Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 12, 2014
This was our 2nd visit to Avilla KOA.There were relatively low cost upkeep issues that had they been done, would have made our stay better. The bathroom fan in G was so clogged with debre & dust the gunk was hanging from the fan. Yuck. When we arrived after check in time,our cabin was not clean. There was hair all over the bathroom, the bunk bed sheets were dirty and the carpet wasn't vacuumed.
Aug 12, 2014
Motor home broke down night before I called and cancelled Thursday night. Was charged for Friday night because of late cancellation. Very disappointed I was charged even with me cancelling
Aug 12, 2014
It was quite at night. Very family oriented. We have a motorhome and all the hook ups worked .The people on the office gave us all the info we need. Very busy site, good location. We pick a site with no one on the back it worked fine. They have a spot for dog walking but people still took the dogs to the "bathroom" on the kids area. We would go back.
Aug 12, 2014
Great stay!! Beautiful location very clean...But extremely long waits at the campground store.. Other then that we will be back!!
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay here. The grounds were very clean and nicely kept. The staff was excellent and cabin we stayed in was perfect for our family. I recommend renting bikes, which is conveniently located on the premises, and taking the Bob Jones trail that leads you right into Avila Beach...followed by a nice soak in the hot tub!
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Sites are very small & too close to each other. We have a small RV & a small truck & there was no room gor our truck in our site. The "heated" pool was chilly.We only stayed 1 nite passing through so didn't use any facilities. Stuck our heads in the rec room & everything was beat up looking.No campfires allowed, only charcol. The Sat morning breakfast was nice. Overpriced.
Aug 10, 2014
Check in took a long time and gave us no direction. 3 days later, we were told that we were parked to far back and had to move our trailer. No camp fires and unhappy/unfriendsly staff and other campers. No thanks!
Aug 10, 2014
I almost never rate poorly, but this place is tiny and used to be private. That means it has a nice pool and spa, but the sites are tiny. Many of the visitors bought in before KOA and will tell you about it. Avila is great, but maybe go somewhere else this time. I love KOA, but this one not so much.
Aug 10, 2014
The only reason we gave two stats to this kampground is because the front office clerk was fair enough to give us refund for early check out. Otherwise this kampground is too crowded, sites are extremely small. It looks more like rv storage than a camping area. In addition, it is located next to the highway so it feels like you are literary sleeping on the road.
Aug 10, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. The location is great, but a little attention on the cabin furnishings would be great such as the kitchen rugs which needed washing and slightly stained throw pillows. Missed not having an outdoor table, chairs and BQ.Overall we had a great time. Thank you.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
The staff was very friendly and It is close to Avila Beach and San Luis Obispo. the pool was nice and the families also. The bathrooms were old and not clean, no privacy and some of the guests were rude like moving out at 6 in the morning with their loud RV. $50 is a lot to spend for what you get.
Aug 09, 2014
This is a quiet, lovely camp site. It's very peaceful.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
We had a cabin and RV site located together. Cabin was clean and campsite was spacious for our Class B. Bathrooms were clean at all times and staff was friendly and helpful.
Aug 08, 2014
Older campsite,narrow sites... well noted online. Site level. Cleanliness/maintenance were an issue. Spa at pool area (which is lovely)was cloudy indicating lack of care. Laundry room was dreadful. Washer dispensers full of gunk, floor filthy, dryer filters full, electrical cord running from uncovered outlet over sidewalk & across the street. Female store employee rude to kids. Will not return
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Friendly. Facilities met our needs, but cabins were not clean or very well maintained. Some inexpensive upkeep and cleaning would go a long way...fans and filters were dirty, and the only towel bar kept falling off the wall. Missing or falling off screens. Bedroom carpet was filthy. Pool and hot tub were nice and we liked cabins and campsite options to fit various needs of our family.
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Great location!! WiFi service was just ok and I had trouble connecting several times.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
The camp stalls were very narrow and very hard to back into the stall next to the neighbors. The customer service reps. were not very helpful when it came to information about eateries, locations of neighboring activities etc.
Aug 05, 2014
This KOA was very basic. The Rv's are too close. It's more of a parking lot. Not a lot going on for the kids. I saw 1 staff member in the 3 days we spent there and he was cleaning the pool on Monday morning.
Aug 05, 2014
My family and I had a great stay.Thanks for putting us next to the play ground.
Aug 05, 2014
Enjoyed all the surrounding activities and especially the convenient KOA location!
Aug 05, 2014
It was wonderful!
Aug 05, 2014
Great campground, close to Avila Beach, would go back again. Bathrooms were not clean and the drains backed up in all the showers. General campground cleanliness was OK, but needed more grooming. Trash was not picked up. Thank you.
Aug 04, 2014
This park has several poor reviews. As opposed to previous reviews the park was clean. It was very convenient to the beach and wedding event we attended. I think people sometimes expect large sites as in AZ where land is cheap. Dog area was good. We didn't use the pool but it was busy. They showed a movie Sat. night. We were close to the entrance with a pull through and road noise was minimal.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The site was too small and too close each other. The cabin was not maintained. I had to stay with spiders. And whoever does housekeeping, don'ttip at all. Bad job.
Aug 04, 2014
Great staff, & food on Sat. & Sun. !!
Aug 04, 2014
We had a great time. Campsites are on the smaller size, but still accommodating. The pool area was nice. Campground was clean. Staff at check-in was helpful. Public restrooms were decent. Never used the showers. Biggest downside for our family was there are no wood fires allowed by a county ordinance. Not KOA's fault. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.
Aug 04, 2014
Great location with excellent facilities that are well maintained. Close to both Pismo and Avila beaches.
Aug 04, 2014
I booked a studio cabin for me and two of my friends to attend an event in Arroyo Grande. We were worried that the chair cots might be too small but they were not too small at all. The little cabin was clean and very comfortable for the three of us, the staff was friendly and I would stay here again. I have already recommended the cabins to other friends.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
It was great, close to everything. Loved the Bob Jones trail
Aug 02, 2014
We so enjoyed our stay, we wish we would have planned a longer stay. We loved our spot, everyone working and guests were all so happy and pleasant. The pool and spa were wonderful. Everyone there seemed to be enjoying themselves. We were in a 27 ft motor home with a car our spot was big enough. No complaints.
Aug 02, 2014
Sites were too small and not well defined. Bathrooms were not designed to move water efficiently and as consequence were always flooded.Toilets were overflowing constantly. For such a spectacular venue, it was certainly not presented in its best light.
Aug 02, 2014
Nice small campground!!
Aug 01, 2014
Bathrooms were terribly maintained. I may not come back due to the lack of effort of cleanliness.
Jul 31, 2014
Mooie camping vlakbij snelweg. Prima voor overnachting onderweg naar LA.
Jul 31, 2014
we've been KOA campers for over 20 years have camped at KOAs acrossed the country, Avila/Pismo was the WORST KOA we have every been to. You had to share a space with another camper, it was back to back. we had to park our vehicle where our awning would have come out and our patio chairs would have been. There was no privacy and the staff was not helpful and were inconsistent with their info.
Jul 31, 2014
Bathrooms are filthy, dog run needs to be cleaned and sprayed for pests. Seems the only thing important is the mighty dollar, the more mini whinnies they can get in the park the more $.
Jul 30, 2014
Not used to a KOA having no green areas, no trees, no shade, no privacy. Right on the freeway (loud). Front office staff could be more friendly...maybe overworked. Canceled outdoor movie...kids were looking forward to it. Very nice pool and game area! Nice pet walk area. If not for these things...1 star. Not a destination, good for stop over.
Jul 29, 2014
My wife and I are new to KOA. Compared to the Santa Cruz/Monterey Bay campground we recently stayed at, the Avila facility was a big disappointment as far as Staff not very friendly, and trash cans overflowing.
Jul 28, 2014
We enjoyed breakfast, pool and park! I feel that we were a bit cramped in the sites, But not a huge issue. As the manager was made aware, our whole party, 3 trailer sites) had to flee for safety after a tree branch fell. All of us were lucky to have moved out of the way quick enough to prevent major injuries. To prevent future occurrences, you might want to do some clean up through the park
Jul 28, 2014
Our site was so small we could hardly get out of our trailer door after we pulled our pickup into our space. Need to have more parking space for vehicles that pull trailers.
Jul 28, 2014
We stayed at private RV parks that provided much more space between RVs. Our RV had mechanical trouble and KOA were the only parks that charged $10 even with plenty of advance notice. The others did not. You give no discounts whereas the others gave AAA or Good Sam discount. The park was quiet and clean, but crowded. I pity the RVs parked next to the overflowing trash bins.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.