Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 19, 2014
Was really good until the end. We knew that fires weren't allowed which is a bummer. What really upset me though was the drain getting plugged while trying to clean out our tanks. They had put in two screws to block anything large from going down the drain. This made it nearly impossible to drain and took me nearly an hour. We've been trailerling for 11 years and never had this happen.
Apr 19, 2014
Tight fit. Crowded. They don't answer their phone much of the time. Granted it's because they are with a customer but it's pretty frustrating because that is most of the time - so don't expect to call them. In my book that means they are understaffed.
Apr 18, 2014
Located close to busy highway. Lots of traffic noise.
Apr 18, 2014
Apr 18, 2014
We enjoyed our stay.Campside clean and wel kept up. Office people nice and helpfull.
Apr 18, 2014
Apr 18, 2014
Apr 18, 2014
Apr 17, 2014
Great location. Spaces are tight. Nice pool and spa.
Apr 17, 2014
Clean and quiet Nice for families Great access to great bike path and beach and golf Will be back many times if The Lord is willing
Apr 16, 2014
This site is a parking Loy with extremely little space between vehicles , Messy bathrooms with no drains in showers leaving puddles in dressing area. Close to the beach is the only good thing I can say. Also no office service past 5 pm!
Apr 15, 2014
We called for reservations well in advance of our stay and requested a larger site, agreeing to pay the higher price for a large site. We were placed a site so small we couldn't even pull out our awning and our RV isn't large, no slide outs. Bathrooms were clean but hot water was a hard adjustment in the shower. There is a stench at the site, there is a sump pump at this site. Bike trail is great.
Apr 15, 2014
Apr 15, 2014
Great location! The Bob Jones Trail is beautiful for walkers and bikers and leads to quaint Avila Beach. But KOA sites are without charm, scrunched tightly. Restrooms badly need ventilation & store is tiny. We were happy to move on to Pismo Beach State Park at half the price and four times the room!
Apr 15, 2014
Nice surroundings but spaces are really tight.
Apr 13, 2014
Very clean and friendly people. We had to extend our stay because our RV broke down and they were very accommodating.
Apr 12, 2014
Apr 12, 2014
Apr 12, 2014
Apr 11, 2014
We would wish for more SPACE between sites! We did discover two to three pull through sites which we will ask for in our next visit. Since we'll be two motorhomes, that would be nice to have 2 pull-throughs close to each other. :) The site people were friendly and helpful; the restrooms clean and well kept. It appears that the grounds had been let go for awhile but were being worked on! :)
Apr 10, 2014
Apr 09, 2014
close to hiway be very friendly staff
Apr 09, 2014
This is a neat little get-away campground. We have stayed here before and will return again.
Apr 07, 2014
Best kept secret!
Apr 07, 2014
The sites were a little too narrow for our tastes.
Apr 06, 2014
Your hot tub was extremely noisy. Probably a motor bearing or the impeller is cavitating.
Apr 04, 2014
the spots were tiny, expensive, and right up against the freeway. We went into town and found a rv resort that was much cheaper, right on the beach, and nicer. I wouldn't go back there ever.
Apr 02, 2014
Apr 01, 2014
Had a wonderful time & staff was more than accommodating. We celebrated a birthday & had lots of company & they went above & beyond to make us comfortable.
Apr 01, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
Our campsite was next to a tube that vented the fumes from the sewer. I would not recommend letting them place you anywhere's near site 71 or 72. It was not pleasant at all. We camped with friends who had their sewer back up and there was a huge mess of black water under their RV.
Mar 29, 2014
Friendly people, great place to get away to and relax. Lots to do in short trips (Hearst Castle, Solvang, etc) Would definitely stay again.
Mar 29, 2014
Print material and personal contact made us feel park is run for management, not campers. Phone reservation, by contrast, was very pleasant.
Mar 28, 2014
Mar 27, 2014
We had a great stay. When asked to move we were immediately accomodated. The dirt on top of the concrete pads due to fence work needs to be removed. It makes your hoses muddy. Everything else OK. Thanks.
Mar 27, 2014
We enjoyed our stay here and always do. We do wish the bathrooms were a little more up to date.
Mar 25, 2014
First KOA park we have stayed at and it was a great experience. The sites are narrow as others have commented but doable. Bathrooms, etc kept very clean. Able to rent bikes at the park which was very convenient. Will stay there again.
Mar 24, 2014
The campground is very nice. The bathrooms were clean, lots of activity for families. Reason for 3 stars: HOWEVER, It is very noisy as it is very close Hwy 101. The campground has no tent sites. It offers cabins.
Mar 23, 2014
We liked the facilities. Debbie was extremely nice and easy to work with and the staff were all very nice, friendly and helpful. It is located in a beautiful area with the beach nearby.
Mar 17, 2014
Loved all the improvements. Staff is always supportive. Great location for Avila Beach. Very quiet and clean.
Mar 10, 2014
Staff was wonderful! Sites were just too narrow.
Mar 10, 2014
Mar 08, 2014
Great family oriented place to stay and camp while still close to the beaches
Mar 07, 2014
Good location except for the freeway noise. The spa also was not working!!!
Mar 04, 2014
The restrooms/shower area were very clean
Mar 04, 2014
Had to extend stay due to bad weather. Staff were friendly and worked hard to clean up after storms.
Mar 02, 2014
We love this park it's so easy to ride the bikes into Avila Beach on a very safe bike / walking trail. The park is very nice with clean facility's it would be perfect if it had a fenced dog run!
Feb 28, 2014
Too expensive!!Very little hot water, no linens in bathroom & cleaning up the room for $125. No way!!
Feb 27, 2014
Feb 25, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.