Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 15, 2013
The place is nice but not kid, pet or people friendly. Too many rules!
Jul 15, 2013
Very crowded, small sites. Wifi was not working last two days of our stay. Kids playground equipment needs repairs or replacement. It is a great area and loved the weather.
Jul 15, 2013
We stayed only 1 night. WiFi was not working that time. Camping sites are located very close to each other.
Jul 15, 2013
we really had a relaxing visit we loved the bike path to the beach!
Jul 15, 2013
The cabins are too high priced. And the RV spots are over priced but I guess people are willing to pay that much.
Jul 14, 2013
Bathrooms were somewhat decent but never any soap filled up! Spaces are way too close to one another. It is just a parking lot. People are unfriendly-cant have fires. Would not recommend.
Jul 13, 2013
staff friendly, facilities nice, dog area could be better
Jul 13, 2013
We have a small rig VW camper van and got a spot over by the pool this time. Much better for us than in the middle with the big rigs. If the office would open at 8 with coffee available to by,it would be much more welcoming than opening at 9. Pool and grounds lovely!
Jul 13, 2013
This KOA is a nice park. The spaces are a bit narrow where we were placed. The list of rules you get when you check in is a little over the top. This place wants to charge you $$$ for parking, leaving a little late and an entire list of other infractions. The list of nazi rules are bold and highlighted in yellow. EASE UP WITH THE RULES, IT'S VACATION TIME
Jul 13, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay. It was pet friendly, very quiet, and plenty of room. The men's bathroom was not updated like the women's bathroom. The campground has a lot of rules which helps maintain the peaceful camping environment, but may not work for others.
Jul 11, 2013
It's a really nice park, the staff was great. Great location, except some traffic noise from the highway. But the spaces are simply too tight. We do not even have slide outs, and we really struggled to fit our truck and trailer into our space,even after reserving a space for a trailer that is 5 feet longer than our actual trailer due to same problem last time we stayed here.We camp 60 nites p/y.
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Office staff was not at all helpful when I inquired about the area.
Jul 09, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. Location is great to get to the beach and Avila barn for frest vegs and fruits. Would return again and again.
Jul 09, 2013
The camp was closer to a noisy highway than I thought it would be. And, would prefer dg to gravel in the sites. Gravel is hard on feet and gear. It is a great location though, near to Avila, Shell Beach and an easy drive to SLO and the Edna Valley.
Jul 09, 2013
This was our first KOA stay. We had a great time and met some really nice people. Thank you so much for the stay.
Jul 08, 2013
The only problem we had was there was no room in front, we could not take our awning out plus being disabled made it tougher. Other than that our stay was great!
Jul 08, 2013
Very disappointed in the staff this year. Stayed last year the campsites were clean as well as the pool. Never seen anyone clean a campsite, the pool was dirty, the staff was rude and very unorganized.
Jul 08, 2013
We stayed for 6 nights - July 1st-July 7th. Yes it was a busy weekend, however we have never camped so close to other trailers ever. Trailer next to us had sewer dump right next to our picnic table and there must have been a leak previously that was not cleaned up as it was littered with toilet paper. this is clearly a health hazard. So consequently our sewage dump was right next to another.
Jul 08, 2013
We were there for the 4th of July. Had a great time. Our only complaint was with the inconsistency with the WI FI. It would work for maybe 10 minutes at a time and then go out.
Jul 08, 2013
As always, Avila Beach KOA is a gem. Staff are always cheerful and friendly, and the park is always clean and tidy. Campsites are large and roomy, and folks appear to all be having a great time, especially at the pool and hot tub.
Jul 07, 2013
The park could use upgrades. The space we stayed in was gravel and it hurt to walk on. I wish the pool was open later then 9:00 in the summer and the jacuzzi was way to hot! The office staff was friendly with the exception of one. Lorrie was very unpleasant and everyone in the park noticed It. I wish this KOA had more activities for the kids like Chula Vista KOA. The facilities are old and beat up
Jul 07, 2013
Very enjoyable stay. Very well kept grounds.
Jul 04, 2013
Always a great time at Avila KOA. Staff is super!!!!!
Jul 03, 2013
Great location. Very clean facilities. Enjoyed our stay. Will visit again.
Jul 03, 2013
We really liked the location, and the staff is friendly. Spaces are too crowded, and I'd recommend that staff escort campers to their sites to ensure proper placement of vehicles.
Jul 03, 2013
Bathrooms were clean. Pool/spa were great. Sites are tight. Dumpster across from our site was full when we got there, and two days later had still not been emptied.
Jul 01, 2013
I enjoyed my stay at the KOA but I was dissappointed with my spot. I could not use my SAT Dish there because of the woods, and the cable connection didn't work. I would go again if I was in another spot!! Especially since my wife and I are handicapped...it would have been nice to be closer to the pool.
Jul 01, 2013
Too close to 101 - very loud traffic. Great people and host.
Jun 30, 2013
This KOA is right up against the hwy. It was very noisy and difficult to sleep. The sites are very tight. If your plan is to park your rig or trailer and use the location as a jumping off point it is perfect, just don't plan on spending much time there as the spaces don't allow for much room. One really great thing is the site was very level. All we did was lower our jacks.
Jun 29, 2013
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
Very friendly staff!
Jun 23, 2013
Folks were nice enough. Sites are clean, but small. Camp Store Has limited hours with a very limited selection. Bath house is clean. Game room needs repairs.
Jun 22, 2013
We had a great time, thanks.
Jun 22, 2013
We stayed at this site two times before and this time it was terrible! The pool was policed by a horrible lady, that wouldn't give me her last name, Laura was her first name. She said that she warned everyone 4-5 times, but I just saw her giving people heartache. She yelled at people and even yelled at us, "The pool is closed!!" We were dressed in warm clothes and just looking in the pool.
Jun 22, 2013
Very Clean and helpful staff
Jun 20, 2013
We were only at the Avila/Pismo Beach KOA for one night so we didn't really get a chance to explore, but it seemed nice. Great pool. Good location. Could have some more grassy areas to make it feel less like a car park. Toilets could do with being updated too. We stayed in some other KOAs (Yosemite West/Mariposa and Costanoa) which were brilliant.
Jun 19, 2013
Great place and nice people. will be back
Jun 19, 2013
Nice location, somewhat pricey. We were there for 4 nights and the trash cans and dumpsters were never emptied and trash was falling out all over. Somewhat difficult to move trailer into spots due to closeness.
Jun 19, 2013
Rules too strict; pool closes too early; kid's under 14 are not allowed in the jacuzzi; movie night was cancelled...twice! women's bathroom out of towels for several hours; lots have a "very tight fit"; etc. etc.
Jun 19, 2013
we had a nice little grassy area for our small trailer, otherwise its dusty gravel for the big boys
Jun 19, 2013
we have camped here before and still feel the same the sites are too close to each other unless you are fortunate enough to have an end site when you back in you are right up against the other camper or trailer you are virtually side by side with no privacy at all

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our campground is small and things are tight, but we are in the process of installing privacy fences between sites
Jun 18, 2013
very good,sites very close,we had great neibors.great area to check out lots to do.
Jun 17, 2013
We had a great time at this campground. The staff were friendly and bathrooms were clean. There is a Bob Jones bike trail to Avila Beach nearby. Also there is a trolley stop near which you can take to Avila Beach, Pismo Beach and Pismo Outlets free. The negatives are the small sites and no camp fires.
Jun 16, 2013
Jun 14, 2013
Nice Kampground - all around us was cleanliness including restroom/showers, and dog area. Those two areas are sometimes questionable, but not in this case - quietness, cleanliness, good rates, what else is there to want ? Will return.
Jun 14, 2013
Sites are small (narrow), sewer main is under capacity, not really pet friendly.....showers don't all work properly ..... we didn't like their place in Prunedale either ( last month)

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are a small campground so things are tight...but we love all furry friends...just ask that they are not allowed to do their "business" on our grass.
Jun 13, 2013
Very nice. We love, love, LOVE the managers, Dave and his wife. Very accommodating and helpful. Short drive to beach or hike for younger folks.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.