Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Apr 15, 2014
Great location! The Bob Jones Trail is beautiful for walkers and bikers and leads to quaint Avila Beach. But KOA sites are without charm, scrunched tightly. Restrooms badly need ventilation & store is tiny. We were happy to move on to Pismo Beach State Park at half the price and four times the room!
Apr 15, 2014
Nice surroundings but spaces are really tight.
Apr 13, 2014
Very clean and friendly people. We had to extend our stay because our RV broke down and they were very accommodating.
Apr 12, 2014
Apr 12, 2014
Apr 12, 2014
Apr 11, 2014
We would wish for more SPACE between sites! We did discover two to three pull through sites which we will ask for in our next visit. Since we'll be two motorhomes, that would be nice to have 2 pull-throughs close to each other. :) The site people were friendly and helpful; the restrooms clean and well kept. It appears that the grounds had been let go for awhile but were being worked on! :)
Apr 10, 2014
Apr 09, 2014
close to hiway be very friendly staff
Apr 09, 2014
This is a neat little get-away campground. We have stayed here before and will return again.
Apr 07, 2014
Best kept secret!
Apr 07, 2014
The sites were a little too narrow for our tastes.
Apr 06, 2014
Your hot tub was extremely noisy. Probably a motor bearing or the impeller is cavitating.
Apr 04, 2014
the spots were tiny, expensive, and right up against the freeway. We went into town and found a rv resort that was much cheaper, right on the beach, and nicer. I wouldn't go back there ever.
Apr 02, 2014
Apr 01, 2014
Had a wonderful time & staff was more than accommodating. We celebrated a birthday & had lots of company & they went above & beyond to make us comfortable.
Apr 01, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
Our campsite was next to a tube that vented the fumes from the sewer. I would not recommend letting them place you anywhere's near site 71 or 72. It was not pleasant at all. We camped with friends who had their sewer back up and there was a huge mess of black water under their RV.
Mar 29, 2014
Friendly people, great place to get away to and relax. Lots to do in short trips (Hearst Castle, Solvang, etc) Would definitely stay again.
Mar 29, 2014
Print material and personal contact made us feel park is run for management, not campers. Phone reservation, by contrast, was very pleasant.
Mar 28, 2014
Mar 27, 2014
We had a great stay. When asked to move we were immediately accomodated. The dirt on top of the concrete pads due to fence work needs to be removed. It makes your hoses muddy. Everything else OK. Thanks.
Mar 27, 2014
We enjoyed our stay here and always do. We do wish the bathrooms were a little more up to date.
Mar 25, 2014
First KOA park we have stayed at and it was a great experience. The sites are narrow as others have commented but doable. Bathrooms, etc kept very clean. Able to rent bikes at the park which was very convenient. Will stay there again.
Mar 24, 2014
The campground is very nice. The bathrooms were clean, lots of activity for families. Reason for 3 stars: HOWEVER, It is very noisy as it is very close Hwy 101. The campground has no tent sites. It offers cabins.
Mar 23, 2014
We liked the facilities. Debbie was extremely nice and easy to work with and the staff were all very nice, friendly and helpful. It is located in a beautiful area with the beach nearby.
Mar 17, 2014
Loved all the improvements. Staff is always supportive. Great location for Avila Beach. Very quiet and clean.
Mar 10, 2014
Staff was wonderful! Sites were just too narrow.
Mar 10, 2014
Mar 08, 2014
Great family oriented place to stay and camp while still close to the beaches
Mar 07, 2014
Good location except for the freeway noise. The spa also was not working!!!
Mar 04, 2014
The restrooms/shower area were very clean
Mar 04, 2014
Had to extend stay due to bad weather. Staff were friendly and worked hard to clean up after storms.
Mar 02, 2014
We love this park it's so easy to ride the bikes into Avila Beach on a very safe bike / walking trail. The park is very nice with clean facility's it would be perfect if it had a fenced dog run!
Feb 27, 2014
Feb 25, 2014
Feb 23, 2014
Just a place to park your RV..the staff was nice enough, but the spaces were way to close together....
Feb 22, 2014
Without thinking, our stay was over President's Day weekend. Consequently, the park was very crowed. Nevertheless, we've stayed there before when it was less crowded and we enjoyed it. Like all KOA's the staff was excellent. Thank you KOA.
Feb 19, 2014
Had to back up on the spaces, little room for our pick-up to turn around. Spaces much to close to one and other. Hard to park our pick up without being to close to next space. Park to little to try to get some many RV in. Will not go back
Feb 19, 2014
The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds are well kept, and the bathrooms, pool, spa, and activity centers were welcoming. The location is convenient for touring local beaches, but it is also butted up against the highway, so traffic noise is most unfortunate and unpleasant.
Feb 18, 2014
Not enough space for our trailer and truck. Felt like we were in a sardine can. Otherwise Avila is a beautiful place and we enjoyed the Bob Jones bike trail.
Feb 18, 2014
Great location!
Feb 18, 2014
We had a good time and the people there are very friendly. park is very clean.
Feb 18, 2014
Feb 17, 2014
friendly and well managed. saved an opening until the agreed-upon time; fortunately we made it on time.
Feb 14, 2014
It is perceived to be near the beach which is 3 miles away as well as the hub of the town is quite a distance away. The noise from HWY 110 does not allow for a quiet sleep.
Feb 10, 2014
Feb 10, 2014
Feb 08, 2014
Good management. Very pleasant campground.
Feb 05, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.