Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jan 03, 2013
I was very disappointed when we arrived to the campsite, we reserved a cabin to have a nice romantic getaway and the cabin was actually a trailer. Very misleading about the kind of experience we were going to have. As far as I'm concerned, KOA still owes me a 2 night stay in an actual cabin.
Jan 02, 2013
Sites are tight for large rvs
Jan 02, 2013
Nice campground, although spaces are a little tight.
Jan 01, 2013
Didn't have hot water in the women's shower. Otherwise the visit was excellent. We had an RV so the shower wasn't an issue. Some visitors were concerned.
Jan 01, 2013
Dec 29, 2012
Dec 27, 2012
My stay was peaceful. Amenities were as they described on the website. They have got to do something about the dirt on the sites when it rains. All the dirt becomes mud and sludge and we always have to think about it, not to carry it in the RV with our shoes. Other than that, the camp site is great, friendly staff, beautiful surroundings.
Dec 27, 2012
The staff is very helpful. Accommodations are good.
Dec 03, 2012
Even in the rain it was a wonderful stay. We'll be back!!
Nov 28, 2012
Nov 26, 2012
Nov 26, 2012
I was very disappointed that I was charged an extra $15 for checking out at 12:30. I was not told when I checked in that I would be charged for that. It was on the print, but since I've never been charged extra, I didn't read that until I noticed it on my credit card statement. There were plenty of spaces available when we left, and so I thought that was unreasonable. I am a member of KOA.
Nov 25, 2012
Nov 25, 2012
Other than the very bad idea to put cross bolts in the sewer drain so that toilet paper backs up. I understand why it was done but they were very concerned about sewer spills and that is exactly what will happen. Very pleasant people at the front desk and overall a great stay. We already made reservations for next Thanksgiving.
Nov 25, 2012
We had our family Thanksgiving here this year. It was great fun for all. The hosts placed us in 3 sites and a cabin close together. We all enjoyed it very much!
Nov 25, 2012
Great fellowship with all at Thanksgiving dinner
Nov 25, 2012
over priced(almost $200 for a trailer rental) camping sites are too close to each other. camp fire not allowed. the only thing we liked was the location.
Nov 25, 2012
Nov 24, 2012
Nov 23, 2012
Very friendly people. Clean bathroom facilities. Lots of things for kids to do (when it is not raining). We'll be back again.
Nov 15, 2012
Nov 13, 2012
Nov 12, 2012
Owners were nit-picky about parking in a camp 10% or less full. Otherwise, the experience was ok.
Nov 12, 2012
We always enjoy staying at KOA Avila. Great staff!
Nov 12, 2012
Only our second time using a KOA campground and we LOVED it. So many ammenities and so clean. Loved the location and we will certainly be back.
Nov 09, 2012
Loved the location, the friendly people, and clean facilities.
Nov 01, 2012
The location was great, however the campground itself was not great. The woman that checked us in was not friendly or helpful. We were not given much more than keys to the cabin, no wifi ID or password or any information about the amenities the campgroud was supposed to offer. The cabin itself was not very clean, many of the blinds did not function and the bed quilts were old/dirty.
Oct 31, 2012
The hosts were very friendly and informative. Dave really helped us enjoy our visit to this location in CA. Thanks.
Oct 30, 2012
This was my first visit to this Avila KOA and I was impressed with the friendly, helpful staff, The clean and quiet grounds, The store, pool and spa. Best of all was the location, right across the the street from the Avila Barn, and down the road from Avila Beach. My greatest regret on this vacation was not having enough time to spend an additional night at this KOA. I'll be back!
Oct 29, 2012
Reservation was easy,staff was very pleaasant,WiFi worked great,jacuzzi was pretty nice.But spaces were so tight,could not get our rig in close enough to use sewer dump due to bathroom being right across from us, our truck & trailer are pretty long. There were lots of open spaces that would have been much easier getting into.We are very experienced campers.11am checkout, & the price is a negative.
Oct 28, 2012
Will never go back to the Pismo Beach KOA. Tiny spots. Sooo crowded. Getting in & out of those tiny, tight spaces is awful. Never Again.
Oct 28, 2012
Oct 23, 2012
We'd like to have had a few more trees for shade, also would have liked it better if checkout was maybe 1:00 vs 11:00 other than that great time, showers and bathrooms clean and well maintained
Oct 23, 2012
We stayed three nights. It was our second stay here. Staff is very nice and helpful. Pet friendly. Next to highway 101 so a bit of noise. We will stay here again. Close to Avilla Beach, Pismo Beach. We stayed in a travel trailer.
Oct 22, 2012
Good nights stay at Avila/Pismo Beach KOA in September 2012. We were in a 30ft RV and had a nice back in spot next to the grass on the outside loop. We were late checking in but instructions were left and very clear. Facilities were clean and tidy and this provided an ideal stopover on our way back to L.A. Avila is a good night out by the sea, 10 mins drive away but beware parking enforcement!
Oct 22, 2012
Well first of all never got internet sign in info.Went next morning to get info and ofc. was closed. It was 9:10. Went back later and sign said will return in 10 mins. Got sign in later but was cut off later in evening. Very slow. Small sites, overall park needs some TLC. Lady in ofc. seemed unfamiliar with the area.
Oct 22, 2012
Oct 21, 2012
Oct 12, 2012
Arrived late, got site OK, wanted info but no one would answer phones so had no wifi. Manager not helpful. Highway noisy. Amenities clean.
Oct 10, 2012
Our pull-thru was easy in & out. Nice pool & spa. Only complaint was the spa jets were only working on one side. Bathrooms were clean. Very quiet at night. Close to Avila Beach & Harbor with great restaurants. Strict rules, which we like...
Oct 10, 2012
Top much noise from the Road.
Oct 09, 2012
Oct 09, 2012
Price almost double other KOAs. Site too small. When trailer is in site the truck is across the road into another site. Would be impossible to pull in and out with campground full. Sewer pipe had bolts that caused a leak.
Oct 08, 2012
A+
Oct 08, 2012
This KOA is very tight to get big rigs in they should ask more questions and look at if they can really fit the motorhome or trailer into the spot. We had to ask to use an open spot to put our car in. Also the freeway noise at night is really bad. On the good side it was very clean the pool was very niche and the people were helpful.
Oct 08, 2012
Friendly and accomodating and beautiful area around the campground
Oct 07, 2012
Oct 05, 2012
Nice amenities. Some sites were tight. Location is great.
Oct 05, 2012
Great staff, friendly service. Only complaint is I wish the store had more food items available.
Oct 04, 2012

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.