very loud and unrelenting cicadas need a new home!!
Aug 11, 2013
We had a great stay. Only thing that would have been great would have been paper towels in the bathroom.
Aug 11, 2013
Great place to stay! It was a treat to go thru the Badlands to reach to the KOA. The pool was refreshing plus they have dinner and breakfast served if you don't feel like cooking.
Aug 11, 2013
Our stay at the campground was pleasant and enjoyable. We used it as a base to explore the Badlands NP. We found it, especially the laundry and restrooms, to be very clean and well maintained. They even arranged for the rain to fall at night.
Aug 11, 2013
cannot believe they charged $3 for every kid. when i get home, i will surely check the receipt I downloaded.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do encourage all campers to read their confirmations and the rate information on KOA. com carefully and to let us know if they have questions prior to arrival.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.