Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 23, 2015
From the time we got there one of the camp attendants was rude and told us if our dogs barked we would be told to leave! Dog friendly families stay away! Horrible KOA
Jun 23, 2015
Kids loved the pool...very big...clean. Cabin was great and clean and camp site was in good order. over all a good facility.
Jun 23, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
The campsite was nice with a nice pool area and playground but the wifi was terribly bad.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
The facilities were acceptable, however a few of the stall were beyond rude
Jun 22, 2015
Clean and comfortable, a little small.
Jun 22, 2015
The whole place was so small and cramped. The RV spots were so close together. Really just no room to move. It was clean. Pool was nice. Would not stay again.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Close to everything easy off and on to the freeway. A nice place.
Jun 22, 2015
This was the worst KOA that my family has ever camped at. The cabin was disgusting, filthy, horrible smell and it seems that the cabin is not cleaned after each use. The staff was rude and lied about parking. Staff yelled at my 15 year old niece about our parked car after informing us that we could park next to cabin. Also when checking in they messed up our reservations. TERRIBLE!!
Jun 22, 2015
Great service and friendly
Jun 22, 2015
Everything was good. Sites were a little to close for my taste, but still good. Camp Hosts/Managers were great. They were very friendly, and polite. My family is going to be wanting to stay here again.
Jun 21, 2015
dated trailers called cabins,dirty appearance,rude staff members..not all but a few,the prices don't add up to what you get,noisy traffic,no campfires....pool was nice and location is all it has...this place is just to sleep at.hanging out there will make you dislike it more..been to many KOAs this is at the bottom of the list....CLEAN IT UP!
Jun 21, 2015
Wanted to stay extra day during fathers day weekend and they made it happen Movie night on the big screen and excellent breakfast my family loves this place
Jun 19, 2015
We stayed two nights and had a great time in Avila Beach!
Jun 18, 2015
Parking for visitors near a site should not be made into a big deal if the campground is not full. There is no on site visitor parking and it is not really clear where to park. Otherwise it was a great experience
Jun 17, 2015
Cabin was comfortable. Pretty much turn key, as we only needed to bring towels. The place was clean. Breakfast for $5 was a nice touch. Not the Four Seasons, but certainly better than a tent!
Jun 17, 2015
Super. Great staff and very clean.
Jun 17, 2015
Extremely helpfull and friendly hostess
Jun 16, 2015
Everything was clean, the office staff very pleasant. Location was close to everything we needed. Thank you for the pleasant stay.
Jun 16, 2015
Grumpy old bearded man (owner I think) snapped at us for parking in the wrong spot on the way in and then snapped at my kids on the playground for not having their parent present. We could see them from our campsite which was 4 spots down but he insisted we sit right next to the playground. We asked for a site that backed to the playground and were told they were booked yet sat empty for 3 days.
Jun 16, 2015
Bathrooms were filthy when we arrived and never cleaned during our stay. Shower fixtures not operating properly, broken door latches, feces on toilets, clogged toilets, no paper towels, same garbage in cans. Trash collection bins overflowing. Understand the facility is dated, but it should be kept clean. Beach public restrooms were way cleaner. Not up to KOA standards.
Jun 15, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay the only thing is the spots are super tight and there isn't much room left on the site with your trailer and vehicle parked. The traffic from the 101 is pretty loud. But the location is good. It's a bike ride to Avila beach and the Avila barn. We would stay here again.
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 14, 2015
No soap in ladies room.
Jun 14, 2015
Excellent location between San Luis Obispo and beach cities. Easy access from 101. Quiet.
Jun 14, 2015
Friendly staff, NO WiFi available.
Jun 14, 2015
Small gravel site, no campfire allowed and no indication of that on website, so we carted along unnecessary firewood. One if 3 showers not working, no soap in bathrooms and curt, unfriendly management
Jun 13, 2015
We rented a deluxe cabin. It was really a dingy , dirty trailer and should not be advertised as a Koa cabin. The website had limited pictures of the cabins so I should have known. It did not feel like we were staying at a true Koa.
Jun 12, 2015
wish we could have stayed longer
Jun 11, 2015
Stayed at many KOA's. This one is way overpriced and not worth the money. No brochures or local maps. Unfriendly and inattentive staff not helpful with local directions. Young lady behind desk more interested in texting suggested we Google to find info we asked about. Dumpsters overflowing. Dirty picnic table and generally in need of maintenance. In fact we left a day early.
Jun 11, 2015
Poor bathroom facilities - need renovation
Jun 10, 2015
Pull through site wasn't level. Had a difficult time disconnecting my 5th wheel fm truck.
Jun 08, 2015
The hosts there were extremely friendly and accommodating. It's also nice to see the KOA team working hard to keep this property well maintained and clean. We've enjoyed our visits there and will certainly be back.
Jun 08, 2015
Very nice staff, clean Grounds. s little noicy due to freeway so close by.
Jun 04, 2015
Although very clean could use updated sites. Updating the shower area and asphalt pull through sites would go a long way
Jun 03, 2015
Filthy! Campground stunk due to an unrepaired septic system, bathroom drains plugged, never never never stay here again, surprised it was a KOA.
Jun 03, 2015
Spacious pool. Terrific hot tub. Daily rate is high in comparison to non-KOA RV Parks in Pismo Beach area. Will shop around next time in area for a lower rate.
Jun 03, 2015
Disappointed this time... Facilities were not cleaned regularly, everything about brkfst changed (dwngraded), playground was MIA (Maybe theyre upgrading??) THis was one of our favorite place but nothing's the same & I'm not sure we'll be returning :o(
Jun 02, 2015
Great location, friendly staff. Camp ground lacks the refinements of top places!
Jun 01, 2015
We enjoyed a clean park, good amenities, very friendly staff, and easy access to park, bike trail, good beaches, and good restaurants. We arrived @6:30 on Sun. (Memorial Day). I think we were assigned the last space. It barely fit our 32ft. 5th wheel. We had to park our truck in overflow. On Mon. most unit pulled out. In spite of many empty spaces, management still put trailers next to us.
Jun 01, 2015
We just love to stay here in Avila , The one thing that needs to change for all is the jacuzzi policy / house rule . I understand that a young boy soiled the jacuzzi , and that his parents were NOT SUPERVISING him . I fell to be fair to all that children under 12 years of age MUST BE SUPERVISED by an adult. Families that use this facility look forward to the use of the pool area.
Jun 01, 2015
After many KOA nights, this one was OK The wi-fi was not working. No execuse is accetabel
May 30, 2015
May 29, 2015
we have been going to Avila/Pismo KOA on Memorial day Weekend for several years now. We have always enjoyed it
May 27, 2015
We stayed over Memorial Weekend. The place was full, but everyone was respectful and tidy. We have stayed there multiple times, and we are always very satisfied.
May 27, 2015
Not ready swimming pool and hot tub. The gate was locked The kids play ground was flag off for the use. The Mens restroom had water leaking from the showers into the toilet stalls.
May 26, 2015
I would like to mention the camp host (couple that ran the office) were great. They were probably the most courteous and nice hosts of any campground I have been. One item that we missed was the movie night.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.