Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2014
Older campsite,narrow sites... well noted online. Site level. Cleanliness/maintenance were an issue. Spa at pool area (which is lovely)was cloudy indicating lack of care. Laundry room was dreadful. Washer dispensers full of gunk, floor filthy, dryer filters full, electrical cord running from uncovered outlet over sidewalk & across the street. Female store employee rude to kids. Will not return
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Friendly. Facilities met our needs, but cabins were not clean or very well maintained. Some inexpensive upkeep and cleaning would go a long way...fans and filters were dirty, and the only towel bar kept falling off the wall. Missing or falling off screens. Bedroom carpet was filthy. Pool and hot tub were nice and we liked cabins and campsite options to fit various needs of our family.
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Great location!! WiFi service was just ok and I had trouble connecting several times.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
The camp stalls were very narrow and very hard to back into the stall next to the neighbors. The customer service reps. were not very helpful when it came to information about eateries, locations of neighboring activities etc.
Aug 05, 2014
This KOA was very basic. The Rv's are too close. It's more of a parking lot. Not a lot going on for the kids. I saw 1 staff member in the 3 days we spent there and he was cleaning the pool on Monday morning.
Aug 05, 2014
My family and I had a great stay.Thanks for putting us next to the play ground.
Aug 05, 2014
Enjoyed all the surrounding activities and especially the convenient KOA location!
Aug 05, 2014
It was wonderful!
Aug 05, 2014
Great campground, close to Avila Beach, would go back again. Bathrooms were not clean and the drains backed up in all the showers. General campground cleanliness was OK, but needed more grooming. Trash was not picked up. Thank you.
Aug 04, 2014
This park has several poor reviews. As opposed to previous reviews the park was clean. It was very convenient to the beach and wedding event we attended. I think people sometimes expect large sites as in AZ where land is cheap. Dog area was good. We didn't use the pool but it was busy. They showed a movie Sat. night. We were close to the entrance with a pull through and road noise was minimal.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The site was too small and too close each other. The cabin was not maintained. I had to stay with spiders. And whoever does housekeeping, don'ttip at all. Bad job.
Aug 04, 2014
Great staff, & food on Sat. & Sun. !!
Aug 04, 2014
We had a great time. Campsites are on the smaller size, but still accommodating. The pool area was nice. Campground was clean. Staff at check-in was helpful. Public restrooms were decent. Never used the showers. Biggest downside for our family was there are no wood fires allowed by a county ordinance. Not KOA's fault. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.
Aug 04, 2014
Great location with excellent facilities that are well maintained. Close to both Pismo and Avila beaches.
Aug 04, 2014
I booked a studio cabin for me and two of my friends to attend an event in Arroyo Grande. We were worried that the chair cots might be too small but they were not too small at all. The little cabin was clean and very comfortable for the three of us, the staff was friendly and I would stay here again. I have already recommended the cabins to other friends.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
It was great, close to everything. Loved the Bob Jones trail
Aug 02, 2014
We so enjoyed our stay, we wish we would have planned a longer stay. We loved our spot, everyone working and guests were all so happy and pleasant. The pool and spa were wonderful. Everyone there seemed to be enjoying themselves. We were in a 27 ft motor home with a car our spot was big enough. No complaints.
Aug 02, 2014
Sites were too small and not well defined. Bathrooms were not designed to move water efficiently and as consequence were always flooded.Toilets were overflowing constantly. For such a spectacular venue, it was certainly not presented in its best light.
Aug 02, 2014
Nice small campground!!
Aug 01, 2014
Bathrooms were terribly maintained. I may not come back due to the lack of effort of cleanliness.
Jul 31, 2014
Mooie camping vlakbij snelweg. Prima voor overnachting onderweg naar LA.
Jul 31, 2014
we've been KOA campers for over 20 years have camped at KOAs acrossed the country, Avila/Pismo was the WORST KOA we have every been to. You had to share a space with another camper, it was back to back. we had to park our vehicle where our awning would have come out and our patio chairs would have been. There was no privacy and the staff was not helpful and were inconsistent with their info.
Jul 31, 2014
Bathrooms are filthy, dog run needs to be cleaned and sprayed for pests. Seems the only thing important is the mighty dollar, the more mini whinnies they can get in the park the more $.
Jul 30, 2014
Not used to a KOA having no green areas, no trees, no shade, no privacy. Right on the freeway (loud). Front office staff could be more friendly...maybe overworked. Canceled outdoor movie...kids were looking forward to it. Very nice pool and game area! Nice pet walk area. If not for these things...1 star. Not a destination, good for stop over.
Jul 29, 2014
My wife and I are new to KOA. Compared to the Santa Cruz/Monterey Bay campground we recently stayed at, the Avila facility was a big disappointment as far as Staff not very friendly, and trash cans overflowing.
Jul 28, 2014
We enjoyed breakfast, pool and park! I feel that we were a bit cramped in the sites, But not a huge issue. As the manager was made aware, our whole party, 3 trailer sites) had to flee for safety after a tree branch fell. All of us were lucky to have moved out of the way quick enough to prevent major injuries. To prevent future occurrences, you might want to do some clean up through the park
Jul 28, 2014
Our site was so small we could hardly get out of our trailer door after we pulled our pickup into our space. Need to have more parking space for vehicles that pull trailers.
Jul 28, 2014
We stayed at private RV parks that provided much more space between RVs. Our RV had mechanical trouble and KOA were the only parks that charged $10 even with plenty of advance notice. The others did not. You give no discounts whereas the others gave AAA or Good Sam discount. The park was quiet and clean, but crowded. I pity the RVs parked next to the overflowing trash bins.
Jul 27, 2014
It was nice and kids loved the cabin with loft. Drain in bathtub needed to be unclogged and game room needs major updating.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
This is an older campground, but the staff is very nice and it's in a good location. Too bad you can't have campfires, though!
Jul 27, 2014
Great location. The park was very nice and the staff was great.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
Had a wonderful time. This was our 2nd visit.
Jul 25, 2014
The campground was crowded. Trash was overflowing. Pool was very cold but they said it was heated. Office closed before their promised hours.
Jul 25, 2014
My stay was the best and I'm very pleased with everything and the staff was excellent
Jul 24, 2014
This was our third stay at this camp site. Great service, great people. We enjoyed the pool and movie night.
Jul 24, 2014
Our stay was restful and peaceful. The grounds are very clean, neat and nice and we will be back in the fall. So happy you are there.
Jul 24, 2014
Great location BUT.... Trailer sites are WAY too small. The guy behind us broke our tail light trying to fit into his spot. The guy next to us had to park on our spot because he had no room. Restrooms were leaky in the middle of a serious drought and there was no soap dispenser. We are used to much better from K.O.A.
Jul 24, 2014
Comfortable. Nice location, quiet, and excellent proximity to the beach and bike path!
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
It is a little tight to get in and out of depending on size of rig. Also Sat. reception is not good.
Jul 23, 2014
Our cabin was very dirty as were the shower facilities. We have stayed at this KOA many times in the past without this issue; not sure if there has been a change in management but I was very disappointed with our accommodations.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.