Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 24, 2014
Comfortable. Nice location, quiet, and excellent proximity to the beach and bike path!
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
It is a little tight to get in and out of depending on size of rig. Also Sat. reception is not good.
Jul 23, 2014
Our cabin was very dirty as were the shower facilities. We have stayed at this KOA many times in the past without this issue; not sure if there has been a change in management but I was very disappointed with our accommodations.
Jul 23, 2014
It seemed that this KOA could use more help in the office. There was only one person and she was on the phone while the line grew. Plus they have problems with their sewer and as people around us would leave they had issues of the sewer going down the pipe as we did so this would create a horrible order for awhile. The camp had placed screws in the sewer outlet to prevent issues but made more.
Jul 23, 2014
Are family had a great time. Staff was great!!
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Great place to stay very polite helpful staff
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
It was a great weekend just wish they had better WI fi in the back of the campground
Jul 22, 2014
The entire park was neet and clean and everyone was very hospitable. Wold like to see green grass rather than rocks for site patio area
Jul 21, 2014
The sites are too crammed in together. It is like being in an RV ghetto. Not enough trees and each site is so barren. It is just wall to wall rvs - crammed in like sardines. We like campgrounds that have sites with more space and some feeling of privacy. Great Location though.
Jul 21, 2014
Showers weren't very clean and we were disappointed that there were no fire pits. Picnic tables need a hole for umbrellas.
Jul 21, 2014
Very restricted space Even for small RVs. Very near to the Highway. Nice pool.
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
We did'nt like the parking / camp spot. It was very narrow, we almost could'nt make it to park in. After our stay we had to search for the garbadge containers... Could'nt find it any where, next morning we saw it on the road. No sign for garbadge on the campsite. Bad and old restrooms and showers, dirty also probably because it was old and therefore not easy to keep clean.
Jul 19, 2014
Beautiful area, the campground needs to be updated. Desperately needs a fenced in dog area or two with real doggie poop bags. The sewer system leaked at all the sites around us and they were in the front of all sites so the hose barely reached. The wifi signal was very weak. The garage area was not kept clean. We pay the higher rates to stay at KOA because of the cleanliness,but not at this KOA.
Jul 19, 2014
Loved the easy access to the bike trail, hot springs and surrounding cities. Staff was helpful & friendly. Facility clean. Nice pet area.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Very noisy. Small sites :(
Jul 17, 2014
Great place... Nice employees
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
The grounds were clean staff was great. We definetly will be returning.
Jul 16, 2014
we had a wonderful time there.the only thing wrong was the climb tree was not open for long. Campsite was good and long. The best was when F.D. cut two tree branches off for a NEW 160,000. dollar 5th.wheel to back in. He made sure no damage came to the unit at all. Will I come back ? YES I WILL thankyou for a wonderful camp. You made our trip good
Jul 16, 2014
Our stay at Avila/Pismo KOA was very nice, the spots for RVs are very tight and close, but the camp host was very friendly and helped get us parked. We had a nice stay otherwise. You can't beat the beautiful greenery and the beach. Our grandchildren had plenty to do with the pool and playgrounds and areas of interests close to the KOA.
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
As many others have mentioned, the sites here are very narrow. When we arrived the spa wasn't working & we were locked out of the women's restroom. However, both of these problems were resolved quickly by management. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this KOA & would definitely return.
Jul 15, 2014
We rented a small cabin. The campground and staff were great!
Jul 15, 2014
Nice helpfull people there. Nice big pool.
Jul 14, 2014
Nice and clean..sites more narrow than I'm use to but still worked out well...We had friendly neighbors. :o)
Jul 14, 2014
Avila KOA is our number one place to stay. Our children enjoy and love the playground area game room riding their scooters renting bikes & pool. The weather is always beautiful the cabin is so comfortable doesn't feel like we're on vacation but the staff is first class very friendly & you can't beat the breakfast on the weekends pancakes biscuits & gravy sausage it's wonderful. Your friends here
Jul 14, 2014
It was a wonderful stay, to say the least. The deluxe cabin was clean and cozy and it would be a pleasure to return. Thank you Avila/Pismo Beach KOA!
Jul 14, 2014
The people that run the location are friendly and helpfull. The facilities are clean and well maintained. The bathrooms and showers were clean. The pool and spa were clean, although the pool could be heated a little more and the temp turned down a degree or two in the spa. Although the Rv spaces are narrow, they are usable and clean, but you have to remember it is an older facility.
Jul 14, 2014
Absolutely great!
Jul 14, 2014
My only complaint would be that the bathroom should have been cleaned more often. Also replace the broken soap dispensers.
Jul 14, 2014
Camp site's way to small. Not enough food in store. Not enough trash dumpster locations only one in park.
Jul 14, 2014
not a lot for the kids to do and the campground is small and very cramped.
Jul 13, 2014
Enjoyed our stay! The staff was very friendly. My kids loved the rec room. Please consider updating men's restroom and having garbage containers on both sides of the park.
Jul 13, 2014
People were friendly. Site was clean. Bathrooms were fair--they were not cleaned the last two days we were there; so no toilet seat covers, paper towels were jammed and one toilet was stopped up.
Jul 13, 2014
We staid two nights. Friendly staff, close to several beaches, but need to drive, shopping a couple miles away. WiFi was very flaky and slow. Good price.
Jul 12, 2014
Very quiet! enjoyed bike path to Avila Beach,only complaint was no light in dog run at night.
Jul 10, 2014
The RV spaces are to narrow, and was not long enough for our 33ft motor home. It was very hard to hook our electric, and water. The WiFi was not working, unable to get satellite. The people in the office were nice, but we won't stay there again.
Jul 10, 2014
Nice Bike Hike trail to Avila Beach, good weekend breakfasts. Sewer smell, not enough staff to service grounds, tiny gravel spaces. We were not bothered by the highway sounds
Jul 10, 2014
Had a blast!
Jul 09, 2014
We were put in spot that was too hard to get in and out of, and there was a sewer smell whenever we went outside our unit. Otherwise it was a nice place.
Jul 08, 2014
Our family reunion at Avila KOA was one of the best experiences. We rented 5 cabins and 3 RV spaces. The grounds were well maintain, the pools clean, and the phone staff very accommodating. The beach and Avila were just minutes away. Only small issues as one of the cabins was not cleaned well, several screens missing which meant we could not open windows/doors without letting in bugs.
Jul 08, 2014
The staff was welcoming and the site was clean and well maintained! We loved our stay there!
Jul 07, 2014
Staff not very friendly. Since we were knew in this area we asked for assistance in things to do and visit. Two girls in office seemed bothered and just directed us to brochure's on counter

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.