Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Nov 02, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
Like the location away from freeways
Oct 11, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
We would love to come and stay here again. The setting was wonderful. The staff was so nice to us!
Oct 04, 2014
Nice grounds, clean and well kept buildings, comfortable Deluxe Kabin, friendly staff.
Oct 02, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
Great place as always. Convenient and easy to get to. Look forward to going back in the future.
Oct 01, 2014
Beautiful!
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
This is a great KOA - very convenient to the National Park and Wall. It was very scenic and very pet friendly. This was our second time to stay here and we would stay here again.
Sep 29, 2014
This is a lovely place to stay and relax--clean, well managed, friendly, great sight-seeing. This was our second stay and would recommend this place highly.
Sep 28, 2014
We were there in hot weather, so the shaded sites were especially appreciated. Sites, utilities, wi-fi, laundry, bathrooms - all were top notch. The only downside: the water is slightly salty. The taste comes through in iced tea but is too weak to be detected in cooked food. The water is fine for bathing and washing but if you are sensitive to taste, bring water for drinking and making tea.
Sep 28, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
Convenient to visiting the Badlands.
Sep 27, 2014
Very nice park, staff was friendly very quiet and internet worked great
Sep 27, 2014
Beautiful locale, spacious dog run, wished we could stay a week.
Sep 26, 2014
Beautiful setting, very nice people - we return every year
Sep 26, 2014
Very dog friendly. Plenty of space. Clean and friendly.
Sep 25, 2014
We stayed here Sept 2014. Beautiful views. Terrific service, staff was wonderful and had knowledge of the area. Bathrooms exceptionally clean. Great stay.
Sep 25, 2014
Nicest campground in the area.
Sep 25, 2014
first KOA where wifi actually worked
Sep 24, 2014
Closed bathroom closest to our site. Had to drive to bathroom in middle of the night.
Sep 24, 2014
We had a wonderful stay at the Badlands/White River KOA. The sites were clean and conveniently located and the staff was friendly and professional. I have already recommended this campground to several of my friends.
Sep 23, 2014
cleanest and best maintained koa we have stayed at. The KYLE family were great hosts.We hope to see you next summer>
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. You were very accomodating with us since we were towing a trailer and it worked out well. Everything was very clean and we hope we left it like we found it. Enjoy your winter.
Sep 21, 2014
We always enjoy our stay here.
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 21, 2014
Nice sites, lots of trees, they recycle (bravo), tidy everywhere and the owners were super. A very pleasant overall experience.
Sep 21, 2014
frustrated that my stay was just charged to my card without asking as I stood there with cash in my hand. When i mentioned wanting to pay cash, the clerk told me she just charged it, and gave the impression that crediting it and taking cash was far to much work. Site was nice, but staff was short and unfriendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

All sites require that a one night deposit be charged to your credit card at the time of the reservation. However, it is always possible to credit that charge in exchange for cash. We do that routinely and would have been happy to do that for you had you asked.
Sep 20, 2014
Sep 20, 2014
bugs everywhere! the stagnant river behind the park lent itself to multiple mosquitos. the cabins are very very far from the bathrooms. well, i guess there were bathrooms closer but they closed them down to winterize them in the summer!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

While September is a great time to travel due to fewer people and lower rates, it also means that we must begin to winterize some of our water lines in advance of cold temperatures. In fact, lows the week of your visit were below freezing. We're sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Sep 19, 2014
This was the most the most "comfortable" KOA we stayed at in our 6 weeks travels across the Northern US. We (our dogs actually) thought the K9 park was the best we have seen and the staff/owners were great.
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 18, 2014
Sep 18, 2014
Sep 18, 2014
Nice camp ground with trees and well maintained. The slot they put out 5th wheel in was a little short and we had to angle the truck. There is no cell phone service in the area, but they have a phone booth.
Sep 18, 2014
Beautiful trees and shade in the middle of the garlands. Worth the extra 4 minute drive from the other campgrounds..
Sep 17, 2014
Owners live on site and are constantly working to keep everything pristine. We were there after Labor Day so not all amenities were available. The campground is filled with huge cottonwood trees near the White River providing ample shade. With fire ring lit, the night skies with bright stars and coyotes singing made our stay special.
Sep 16, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
we had a great time we like the little cafe too
Sep 14, 2014
Sep 14, 2014
This is definately a gem in the badlands,with it's location in a wooded setting next to the white river. The campground was VERY clean with updated and clean bathrooms/showers. The hosts were very friendly and helpful with local information. We stayed off season and just used the campgrounds as home base for sightseeing in the Badland's area. Looks like they have loads of activities during season.
Sep 14, 2014
Sep 14, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.