Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 10, 2015
The bathroom needs to be clean. The heater outlets are very dirty with old dust. My allergies got bad due the dust. The blinds are also dirty. I really feel disappointed of lack of cleaning.
Aug 10, 2015
Great location and friendly staff
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
The places are not worth the amount charged! The site are not nice and very close to the highway!!
Aug 09, 2015
This was our third year to spend a week. At arrival I could tell the staff was stressed and not happy. The grounds were in bad shape and restrooms were very dirty. Only one area remained for trash. Pool was closed for a period of time during our stay. I called KOA and got little help. They told me to speak to the owner who was supposed to be in but staff would not assist in contacting her.
Aug 09, 2015
Thank goodness new management came when we were leaving, they seem like they will straighten the place out. However when we arrived our group was not together. The spaces were too small and crowded. Good for kids 5-10 years old. We won't be going there again.
Aug 09, 2015
We liked the game room area, and more specifically, the baby play room was a great feature for our family! Some opportunities for improvement were that the pool opened a bit late (10 am). Our kids wake at the crack of dawn and are ready to start playing and swimming right away when we're camping! The kids also thought the playground was a bit small.
Aug 06, 2015
Terrible. Bathrooms didn't work. Showers dirty and disgusting - even after they were "cleaned".
Aug 05, 2015
There needs to be more help. The office was closed during regular hours. We got there a couple of hours before check-in, they said come back at 2:00PM to pick up the key (even though there was no one in the cabin and it was ready). When we went back to the office at 2, it was closed so we had to wait again.
Aug 04, 2015
I have stayed at the Avila Beach KOA once or twice a year, for the past 3 years. This was my best stay so far. The weather was perfect and we enjoyed walking the trail to Avila Beach. The pool at the KOA was heated perfectly. In past visits it was often too cold to swim in comfortably. Also, there was new playground equipment which my grandchildren enjoyed immensely. Very nice stay indeed!
Aug 04, 2015
We really enjoyed the campground it was clean and very easy to get setup and pull out. Had a great time.
Aug 04, 2015
Great staff who helped me with some issues. Very attractive and well kept park... I had to leave early in the morning and was not able to dump my tanks...the sewer was clogged. It might have been helpful if the park had a separate dump station if these issues occur...
Aug 03, 2015
The spaces were very small, the outbuildings on the grounds quite dated and phone is rarely answered in the office. When trying to leave a message, recording indicates voice mailbox is full. In comparison to the three other campgrounds we stayed at along the central coast last week, this KOA was by far the most lackluster and disappointing.
Aug 03, 2015
good place, noisy road, small spots, nice pool, manager just quit so a bit chaotic.
Aug 03, 2015
The location is the only reason I would stay again, the bathrooms where never clean, TP wasn't replaced in stall's. The pool was unusable due to potty in the pool. Shower's where so full of hair and muck.. Spaces are pretty tight, the ladies at the front very nice though.
Aug 03, 2015
Very disappointed. Made reservations online two months prior to stay. Requested specific space. Called about a week before to check on request and was told they don't look at any remarks on the online reservations. We were put in probably the smallest space there. The RV's behind us were two feet from our RV. We could never have our back shade open or we were looking right at the other campers.
Aug 03, 2015
Campground was extremely crowded with little space between sites. Difficult to get triler into site because of it's layout. Bathrooms were outdated, trash locations very few. Great location and staff I encountered were nice.
Aug 03, 2015
The bathrooms were really dirty the first few days we were there. The first night my mom was aggressively yelled at by one of the managers for something very trivial. It's in a great location but that seems to be the only thing working for them.
Aug 03, 2015
We enjoyed our stay with our two young grandchildren. Great location and even though the spaces are VERY cramped and tiny, it was still quiet and enjoyable. Being so close to the Avila Barn and bike riding trails to Avila Beach along with the trolley kept us busy!
Aug 03, 2015
The park has a great location. The park itself could use some updating. Enjoyed our stay and would stay again. A little pricey.
Aug 03, 2015
did not stay. Could not the site that was assigned to my was for a 26 foot trailer narrow width. I made the reservation for a 28 foot trailer with slide outs. Arrived at the park at 5:25pm office was closed and only phone numbers onlyhad an answering machine. We left two messages and waited for over 30 minutes and got no return call. That was on the 28th of July no return call yet
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Kid friendly, run down facilities.rocky gravel campsites, side walls too small for privacy.
Aug 02, 2015
The location is great, but compared to other KOA's this one was very cramped (felt like I was staying in a storage lot) and the restroom facilities were dirty, not well stocked, and in need of updating.
Aug 01, 2015
We have stayed here before but have never experienced anything as poor as this. Management was incredibly rude and unprofessional. Restrooms were filthy dirty and never cleaned during our 5 night stay; women's restroom had 2 clogged toilets (one filled with feces to the top of the toilet) - management simply locked the stall door and didn't address it. No toilet paper; will not return.
Aug 01, 2015
3 night stay, great pool & clean faciilities.
Aug 01, 2015
Very disappointed with the cleanliness of the park .. And lack of kids activities
Aug 01, 2015
The site chosen for our trailer was difficult to back in. The truck needed to be parked right next to the trailer so there was little room to put out chairs. Then when leaving we had to ask the neighbor next to us to move their truck so we could get out. We were lucky there was a small Cruise America class C RV across from us because we could not have gotten out of the campsite.
Jul 31, 2015
Very poor standard, toilettes and showers are dirty and unkept. this place defintly needs a renovation!
Jul 30, 2015
The only spots in this park that are worth staying in are the ones closest to the pool. Anywhere else and the spots are too cramped. Wouldn't do it again.
Jul 30, 2015
Bathrooms were updated with new tile but it was filthy. Not sure it was cleaned in a 24 hour period. Toilet paper missing, gobs of hair in corners. Grounds were okay, but shabby and minimally maintained.
Jul 30, 2015
Todo perfecto, nos estaban esperando más allá de que el horario de entrada era a la 1 y llegamos a las 6. El lugar perfecto
Jul 30, 2015
We only stayed one night, but plan to return once we're home from this trip.
Jul 29, 2015
Spacesite was way too small for our fifth wheel, the rest rooms were filthy, the garbage was overflowing we will not stay here again. A total disappointment WAY below acceptable standards for us.
Jul 28, 2015
Nice friendly enough space quite
Jul 28, 2015
Bathrooms were dirty, very hard to contact via phone
Jul 27, 2015
We really enjoyed the campground and our site was in a great location. Our only issue was that for nearly the entire week the front of our site was flooded from a recent rain, which made coming and going tricky.
Jul 27, 2015
I had emergency surgery three days before I was to arrive.I think that KOA should have made an exception to their refund policy. If you check my record of stays with KOA, you will see that we use your campgrounds a lot.Very displeased. David Morales
Jul 27, 2015
This KOA is really crowded; it looked like they took regular-size sited & cut them in half. Streets are really narrow, and there is little-to-no parking at the sites or near the office to check-in.
Jul 27, 2015
The only complaint that we have is that the restroom and shower facilities needs some serious upgrading on water pressure problems and toilets. We wanted to stay one more night but they wouldn't accommodate the same space. They would had to move us to adifferent sspace, to much work for one night to rig up and out again was disappointing.
Jul 27, 2015
Very nice and friendly staff. Camp grounds are clean and we'll maintained.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
It was a very nice stay. The grounds were very clean. We would definitely stay again. The only downside is the size of the spaces. Their extremely small.
Jul 26, 2015
Not so friendly, small places
Jul 26, 2015
Very crowded sites. We were literally about 8' from our side and back neighbors. Noisy freeway nearby.
Jul 26, 2015
Too crowded. Spaces too small. Too expensive. Everything else fine.
Jul 25, 2015
Nos gustó mucho y que había mucho que hacer y todo muy cerca.
Jul 23, 2015
It was great!
Jul 23, 2015
The Pismo KOA is in a great location-close to both Avila beach and Pismo. The pool and hot tube are nice. The major downside is just how cramped the RVs and cars are squeezed into such tight parking spots. The service was fine.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.