Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 19, 2013
Great location,however staff should share with campers information about the winery and farmers market that are within walking distance. A bit disapointed with site, too small of space. Too many rules posted. Very clean though.
Jul 19, 2013
Great location! Campsites were too small, no room to set up outside. The place has a lot of small repairs.
Jul 17, 2013
Dave and Judy..... Host and Hostess were very helpful. Always love staying at this KOA
Jul 17, 2013
4 people per campgroind site? Really.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Great place to stay!
Jul 16, 2013
Sites were very small and difficult to enter and exit. If the site in front of us had been occupied we would not have been able to get out. Very poor planning.
Jul 15, 2013
the site was to small for our 32 foot trailer and hard to maneuver. yellow poles along side of rd are hard to see and should be removed at entrance. Staff closes office at 5pm.
Jul 15, 2013
The place is nice but not kid, pet or people friendly. Too many rules!
Jul 15, 2013
Very crowded, small sites. Wifi was not working last two days of our stay. Kids playground equipment needs repairs or replacement. It is a great area and loved the weather.
Jul 15, 2013
We stayed only 1 night. WiFi was not working that time. Camping sites are located very close to each other.
Jul 15, 2013
we really had a relaxing visit we loved the bike path to the beach!
Jul 15, 2013
The cabins are too high priced. And the RV spots are over priced but I guess people are willing to pay that much.
Jul 14, 2013
Bathrooms were somewhat decent but never any soap filled up! Spaces are way too close to one another. It is just a parking lot. People are unfriendly-cant have fires. Would not recommend.
Jul 13, 2013
staff friendly, facilities nice, dog area could be better
Jul 13, 2013
We have a small rig VW camper van and got a spot over by the pool this time. Much better for us than in the middle with the big rigs. If the office would open at 8 with coffee available to by,it would be much more welcoming than opening at 9. Pool and grounds lovely!
Jul 13, 2013
This KOA is a nice park. The spaces are a bit narrow where we were placed. The list of rules you get when you check in is a little over the top. This place wants to charge you $$$ for parking, leaving a little late and an entire list of other infractions. The list of nazi rules are bold and highlighted in yellow. EASE UP WITH THE RULES, IT'S VACATION TIME
Jul 13, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay. It was pet friendly, very quiet, and plenty of room. The men's bathroom was not updated like the women's bathroom. The campground has a lot of rules which helps maintain the peaceful camping environment, but may not work for others.
Jul 12, 2013
Close to the beaches but yet far enough away that you do not have the traffic. This KOA was busy :) Nice to meet new faces from everywhere and the staff friendly and helpful. Would be remiss if I did not mention the fabulous Farm Store just across the street with all its good fresh farm pies,veggies and special items and for the kids(and the kids in us)some farm animals. Loved it :)
Jul 11, 2013
It's a really nice park, the staff was great. Great location, except some traffic noise from the highway. But the spaces are simply too tight. We do not even have slide outs, and we really struggled to fit our truck and trailer into our space,even after reserving a space for a trailer that is 5 feet longer than our actual trailer due to same problem last time we stayed here.We camp 60 nites p/y.
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Office staff was not at all helpful when I inquired about the area.
Jul 09, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. Location is great to get to the beach and Avila barn for frest vegs and fruits. Would return again and again.
Jul 09, 2013
The camp was closer to a noisy highway than I thought it would be. And, would prefer dg to gravel in the sites. Gravel is hard on feet and gear. It is a great location though, near to Avila, Shell Beach and an easy drive to SLO and the Edna Valley.
Jul 09, 2013
This was our first KOA stay. We had a great time and met some really nice people. Thank you so much for the stay.
Jul 08, 2013
The only problem we had was there was no room in front, we could not take our awning out plus being disabled made it tougher. Other than that our stay was great!
Jul 08, 2013
Very disappointed in the staff this year. Stayed last year the campsites were clean as well as the pool. Never seen anyone clean a campsite, the pool was dirty, the staff was rude and very unorganized.
Jul 08, 2013
We stayed for 6 nights - July 1st-July 7th. Yes it was a busy weekend, however we have never camped so close to other trailers ever. Trailer next to us had sewer dump right next to our picnic table and there must have been a leak previously that was not cleaned up as it was littered with toilet paper. this is clearly a health hazard. So consequently our sewage dump was right next to another.
Jul 08, 2013
We were there for the 4th of July. Had a great time. Our only complaint was with the inconsistency with the WI FI. It would work for maybe 10 minutes at a time and then go out.
Jul 08, 2013
As always, Avila Beach KOA is a gem. Staff are always cheerful and friendly, and the park is always clean and tidy. Campsites are large and roomy, and folks appear to all be having a great time, especially at the pool and hot tub.
Jul 08, 2013
We loved the ambience and the hospitality. The only downside was our cabin wasn't ready when we were told it would be. The Staff was great in accomodating us.
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
The park could use upgrades. The space we stayed in was gravel and it hurt to walk on. I wish the pool was open later then 9:00 in the summer and the jacuzzi was way to hot! The office staff was friendly with the exception of one. Lorrie was very unpleasant and everyone in the park noticed It. I wish this KOA had more activities for the kids like Chula Vista KOA. The facilities are old and beat up
Jul 07, 2013
Very enjoyable stay. Very well kept grounds.
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Always a great time at Avila KOA. Staff is super!!!!!
Jul 03, 2013
Great location. Very clean facilities. Enjoyed our stay. Will visit again.
Jul 03, 2013
We really liked the location, and the staff is friendly. Spaces are too crowded, and I'd recommend that staff escort campers to their sites to ensure proper placement of vehicles.
Jul 03, 2013
Bathrooms were clean. Pool/spa were great. Sites are tight. Dumpster across from our site was full when we got there, and two days later had still not been emptied.
Jul 01, 2013
I enjoyed my stay at the KOA but I was dissappointed with my spot. I could not use my SAT Dish there because of the woods, and the cable connection didn't work. I would go again if I was in another spot!! Especially since my wife and I are handicapped...it would have been nice to be closer to the pool.
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Too close to 101 - very loud traffic. Great people and host.
Jun 30, 2013
This KOA is right up against the hwy. It was very noisy and difficult to sleep. The sites are very tight. If your plan is to park your rig or trailer and use the location as a jumping off point it is perfect, just don't plan on spending much time there as the spaces don't allow for much room. One really great thing is the site was very level. All we did was lower our jacks.
Jun 29, 2013
Jun 28, 2013
Stayed for 2 nights in deluxe cabin. Pros cabin clean, distance to beaches and swimming pool. Cons unfriendly notes (everything has a fine, even tire damage roadblock built in road for when you thing of taking the wrong entry), no chairs or picnic table for outside the cabin, unhandy cabin configuration and right near noisy highway junction.
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
Very friendly staff!
Jun 23, 2013
Folks were nice enough. Sites are clean, but small. Camp Store Has limited hours with a very limited selection. Bath house is clean. Game room needs repairs.
Jun 22, 2013
We had a great time, thanks.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.