Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Email

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 03, 2016
It was very pleasant. Clean, nice dog area but needs a bench Neighbors were friendly
Oct 03, 2016
Great location to the Bob Jones trail leading to Avila Beach. Traffic for 101 was pretty loud. Got use to hearing it and it wasn't too bad at night. Would stay again.
Oct 03, 2016
The location is excellent! So close to Avila and Pismo beaches and San Luis Obispo. My only concerns are that the backin spaces are so close back to back, and a bit more planting would be nice. Otherwise a nice park.
Oct 01, 2016
Nice quiet kampground, a bit surprised by cold ocean fog and wind in the afternoon.
Sep 30, 2016
Great staff. Upgrades to the campground were well done.
Sep 29, 2016
Stayed two nights. Staff was very friendly, restrooms very clean. Only complaint would be that the spaces are very narrow. We had green area behind our spot so it worked out ok for us.
Sep 29, 2016
Very nice campground... really appreciate the jacuzzi and pool :~) Only complaint is poor quality TV viewing and very few channels - get a different satellite TV service, please! Appreciate the overall campground maintenance, upgrading, new paint, and trees being planted, and the employees are very friendly.
Sep 29, 2016
Rented a cabin. Only positive thing was the pool. The cabin itself was outdated, dirty, broken and worst of all was the price they thought it was worth. Stayed in different KOA's and other places during my holiday but this was by far the worst. Never will come back here and will never recommend this to others.
Sep 29, 2016
Would have given a higher rating if the manager were somewhat courteous. Very abrupt at check-in. Woke up the next morning with no water - evidently a leak. But no notification even on the bathrooms after over 2 hours. When asked why there was no notification he was very rude and sarcastic. Would never stay here again although the park itself is nice.
Sep 28, 2016
We didnt see any campkitchen. Good stay, Nottingham special. Manager was friendly enough to sell us a house after opening hours. Pity opening hours are only until 5
Sep 28, 2016
This was my 2nd time visiting this KOA & staying in a cabin. My stay was pleasant & the staff friendly. The Bob Jones hiking trail to Avila Beach was fun; its a nice & easy trail.
Sep 28, 2016
We were backed up to I-101 and it was very noisy 24/7. They had 2 internet sites and we were not able to get on either one during our 7 day stay.
Sep 28, 2016
Happy that ONLY organic and natural foods and products sold in the store . Very clean and comfortable.
Sep 28, 2016
Highest priced campground during our 4000 drive (which included Banff, Pendleton, etc). Staff said it was still their official summer season. Terribly noisy highway on the other side of the vegetation, mostly gravel and pavement. Numerous State Parks and private RV parks where we will stay in the future when passing through.
Sep 27, 2016
managers were always angry!!
Sep 27, 2016
Smokefree camp aint that fun for a smoker.
Sep 27, 2016
Spaces are small. Requested a pull-thru. Put in a regular site as per their map but charged for a pull-thru. Has become a smoke-free. Not listed in their description. Space 53 has sewer plumbing that was fenced in. We smelled sewer the whole time. When I mentioned it to Manager she had no resolution.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for pointing out the error on the map. We will be letting the printers know that the site is not reflected as a pull-thru but indeed is a pull-thru site.
Sep 26, 2016
I don't understand why the camp store opens at 9am. that defies all logic, since most campers are early risers. As such, you loose a business AND the opportunity to engage your customers.
Sep 26, 2016
Spots are very narrow. We have a 39' 5th wheel with 3 pop outs. Some bumper pulls with no slides had larger spots than us. Can't choose your "site" online, so you get what you get. Other than that, the grounds were nice, clean bathrooms and pool/play area.
Sep 26, 2016
Best pool area of all the KOA's that I have been too except maybe Florida. Great access to bike trail to Avila beach area. Poor wifi.
Sep 26, 2016
This is a nice campground with playground, pool and jacuzzi. Nice little store. The neg is no fire or BBQ in sites, which are very small. There is a walk/bike path to beach that was told to be 3 miles. Ok for a bike trip but pedometer measured it well over 4 miles. So good shoes,water needed if you walk it. If you want hook ups it is a good spot. Bring bikes.
Sep 26, 2016
Disappointed as the sites were so tight that we had to park away from our site and we could not get out until 2 hours after we planned to leave!! Why, because we had to wait until the campers across from us moved so we could get out without damaging our truck or camper OR someone else's! The site we were in was made to be for 2 back in but it should have been one pull through!!
Sep 26, 2016
5 star but very very poor internet. Campers near ours were not happy nor were we. Staff did not seem concerned.
Sep 24, 2016
freeway noise nice amenities
Sep 24, 2016
Clean, friendly/helpful staff, close to beach, Hearst Castle, Morro Bay, Bob Jones Bike Path. Great pool, jacuzzi, large clean showers. Will return soon.
Sep 22, 2016
Great staff and amenities. The only thing that was not ideal was having a site right off the 101 where traffic was quite noisy but there are other sites a bit farther away from the freeway that would be great. My daughter loved the game room and pool and she was able to ride her bike around the campground, we would recommend this place.
Sep 21, 2016
Campground was nice but the spaces are small. Asked for a late check out and the clerk said "no problem" and then got a call telling us the clerk did not mark it down and we needed to be out right away. We had to leave what we were doing and pack up. Very inconvenient and clerk needs better training.
Sep 21, 2016
I liked the location of the campground. It is close to the Bob Jones trail and beach. A bit too close for comfort in some spaces. If you go, get a perimeter spot.
Sep 21, 2016
Hot tub was great. Bathroom was clean with 6 showers. Nice camp area.
Sep 20, 2016
Clean updated and the camp hosts were awesome
Sep 20, 2016
Great location, top class facilities and friendly staff make this KOA a superb vacation spot.
Sep 20, 2016
Very convenient location. Super clean bathrooms and well-maintained park. Camping is close and alot of freeway noise.
Sep 19, 2016
Clean and well cared for! Staff was very friendly and we really liked the wine tasting!
Sep 19, 2016
I was very disappointed at the fact that all the RV sites are right on top of each other. There was no room to "set up camp" The pool and spa were great as well as the grass area behind the cabins. It worked for what we needed it for, just not a great RV space.
Sep 19, 2016
Did not know when I booked we could not have campfires or that is was a nonsmoking campground.
Sep 19, 2016
Fairly spacious sites, clean,gravel sites which at first I thought was a negative until next morning when everythinbg is covered in an ocean induced heavy dew, so no tracking of dirt into RV and no wet grass! Negative: office wanted to charge me a buck for a tiny dup of coffee!
Sep 19, 2016
Beautiful area with so many amenities. Not just a pool & jacuzzi to enjoy, but, the playground, horseshoe pits, games grounds & even outdoor movie night were so enjoyed by the kids. Breathtaking views surround this little hidden gem.
Sep 16, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a great spot right by the play area. Beautiful pool area and the view was gorgeous. The manager wasn't very friendly but the other staff was.
Sep 16, 2016
The campground is in a great location, and there are nice people running the show. Plenty of activities for all ages. We will be back.
Sep 16, 2016
nice folks, clean and quiet
Sep 16, 2016
Beautiful setting, very clean, nice pool area. Very close/short back-in spot... First time unable to reach sewer drain.. Unless purchasing additional equipment. Tropical theme was wonderful.
Sep 15, 2016
Friendly, helpful staff.
Sep 13, 2016
We only stayed one night but I can say that the pool area was beautiful and the laundry room was very neat and clean.
Sep 13, 2016
Nice location although a bit close to the 101. Great pool and hot tub. Campsites are nice . Internet didn't work the whole time of our stay. Probably stay again if I can get in as it's pretty busy place.
Sep 13, 2016
Very relaxing and enjoyable. Grounds well kept. Been enjoying this location for a couple of years. Will be back soon.
Sep 13, 2016
Great place to stay. The only negatives are the spaces are very close to each other and both times I have stayed the wifi is non existent
Sep 13, 2016
A lot of noise from the highway, wifi not working, noisy neighbours
Sep 12, 2016
Should provide an area for smoking in overflow, bench, ashtray.
Sep 12, 2016
Amazing staff. Lots to do !! We need to come again for sure
Sep 12, 2016
So clean and nice! Great staff.Beautiful pool and spa. Stayed here for my race weekend in avila and will definitely be back next year. I think the pool/spa opens way too late at 9 a.m..I think it should definitely be open by 7 a.m. Other than that, great stay.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals