Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 19, 2014
Great location, easy access on trail to beach and is close for a quick drive into SLO. 4/5 stars only because of limited space and shade around actual site, but we love it here and can't wait to come back.
May 19, 2014
May 19, 2014
Very nice KOA. A lot of activities for kids. Reminds us of Pismo Coast Village.
May 18, 2014
May 17, 2014
Pool nice, bathrooms nice, staff great. But no shade,no grass and sites were in the middle of a gravel paking lot.
May 16, 2014
May 15, 2014
May 14, 2014
May 13, 2014
Some goods and bads. People very nice. We stayed in a cabin. Dated, but very clean. Problem, bed was a double and old, my wife and I couldn't sleep together. Fortunately they had a futon. Kids loved the bunks. Pool very clean, not very heated. No outside furniture to sit on and many cabins didn't even have a deck.
May 12, 2014
We have stayed at the Avila Beach KOA a couple of times a year, for the last two years. I have to say, that this last weekend was my most enjoyable time staying at this KOA. The staff were friendly and helpful. The campground had a relaxed feel to it. I am looking forward to coming back, and would defiantly recommend Avila Beach KOA to others.
May 12, 2014
Great facility. Great staff.
May 12, 2014
We had a great time, the sites are very small and the road noise is loud, the pool was nice. We do plan on returning. Avila beach check it out and the farm across the way too and the bike path was cool. its a great central location.
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
Mix up in spot. The spot we had was next to a vacant spot with sewer problems. Eating mothers day breakfast and smelling sewer not good. Run down needs lots of work. This was one of the worst Kia's we have been to. This was a bay and mothers day suprise for me. I tried not to complain. But this was not good.
May 10, 2014
May 10, 2014
May 07, 2014
If you reserve early enough try to get space 14..it's a large pull thu with plenty of room. Super nice staff. Very good weekend breakfast and even a bottle of champagne for mimosas. Bike trail is close and beautiful. Sparkling clean pool. Liked the "woodsy at the beach" feeling.
May 07, 2014
Spaces are way too close to each other. The place needs a revamping -renewing -remodeling. The pool area was lovely.
May 06, 2014
May 05, 2014
May 05, 2014
Very good !!!!
May 05, 2014
All was good! Too much freeway and train noise! Not your falt,
May 05, 2014
May 03, 2014
Apr 29, 2014
Always quiet and clean!
Apr 29, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The facilities were clean and effective (good hot showers) and everything convenient. Very helpful staff, and beautiful surroundings. Other guests were quiet and respectful. Encountered no problems at all. Even the breakfast the next morning was good. Loved our stay and will definitely be back.
Apr 27, 2014
Very clean campground. Friendly staff. Fun activities. Great location. Wish the store had longer hours.
Apr 27, 2014
I could not tell the help from the campers, they were not very interested in the campers. my camping spot was not as described extremely cramped with basically no parking for your tow vehicle you have to ask your neighbor to move so that you could park. the spots on the back side of the park are 30 feet from a very busy interstate. the rest of the koa is not much better
Apr 23, 2014
The wi-fi access was so weak, it would never work. We were able to login, but it just kept timing out anytime you'd try to get online. There was poison oak all over the place! Good thing we know what it looks like or we'd have had a miserable time. Campfires are not allowed expect in a public fire ring. And I prefer grass to rock landscaping.
Apr 22, 2014
We completely enjoyed this camp ground. The hosts were friendly & helpful, the bathrooms clean. Avila Beach is wonderful.
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
When we arrived the line of trailers left us in the road. Felt unsafe. Wifi was free but extremely slow and difficult to get on. Loved being near the grassy area to play. Enjoyed the rec room but it could use new ping pong paddles.
Apr 21, 2014
This was a great family, friendly place to stay, well located with lots to do in the immediate area. The Avila Barn, the Bob jones bike trail to Avila Beach, and Avila Hot Springs are all great. Bring bikes and you won't need your car. Lots of families and fun for the kids in the pool, the basketball court, etc. Great spot, close to all, sunnier than other spots on the coast, and nice people.
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
While I like KOA's,we had two dogs and two children with us.I requested an outer edge site close go playground and was placed in center of sites while there were three sites available right next to playground. I will likely only stay at sites with "reserveamerica" so I can choose my site.
Apr 20, 2014
Great family fun. We played horse shoes and even saw a movie out doors. Fantastic!
Apr 20, 2014
Very cramped- way too many spaces for the site. Access roads too narrow. Saw many having a very difficult time maneuvering their trailers trailer into their space. On the plus side, the recreation area- swimming pool, shuffleboard, basketball, was attractive and well used. Showers were clean with plenty of water pressure and hot water. Did not partake of the Saturday morning pancake breakfast.
Apr 19, 2014
Was really good until the end. We knew that fires weren't allowed which is a bummer. What really upset me though was the drain getting plugged while trying to clean out our tanks. They had put in two screws to block anything large from going down the drain. This made it nearly impossible to drain and took me nearly an hour. We've been trailerling for 11 years and never had this happen.
Apr 19, 2014
Tight fit. Crowded. They don't answer their phone much of the time. Granted it's because they are with a customer but it's pretty frustrating because that is most of the time - so don't expect to call them. In my book that means they are understaffed.
Apr 18, 2014
Located close to busy highway. Lots of traffic noise.
Apr 18, 2014
Apr 18, 2014
We enjoyed our stay.Campside clean and wel kept up. Office people nice and helpfull.
Apr 18, 2014
Apr 18, 2014
Apr 18, 2014
Apr 17, 2014
Great location. Spaces are tight. Nice pool and spa.
Apr 17, 2014
Clean and quiet Nice for families Great access to great bike path and beach and golf Will be back many times if The Lord is willing
Apr 16, 2014
This site is a parking Loy with extremely little space between vehicles , Messy bathrooms with no drains in showers leaving puddles in dressing area. Close to the beach is the only good thing I can say. Also no office service past 5 pm!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.