Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 24, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
Loved the location near Avila Beach
Jul 24, 2013
Nice facilities but dusty dirty sites, bins overflowing when we arrived. Attitude of staff very unfriendly. Aggressive notices all over campground - " you are being videos in games room, we will come after you if anything is damaged, if room is left in a mess it will be closed the next day" Etc. Showers dirty. A disgrace to KOA. Make me think twice before staying at KOA again.
Jul 23, 2013
Small and cramped but nice, quiet park. Short drive to beach and Pismo sights. Wast in and out to freeway. Nice weather and nice people.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
first spot was not that good moved to another spot with no problem and it was much better campground was clean and quit would stay again
Jul 22, 2013
Worse campground I have ever visited. Abandoned shacks, bad interior roads, filthy and the the restrooms are disgusting. They refused to honor the KOA 10% discount as well. The dumps are in bad locations and require lengthy sewer runs. Tiny sites. No where near level. Owners hand out lists of fines ranging from $25 to $350 and are so rude. Avoid this place...
Jul 21, 2013
Spaces are extremely narrow and cramped. Not enough room in front of RV to park your tow vehicle. Convenient location, friendly staff.
Jul 21, 2013
Great staff and clean and quiet campground. Really nice amenities!
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
We were in a site with our trailer which would not take our truck, so it had to be parked outside in an unsecured dirt lot. My handicapped sister rented your cabin which had open DeCon boxes by the cooking utensils. The bed was bad, with no mattress pad, just an old blanket with holes. No hangers, no remote (remember she's handicapped!) frying pan was disgusting!!! I have photos to submit to y
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Nice place to spend a few days. Great bike trail to Avila beach and nice pool and hot tub.
Jul 20, 2013
Overall a good campground. I didn't much like the long list of rules I was given when I got there- not very welcoming. Internet service was good and the staff were pleasant.
Jul 20, 2013
Grounds could be nicer. Love the trail.
Jul 19, 2013
Great location,however staff should share with campers information about the winery and farmers market that are within walking distance. A bit disapointed with site, too small of space. Too many rules posted. Very clean though.
Jul 19, 2013
Great location! Campsites were too small, no room to set up outside. The place has a lot of small repairs.
Jul 17, 2013
Dave and Judy..... Host and Hostess were very helpful. Always love staying at this KOA
Jul 17, 2013
4 people per campgroind site? Really.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Great place to stay!
Jul 16, 2013
Sites were very small and difficult to enter and exit. If the site in front of us had been occupied we would not have been able to get out. Very poor planning.
Jul 15, 2013
the site was to small for our 32 foot trailer and hard to maneuver. yellow poles along side of rd are hard to see and should be removed at entrance. Staff closes office at 5pm.
Jul 15, 2013
The place is nice but not kid, pet or people friendly. Too many rules!
Jul 15, 2013
Very crowded, small sites. Wifi was not working last two days of our stay. Kids playground equipment needs repairs or replacement. It is a great area and loved the weather.
Jul 15, 2013
We stayed only 1 night. WiFi was not working that time. Camping sites are located very close to each other.
Jul 15, 2013
we really had a relaxing visit we loved the bike path to the beach!
Jul 15, 2013
The cabins are too high priced. And the RV spots are over priced but I guess people are willing to pay that much.
Jul 14, 2013
Bathrooms were somewhat decent but never any soap filled up! Spaces are way too close to one another. It is just a parking lot. People are unfriendly-cant have fires. Would not recommend.
Jul 13, 2013
staff friendly, facilities nice, dog area could be better
Jul 13, 2013
We have a small rig VW camper van and got a spot over by the pool this time. Much better for us than in the middle with the big rigs. If the office would open at 8 with coffee available to by,it would be much more welcoming than opening at 9. Pool and grounds lovely!
Jul 13, 2013
This KOA is a nice park. The spaces are a bit narrow where we were placed. The list of rules you get when you check in is a little over the top. This place wants to charge you $$$ for parking, leaving a little late and an entire list of other infractions. The list of nazi rules are bold and highlighted in yellow. EASE UP WITH THE RULES, IT'S VACATION TIME
Jul 13, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay. It was pet friendly, very quiet, and plenty of room. The men's bathroom was not updated like the women's bathroom. The campground has a lot of rules which helps maintain the peaceful camping environment, but may not work for others.
Jul 12, 2013
Close to the beaches but yet far enough away that you do not have the traffic. This KOA was busy :) Nice to meet new faces from everywhere and the staff friendly and helpful. Would be remiss if I did not mention the fabulous Farm Store just across the street with all its good fresh farm pies,veggies and special items and for the kids(and the kids in us)some farm animals. Loved it :)
Jul 11, 2013
It's a really nice park, the staff was great. Great location, except some traffic noise from the highway. But the spaces are simply too tight. We do not even have slide outs, and we really struggled to fit our truck and trailer into our space,even after reserving a space for a trailer that is 5 feet longer than our actual trailer due to same problem last time we stayed here.We camp 60 nites p/y.
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Office staff was not at all helpful when I inquired about the area.
Jul 09, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. Location is great to get to the beach and Avila barn for frest vegs and fruits. Would return again and again.
Jul 09, 2013
The camp was closer to a noisy highway than I thought it would be. And, would prefer dg to gravel in the sites. Gravel is hard on feet and gear. It is a great location though, near to Avila, Shell Beach and an easy drive to SLO and the Edna Valley.
Jul 09, 2013
This was our first KOA stay. We had a great time and met some really nice people. Thank you so much for the stay.
Jul 08, 2013
The only problem we had was there was no room in front, we could not take our awning out plus being disabled made it tougher. Other than that our stay was great!
Jul 08, 2013
Very disappointed in the staff this year. Stayed last year the campsites were clean as well as the pool. Never seen anyone clean a campsite, the pool was dirty, the staff was rude and very unorganized.
Jul 08, 2013
We stayed for 6 nights - July 1st-July 7th. Yes it was a busy weekend, however we have never camped so close to other trailers ever. Trailer next to us had sewer dump right next to our picnic table and there must have been a leak previously that was not cleaned up as it was littered with toilet paper. this is clearly a health hazard. So consequently our sewage dump was right next to another.
Jul 08, 2013
We were there for the 4th of July. Had a great time. Our only complaint was with the inconsistency with the WI FI. It would work for maybe 10 minutes at a time and then go out.
Jul 08, 2013
As always, Avila Beach KOA is a gem. Staff are always cheerful and friendly, and the park is always clean and tidy. Campsites are large and roomy, and folks appear to all be having a great time, especially at the pool and hot tub.
Jul 08, 2013
We loved the ambience and the hospitality. The only downside was our cabin wasn't ready when we were told it would be. The Staff was great in accomodating us.
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
The park could use upgrades. The space we stayed in was gravel and it hurt to walk on. I wish the pool was open later then 9:00 in the summer and the jacuzzi was way to hot! The office staff was friendly with the exception of one. Lorrie was very unpleasant and everyone in the park noticed It. I wish this KOA had more activities for the kids like Chula Vista KOA. The facilities are old and beat up
Jul 07, 2013
Very enjoyable stay. Very well kept grounds.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.