Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 06, 2015
We have stayed at this KOA many times. It is always very quiet and relaxing. The staff always seem to accommodate our 13 ft trailer. It is close to the beach, walking trails, good restaurants and shopping. We are there regularly, as we come into town to visit relatives.
Apr 06, 2015
The rock and sticker campsites were a bit disaapointing and they are very small sites there are some bigger sites but we felt like we were on top of our neighbors..on a poitive note the location of the park is nice, the pool and jacuzzi area was very nice, the bathrooms were a 10 and the bike trail from KOA to downtown Avila was a highlight, we would stay again but would ask for a bigger site
Apr 06, 2015
Positives: Nice and helpful staff. Clean facilities. Some spots back up to pretty areas. Negative: freeway noise and really tight spots. Right on top of your neighbors. But overall good place and excellent location close to Avila so worth it.
Apr 06, 2015
Clean, great location and great staff.
Apr 04, 2015
Loved the campground,hated our site. We were slammed up against a cabin. The cabin windows were right in our site. Would definitely come back for the right site.
Apr 04, 2015
Nice stay, good pool. Only suggestion would if the owners would alternate campers in the campsites, rather than put right next to each other when possible, until the campground is filling up more.
Apr 03, 2015
Apr 03, 2015
There is very little space between sites. The sewer smelled a lot. The clubhouse did not even have a working pool cue to play billiards. My daughter wasn't allowed to use her electric scooter. There is animosity from the "members" towards the KOA visitors. The girl that cleans the property was very helpful and kind.
Apr 03, 2015
We were very pleased by how friendly the staff was to us. Everybody was new but they all fit in real well with us member campers. Real full but nice and peaceful this trip, my wife especially was pleased
Apr 03, 2015
Apr 02, 2015
Great location and bike path to beach. Tight parking, poor lighting, and spider webs in cabin
Apr 02, 2015
Bathrooms kinda funky. Internet unreliable/unuseable. Sewer connection was almost a foot above ground level... Not useable for dumping waste tanks. Noisy. Expensive.
Apr 01, 2015
Too expensive! Too close to your neighbor. No fire pits. Pool and spa close to early. Was very nice and clean tho.
Mar 31, 2015
kept up very nice, guest services were very helpful. Great location except for freeway
Mar 31, 2015
Bathroom was out of soap in all dispensers in ladies room for our entire stay. camp store has bankers hours so don't forget anything.
Mar 31, 2015
highest priced we stayed at.lacks maintenance bathroom .advised sewer pipe for site leaking. didn,t care
Mar 30, 2015
Spaces have been divided with "fence", and yellow in-ground post indicating an unfriendly atmosphere. Spaces too small, hard to park both our camper and car on one site, and we rented the more expensive, larger site! Very disappointing :(
Mar 30, 2015
very friendly office staff and manage came to our trailer and showed me how to scan our tv to get their channels. we had just bought this trailer the day before we arrived, so we did'nt know how everything worked. we had a great time, it being our first time!!
Mar 30, 2015
staff great,many empty cabins with dogs only alowded in 2 and all have wood floors for no allergic reactions so why ? pricey T V's so old and worn . great grounds with many activites and Bob Jones trail to beach
Mar 30, 2015
It was clean and pleasant but it would have been nice if the pool hours were extended.
Mar 29, 2015
it was very nice
Mar 29, 2015
Had a great time on the central coast.
Mar 28, 2015
The camp was pretty to look at, pool area great. However the sites were far to narrow! Our area beside our 14 foot wide X 33ft long 5th wheel with 3 slides was not even large enough for the picnic table provided. In face it was only 4 feet wide and about 8 feet long. The dog run/walk area needs to be fenced in. Not made for larger units.
Mar 27, 2015
Very dissapointed, not very clean, pool area table & chairs full of spiderwebs. The restrooms need major updating. No rubbish containers.
Mar 27, 2015
Very good
Mar 26, 2015
Way too expensive for what the park provides. As always office people were great. But would stay somewhere else next time.
Mar 25, 2015
The pool was heated and spa was hot yes! the park was neat hosts and people were friendly and great geo. location. The only mild negative is that it is nestled right next to the 101 freeway and traffic can be heard most of the time.
Mar 24, 2015
It was good
Mar 24, 2015
A very nice lady helped with my reservation. My only complaint is that I was not told there were several sites available on the row I wanted . The question, "would you like a wide space?" would be very helpful. Our 21' TT has a very deep slide and a wider space would have allowed for a sitting area outside the door, a place for the table, a space to park in. Our stay was enjoyable otherwise.
Mar 23, 2015
Nice location. Campground and bathrooms were kept neat; as was the pool and spa.
Mar 23, 2015
the bathrooms need help all the garbage cans were filled to the brim even after the 3o clock supposed clean up and some stalls had no paper for seats or tissue paper . My husband said it took awhile to get hot water, and only stayed lukewarm.
Mar 22, 2015
The pool was heated. Not overly busy. Great sites.
Mar 17, 2015
We really liked this koa site. Our 2 girls liked the pool and club house. Hopefully the shuffleboard is fixed by the next time we go back.
Mar 16, 2015
very nice office staff-Cathy moved us to a different site and was so nice about it. Off season is the best time to stay there. Love the new fences offering a bit of privacy between the sites.
Mar 15, 2015
We thought the ocean would have been in view. The freeway noise was high. I know we could have taken a closer look at the map to see these things. The facility itself was pretty clean. The flower beds needed to have weeds pulled.
Mar 15, 2015
Perfect except the bed was too hard...personnel were GREAT! Grounds were GREAT! Location was GREAT! Amenities were GREAT! Thx!
Mar 15, 2015
Mar 14, 2015
Booked a one-night stay, motorhome with a tow vehicle. Placed in a site that was barely long enough for motorhome. Was moved after discussion, but told that all sites had been booked. No one else came in that evening, so the move could have been done without hoopla. Desk attendant either was not trained properly, or just did not want to be bothered with the change.
Mar 07, 2015
Mar 03, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA. The kids (8, 6, & 2) really enjoyed it. Since the pool was cold and the game room options were too old for them, that left the playground. The manager said it was "dated" but they managed to have fun with it. We enjoyed Avila Valley Farms across the street and the close proximity to the beach.
Mar 01, 2015
Nice quite place to stay, the improvements they are doing add a nice touch.
Mar 01, 2015
Site very tight, could not use awning - too many lights on all night by the pool area - dog area too small - and this KOA is overpriced.
Feb 26, 2015
Great location. Clean campground and restrooms. Good base for exploring Pismo Beach, Hearst Castle, Elephant Seas, etc.!
Feb 25, 2015
It was great, quiet, small and the staff was quite friendly and helpful. The only thing I would have liked to have seen was the bathrooms being cleaned more often. Even though the door said they were cleaned from 3-4, when we entered at 4:30 or 5pm I could tell they had not been cleaned. Other than that, which is not that big of a deal in my opinion, I enjoyed staying here and I will again.
Feb 24, 2015
Feb 17, 2015
Since the fences were installed tighter camping area but more privacy. Too close to the freeway our site was trucks kept me awake a lot, camp hosts were excellent
Feb 17, 2015
We had a wonderful stay at the Avila KOA. The grounds were beautiful we just felt that the spaces were a little cramped our trailer it was a little too long for the space we were assigned which we ended up fitting, but it just felt really tight! Wish they would've really looked at our length and put us in a longer space!
Feb 17, 2015
The spaces are really small, really dificult to park your trailer and car. We were glad that we had a grass area, the old playground should be replace for something bigger and more things to do on it. The pool was good but the chairs were very old. We loved the bike trail to the beach, we'll most likely stay again bc of the location but not bc of the campground.
Feb 17, 2015
Feb 17, 2015
Staff was friendly and location was clean. But sites were very narrow and not as long as they stated. The camper behind us was 4 feet into our site so his could fit. I try to go with KOA because they are usually kid friendly and have decent playgrounds. This playground was very old and made out of wood which gives splinters. Not very safe for little kids.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.