Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 28 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 27, 2017
Everybody was friendly and when I asked if they would mow the grass by our site the next day instead, the young girl said no problem and when we came back it was all done
Jun 27, 2017
We had a great stay at this KOA
Jun 27, 2017
We stayed in a tipi and the place was excellent. The stars at night are amazing.
Jun 27, 2017
Friendly staff. Rental bikes were fun. Appreciated the recycling! Awkward black tarp in women's bathhouse for doors during construction and two toilets side by side.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry the renovation project was awkward. We are so glad it has been finished, and we are up and running with new fixtures and floor.
Jun 26, 2017
This is our second time at this location. A true oasis in the Badlands!
Jun 26, 2017
Easy check in, friendly staff and very good facilities. Main bathrooms were undergoing some renovations, but they were still clean and the other shower building was good to go! The go to place to stay right next to the badlands.
Jun 26, 2017
Great campground
Jun 26, 2017
jo7h746ry7op
Jun 26, 2017
We spent 2 nights there at the beginning of our week, and when our vacation plans changed, we decided to spend our last 2 vacation nights there. The owners/staff are very friendly and helpful. The sites are nicely shaded. They serve meals there that can be ordered, but we left touring early in the morning and got back late so we weren't able to make use of that option
Jun 26, 2017
Very friendly staff, well maintained, with a variety of sites for all different kinds of camping.
Jun 26, 2017
very nice and clean campground. hosts are very helpful. quiet place to stay and rest.
Jun 26, 2017
Great people running the campground but they need to update utilities. Sewer connections too far and electric shared between 2 spots. Spots a litle small like most KOAs

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have been updating the facilities since we started three years ago. Numerous new electric pedestals throughout the campground. We will get to all of them eventually. Most sites are 60 feet long, and all are wide enough so your slide doesn't hang over your neighbor's picnic table. Some are double wide, so be sure to ask for one of those next time you stay.
Jun 25, 2017
Easy in & out, perfect location to Badlands NP. Level sites. 2 bathrooms: Newly constructed front bathroom (almost done) and laundry house bathrooms clean. Great laundry.
Jun 25, 2017
beautiful place. service was great.
Jun 25, 2017
Nice facilities helpful staff. We would certainly stay again.
Jun 25, 2017
More trees than I expected. The breakfast option was nice for quick get away in the AM.
Jun 25, 2017
We had a wonderful relaxing time. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. We are definitely recommending this campsite to our family and friends.
Jun 25, 2017
Wonderful stay with extremely friendly staff. There was an issue with my original booking and they did everything they could when we arrived to make it work for us. Just a stones throw from the Badlands Nat park... This is the place to stay.
Jun 25, 2017
Quiet, clean, organized well, and friendly. The dog run and dog wash were great! I already passed the park info on to relatives.
Jun 25, 2017
We stayed one night but everyone was friendly and this would be perfect for children
Jun 24, 2017
Absolutely wonderful campground. I will recommend this one to everyone one i know. I can't say enough about staff and campgrounds.
Jun 24, 2017
We enjoyed our staying at this campground, great service and very friendly staff
Jun 24, 2017
What gracious hosts! I recommend the tent sites that have a sink- super handy! The new pool is beautiful.
Jun 24, 2017
Only stayed one night, it was very nice. Hosts we're very nice and accommodating.
Jun 24, 2017
This KOA is a wonderful oasis in the badlands!
Jun 24, 2017
Easy pull in sites great for families
Jun 24, 2017
Cookhouse was great.
Jun 24, 2017
Great place to pitch a tent for the night!
Jun 24, 2017
after a long day all we wanted to do was be able to rest and relax while watching TV. We had no cable or anything from our antenna. They advertise free wifi but dont tell you that even if we could sign on we would only be able to check our mail.I tried for 3 hours to sign on...never happened. The frosting on the cake was that we had no cell phone service. I would never go back !

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were not happy with our "middle of no-where" location: no train noise, no plane noise, no freeway noise. One of the darkest night sky in the country. We do have sites with cable TV. Be sure to make your reservation in advance so one would be available.
Jun 23, 2017
this KOA is the BEST we have stayed at during our 3200 mile journey. Spacious sites, lots of shade, extremely friendly staff. We would recommend this park highly. Thanks for the great memories, and the advice for our day trip to see buffalo and Wall drug, loved the journey.
Jun 23, 2017
Great place to base from to see the Badlands. Very roomy and shady sites. Staff very friendly and on their game! Nice pool. Linda makes a great pizza.
Jun 23, 2017
We love staying here! So close to the Badlands. Well cared for campground. Stayed here 9 years ago and came back. Nice bathrooms and showers. Pool and one bathhouse under renovation during our stay which we were not aware of, but the pool opened on our last day at least. Would have liked the renovation to be mentioned on the website or with the confirmation email. Still would have stayed though.
Jun 23, 2017
Friendly staff. Loved the cook shack behind the main office. It is easy to see why this campground has won many awards. Liked the dog run with the doggie bathtub!
Jun 23, 2017
Nice, quiet stay. Thanks
Jun 23, 2017
Great facility with plenty to do on the property. The kids enjoyed the pool and miniature golf.
Jun 23, 2017
Stay was good. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. The sites were nice and the facilities pretty well maintained. The main bathrooms near us were under construction and that was NOT good. We have two kids with sensory processing issues and it was a challenge for them. Additionally, though we really liked that there was a pool and it was clean, the liner was slippery and dangerous. Food=C
Jun 23, 2017
Jun 23, 2017
Clean. Friendly. Comfortable surroundings.
Jun 22, 2017
only there for 14 hrs hard to give it a good rating
Jun 22, 2017
It was very packed, not very much privacy, and the quiet hours were not respected in the morning (the number of car doors that were slammed before 6am was ridiculous).

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This is the vacation season. We expect to have full campgrounds this time of year. We are sorry your neighbors were noisy in the morning. Did you speak to anyone about this? We would have been happy to interact with those who were bothering you.
Jun 21, 2017
Jun 21, 2017
Overall pretty good. Great location. Going through some updates. Friendly people.
Jun 21, 2017
Beautiful, clean, friendly hosts, beautiful, shady sites. Just delightful!!! Have already recommended.
Jun 21, 2017
Average KOA facility. Bathrooms not very clean. Months of soap scum. Once a week deep clean in showers would help. Very close to Badlands NP tho!
Jun 21, 2017
Great for a one night stay.
Jun 21, 2017
Great staff,shaded nice campsights,good base camp for Badlands and wall drug.we stayed in 5th wheel. would stay here again.
Jun 21, 2017
Very convenient to Badlands park entrance, Nice people and easy service to check in. No view of the park from camp site but otherwise great for anyone visiting the Badlands
Jun 21, 2017
Great campsite! Campground was very nice! Clean faculties! Everything was just wonderful!!
Jun 20, 2017
Perfect! Lovely, quiet, many amenities.
Jun 20, 2017
LOVE this KOA!! Great sites,clean facilities, nicely treed, friendly staff and we loved the Indian Tacos! Lots of activities for the kids. Thanks for a great stay!! Can't wait to come back.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award