Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 04, 2014
We had a great time. Campsites are on the smaller size, but still accommodating. The pool area was nice. Campground was clean. Staff at check-in was helpful. Public restrooms were decent. Never used the showers. Biggest downside for our family was there are no wood fires allowed by a county ordinance. Not KOA's fault. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.
Aug 04, 2014
Great location with excellent facilities that are well maintained. Close to both Pismo and Avila beaches.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
It was great, close to everything. Loved the Bob Jones trail
Aug 02, 2014
We so enjoyed our stay, we wish we would have planned a longer stay. We loved our spot, everyone working and guests were all so happy and pleasant. The pool and spa were wonderful. Everyone there seemed to be enjoying themselves. We were in a 27 ft motor home with a car our spot was big enough. No complaints.
Aug 02, 2014
Sites were too small and not well defined. Bathrooms were not designed to move water efficiently and as consequence were always flooded.Toilets were overflowing constantly. For such a spectacular venue, it was certainly not presented in its best light.
Aug 02, 2014
Nice small campground!!
Aug 01, 2014
Bathrooms were terribly maintained. I may not come back due to the lack of effort of cleanliness.
Jul 31, 2014
Mooie camping vlakbij snelweg. Prima voor overnachting onderweg naar LA.
Jul 31, 2014
we've been KOA campers for over 20 years have camped at KOAs acrossed the country, Avila/Pismo was the WORST KOA we have every been to. You had to share a space with another camper, it was back to back. we had to park our vehicle where our awning would have come out and our patio chairs would have been. There was no privacy and the staff was not helpful and were inconsistent with their info.
Jul 31, 2014
Bathrooms are filthy, dog run needs to be cleaned and sprayed for pests. Seems the only thing important is the mighty dollar, the more mini whinnies they can get in the park the more $.
Jul 30, 2014
Not used to a KOA having no green areas, no trees, no shade, no privacy. Right on the freeway (loud). Front office staff could be more friendly...maybe overworked. Canceled outdoor movie...kids were looking forward to it. Very nice pool and game area! Nice pet walk area. If not for these things...1 star. Not a destination, good for stop over.
Jul 29, 2014
My wife and I are new to KOA. Compared to the Santa Cruz/Monterey Bay campground we recently stayed at, the Avila facility was a big disappointment as far as Staff not very friendly, and trash cans overflowing.
Jul 28, 2014
We enjoyed breakfast, pool and park! I feel that we were a bit cramped in the sites, But not a huge issue. As the manager was made aware, our whole party, 3 trailer sites) had to flee for safety after a tree branch fell. All of us were lucky to have moved out of the way quick enough to prevent major injuries. To prevent future occurrences, you might want to do some clean up through the park
Jul 28, 2014
Our site was so small we could hardly get out of our trailer door after we pulled our pickup into our space. Need to have more parking space for vehicles that pull trailers.
Jul 28, 2014
We stayed at private RV parks that provided much more space between RVs. Our RV had mechanical trouble and KOA were the only parks that charged $10 even with plenty of advance notice. The others did not. You give no discounts whereas the others gave AAA or Good Sam discount. The park was quiet and clean, but crowded. I pity the RVs parked next to the overflowing trash bins.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
This is an older campground, but the staff is very nice and it's in a good location. Too bad you can't have campfires, though!
Jul 27, 2014
Great location. The park was very nice and the staff was great.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
Had a wonderful time. This was our 2nd visit.
Jul 24, 2014
This was our third stay at this camp site. Great service, great people. We enjoyed the pool and movie night.
Jul 24, 2014
Our stay was restful and peaceful. The grounds are very clean, neat and nice and we will be back in the fall. So happy you are there.
Jul 24, 2014
Great location BUT.... Trailer sites are WAY too small. The guy behind us broke our tail light trying to fit into his spot. The guy next to us had to park on our spot because he had no room. Restrooms were leaky in the middle of a serious drought and there was no soap dispenser. We are used to much better from K.O.A.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
It is a little tight to get in and out of depending on size of rig. Also Sat. reception is not good.
Jul 23, 2014
It seemed that this KOA could use more help in the office. There was only one person and she was on the phone while the line grew. Plus they have problems with their sewer and as people around us would leave they had issues of the sewer going down the pipe as we did so this would create a horrible order for awhile. The camp had placed screws in the sewer outlet to prevent issues but made more.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Great place to stay very polite helpful staff
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
It was a great weekend just wish they had better WI fi in the back of the campground
Jul 22, 2014
The entire park was neet and clean and everyone was very hospitable. Wold like to see green grass rather than rocks for site patio area
Jul 21, 2014
The sites are too crammed in together. It is like being in an RV ghetto. Not enough trees and each site is so barren. It is just wall to wall rvs - crammed in like sardines. We like campgrounds that have sites with more space and some feeling of privacy. Great Location though.
Jul 21, 2014
Showers weren't very clean and we were disappointed that there were no fire pits. Picnic tables need a hole for umbrellas.
Jul 21, 2014
Very restricted space Even for small RVs. Very near to the Highway. Nice pool.
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
We did'nt like the parking / camp spot. It was very narrow, we almost could'nt make it to park in. After our stay we had to search for the garbadge containers... Could'nt find it any where, next morning we saw it on the road. No sign for garbadge on the campsite. Bad and old restrooms and showers, dirty also probably because it was old and therefore not easy to keep clean.
Jul 19, 2014
Beautiful area, the campground needs to be updated. Desperately needs a fenced in dog area or two with real doggie poop bags. The sewer system leaked at all the sites around us and they were in the front of all sites so the hose barely reached. The wifi signal was very weak. The garage area was not kept clean. We pay the higher rates to stay at KOA because of the cleanliness,but not at this KOA.
Jul 19, 2014
Loved the easy access to the bike trail, hot springs and surrounding cities. Staff was helpful & friendly. Facility clean. Nice pet area.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Very noisy. Small sites :(
Jul 17, 2014
Great place... Nice employees
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
The grounds were clean staff was great. We definetly will be returning.
Jul 16, 2014
we had a wonderful time there.the only thing wrong was the climb tree was not open for long. Campsite was good and long. The best was when F.D. cut two tree branches off for a NEW 160,000. dollar 5th.wheel to back in. He made sure no damage came to the unit at all. Will I come back ? YES I WILL thankyou for a wonderful camp. You made our trip good
Jul 16, 2014
Our stay at Avila/Pismo KOA was very nice, the spots for RVs are very tight and close, but the camp host was very friendly and helped get us parked. We had a nice stay otherwise. You can't beat the beautiful greenery and the beach. Our grandchildren had plenty to do with the pool and playgrounds and areas of interests close to the KOA.
Jul 16, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.