Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
campsites for the most part are too restrictive(not enough room between campers)otherwise campground are well maintained and pleasant.
Aug 23, 2014
nice KOA. friendly and accomodting staff. OK location
Aug 23, 2014
This was our second stay, it is centrally located between pismo and morro bay. We like the quick access to both areas but the real plus is Avila beach itself. The bike path is great for running, walking and for viewing nature in particular waterfowl. The facilities were clean, well kept and the staff was friendly.
Aug 23, 2014
The employees were nice but the restroom are in horible shap at least the mens room was, 1 shower wet everthing else but you, 2 shower was back up as if the septic was full, 3 shower the hand valves was not secure by its components and the shower walls were not grouted. I know that camping is roughing it but my family and I were just passing through from a 600mile drive from klammth beach
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Restrooms were not cleaned in a timely maner.
Aug 20, 2014
This KOA, overcharge you for store items, the grounds are dirty, the bathrooms are not clean, and when you tell someone who works there they are still not cleaned. Way overpriced compared to other KOA's for what you get. We will not stay there again.
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
This is a nice little KOA - but the spaces are small, even by SoCal standards. However, it is clean and the staff, like KOAs in general, was very nice. Also, really close to Avila Beach.
Aug 17, 2014
Made reservations two weeks in advance , last space available. We were able to get additional night, although we had to change location, which we seen several other RV 'a changing spaces also. Served breakfast Sat. & Sun. Which was good, reasonable and no miss. Park is clean and people are friendly. We'll go back again.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
This was our 2nd visit to Avilla KOA.There were relatively low cost upkeep issues that had they been done, would have made our stay better. The bathroom fan in G was so clogged with debre & dust the gunk was hanging from the fan. Yuck. When we arrived after check in time,our cabin was not clean. There was hair all over the bathroom, the bunk bed sheets were dirty and the carpet wasn't vacuumed.
Aug 12, 2014
Motor home broke down night before I called and cancelled Thursday night. Was charged for Friday night because of late cancellation. Very disappointed I was charged even with me cancelling
Aug 12, 2014
It was quite at night. Very family oriented. We have a motorhome and all the hook ups worked .The people on the office gave us all the info we need. Very busy site, good location. We pick a site with no one on the back it worked fine. They have a spot for dog walking but people still took the dogs to the "bathroom" on the kids area. We would go back.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Sites are very small & too close to each other. We have a small RV & a small truck & there was no room gor our truck in our site. The "heated" pool was chilly.We only stayed 1 nite passing through so didn't use any facilities. Stuck our heads in the rec room & everything was beat up looking.No campfires allowed, only charcol. The Sat morning breakfast was nice. Overpriced.
Aug 10, 2014
Check in took a long time and gave us no direction. 3 days later, we were told that we were parked to far back and had to move our trailer. No camp fires and unhappy/unfriendsly staff and other campers. No thanks!
Aug 10, 2014
I almost never rate poorly, but this place is tiny and used to be private. That means it has a nice pool and spa, but the sites are tiny. Many of the visitors bought in before KOA and will tell you about it. Avila is great, but maybe go somewhere else this time. I love KOA, but this one not so much.
Aug 10, 2014
The only reason we gave two stats to this kampground is because the front office clerk was fair enough to give us refund for early check out. Otherwise this kampground is too crowded, sites are extremely small. It looks more like rv storage than a camping area. In addition, it is located next to the highway so it feels like you are literary sleeping on the road.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
The staff was very friendly and It is close to Avila Beach and San Luis Obispo. the pool was nice and the families also. The bathrooms were old and not clean, no privacy and some of the guests were rude like moving out at 6 in the morning with their loud RV. $50 is a lot to spend for what you get.
Aug 09, 2014
This is a quiet, lovely camp site. It's very peaceful.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
We had a cabin and RV site located together. Cabin was clean and campsite was spacious for our Class B. Bathrooms were clean at all times and staff was friendly and helpful.
Aug 08, 2014
Older campsite,narrow sites... well noted online. Site level. Cleanliness/maintenance were an issue. Spa at pool area (which is lovely)was cloudy indicating lack of care. Laundry room was dreadful. Washer dispensers full of gunk, floor filthy, dryer filters full, electrical cord running from uncovered outlet over sidewalk & across the street. Female store employee rude to kids. Will not return
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Great location!! WiFi service was just ok and I had trouble connecting several times.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
The camp stalls were very narrow and very hard to back into the stall next to the neighbors. The customer service reps. were not very helpful when it came to information about eateries, locations of neighboring activities etc.
Aug 05, 2014
This KOA was very basic. The Rv's are too close. It's more of a parking lot. Not a lot going on for the kids. I saw 1 staff member in the 3 days we spent there and he was cleaning the pool on Monday morning.
Aug 05, 2014
My family and I had a great stay.Thanks for putting us next to the play ground.
Aug 05, 2014
It was wonderful!
Aug 05, 2014
Great campground, close to Avila Beach, would go back again. Bathrooms were not clean and the drains backed up in all the showers. General campground cleanliness was OK, but needed more grooming. Trash was not picked up. Thank you.
Aug 04, 2014
This park has several poor reviews. As opposed to previous reviews the park was clean. It was very convenient to the beach and wedding event we attended. I think people sometimes expect large sites as in AZ where land is cheap. Dog area was good. We didn't use the pool but it was busy. They showed a movie Sat. night. We were close to the entrance with a pull through and road noise was minimal.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Great staff, & food on Sat. & Sun. !!
Aug 04, 2014
We had a great time. Campsites are on the smaller size, but still accommodating. The pool area was nice. Campground was clean. Staff at check-in was helpful. Public restrooms were decent. Never used the showers. Biggest downside for our family was there are no wood fires allowed by a county ordinance. Not KOA's fault. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.
Aug 04, 2014
Great location with excellent facilities that are well maintained. Close to both Pismo and Avila beaches.
Aug 03, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.