Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
Our family had one of the best times ever. We enjoyed the great staff, friendly campers, pool, weekend breakfast, game room and cabin.
Jun 08, 2014
Total rip off. Arrived at 7pm office closed. 9-5 office hours. really? my fault, huge rainstorm, so in a rush and didn't see rate sign by the self serve envelopes. Expected usual $35-45. $82.00? less value card = $73.80? never paid so much anywhere Excuses were Spring break? everyone doing it? BS Paid much less in LA next day. WIFI didn't work till reset in morning. Mediocre breakfast & coffee $5
Jun 06, 2014
Nice cabins and friendly staff. A very good little park that I would stay in again.
Jun 06, 2014
Enjoyed being close to the beaches and another attractions.The staff was friendly and helpful.
Jun 03, 2014
Kids and pool area were awesome. Restrooms/showers were great too. Park was very nice with access to 3 mile walk or bike ride to Avila beach. Campsites were clean however, they were a bit close to each other.
Jun 03, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
Terrific helpful staff. Dave even helped me fix my bike.
Jun 02, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your site. Lovely location
May 30, 2014
This as the worst koa we have ever stayed at in 34 yrs of camping. . The office staff was rude and unhelpful, the sites were small and hard to get in to. You had to bag you toilet paper. There were stop spikes in the roads making moving around dangerous. Dumpsters overflowed. Wifi was hard to use and timed out. It deserves a zero not a one.
May 29, 2014
It was great until no hand paper and no toilet paper in the rest room from sunday to tuesday.My wife was upset about this. But other wise it was ok.
May 29, 2014
family friendly, very clean restrooms, fun Saturday nite movie for kids. Great pool and playground.
May 29, 2014
We enjoy this campground. It is clean and quiet, and the staff are friendly and helpful.
May 28, 2014
We have been coming here for as long as it is a KOA.However the bathroom facilities are not up to KOA standard anymore. Toilets are leaking and the showers are hard to turn to cold and hot. This weekend was a busy weekend, but 3 weeks ago the bathrooms were not cleaned.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
This was my first time staying at this site. All the staff that I interacted with was very friendly and informative. I stayed in one of the small cabins and it was the perfect size for myself and by sons (9 & 10). My boys had a blast in the game room and the pool. Loved that there is a free trolley that took us to Pismo Beach. Great stay!!
May 27, 2014
What a Wonderful place to stay, beautiful, clean, got home telling friends and I'll be back!
May 27, 2014
We had soooooooo much fun. Looking forward to our trip back in July.
May 27, 2014
May 26, 2014
May 26, 2014
Only had a one night stay but was very pleasant. Facilities were clean and Saturday morning breakfast was very good. Very nice place to stay.
May 25, 2014
I always love staying at Ocean Canyon. I am particularly pleased that they installed push button locks on the restrooms. The grounds and pool area were all looking good.
May 24, 2014
Loved our site (#3) tucked back in the trees have stayed locally many times but never at this KOA facility. I actually went to grammar schools at the old school (now a whine tasting bldg.) just down the road and lived on what was a dairy ranch directly across the freeway. Our stay brought back many fond memories. John Azevedo
May 23, 2014
Great Location ! Small sites, Clean Park. This is an older RV park built in the '60's so its not set up for large rigs with slide outs. Great for travel trailers up to 28' without slide outs . Sites are back in at 90*. Parking for tow vehicles is marginal. This park is about location to the hot springs, beach 4 miles, San Luis Obispo 6 miles, Pismo Beach 5 miles.
May 23, 2014
staff is welcoming, campgroud is beautiful, sites are very good. Hope to stay again and for a longer time because KOA is so close to so many wonderful places to see. The KOA itself has a lot of amenities.
May 22, 2014
spaces are far to narrow, campground is too noisy (too close to the highway)
May 21, 2014
People were very friendly. Campground lacked trees, Store was very limited in items and restrooms were not as clean as other KOAs were that we have stayed at.
May 20, 2014
It was our first time at a KOA kampground and we loved it. Everyone was really nice so much to do there my girls had a blast.
May 19, 2014
Facility is very nice. A little close to freeway and noise but it is clean. It is also 3 miles from beach, 7 miles from San Luis Obisbo, 7 miles from Pismo Beach.
May 19, 2014
May 19, 2014
Great location, easy access on trail to beach and is close for a quick drive into SLO. 4/5 stars only because of limited space and shade around actual site, but we love it here and can't wait to come back.
May 19, 2014
May 19, 2014
Very nice KOA. A lot of activities for kids. Reminds us of Pismo Coast Village.
May 18, 2014
May 17, 2014
Pool nice, bathrooms nice, staff great. But no shade,no grass and sites were in the middle of a gravel paking lot.
May 16, 2014
May 15, 2014
May 14, 2014
May 13, 2014
Some goods and bads. People very nice. We stayed in a cabin. Dated, but very clean. Problem, bed was a double and old, my wife and I couldn't sleep together. Fortunately they had a futon. Kids loved the bunks. Pool very clean, not very heated. No outside furniture to sit on and many cabins didn't even have a deck.
May 12, 2014
We have stayed at the Avila Beach KOA a couple of times a year, for the last two years. I have to say, that this last weekend was my most enjoyable time staying at this KOA. The staff were friendly and helpful. The campground had a relaxed feel to it. I am looking forward to coming back, and would defiantly recommend Avila Beach KOA to others.
May 12, 2014
Great facility. Great staff.
May 12, 2014
We had a great time, the sites are very small and the road noise is loud, the pool was nice. We do plan on returning. Avila beach check it out and the farm across the way too and the bike path was cool. its a great central location.
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
Mix up in spot. The spot we had was next to a vacant spot with sewer problems. Eating mothers day breakfast and smelling sewer not good. Run down needs lots of work. This was one of the worst Kia's we have been to. This was a bay and mothers day suprise for me. I tried not to complain. But this was not good.
May 10, 2014
May 10, 2014
May 07, 2014
If you reserve early enough try to get space 14..it's a large pull thu with plenty of room. Super nice staff. Very good weekend breakfast and even a bottle of champagne for mimosas. Bike trail is close and beautiful. Sparkling clean pool. Liked the "woodsy at the beach" feeling.
May 07, 2014
Spaces are way too close to each other. The place needs a revamping -renewing -remodeling. The pool area was lovely.
May 06, 2014
May 05, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.