Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Dec 03, 2013
The people are very friendly,and the campground is clean. The only negative is the spaces are quite small for 26ft and over.
Dec 02, 2013
Friendly staff, clean grounds.
Dec 02, 2013
Dec 02, 2013
Tired bathrooms, weak showers, too long to wait for hot water, generally dingy. Hot tub not very hot.
Dec 01, 2013
We enjoyed our stay in Avila. The Bob Jones trail down to the beach was convenient, beautiful, and fun. The TV and Internet signal were weak, but that wasn't too big of a problem. What we were most displeased about is how close we were to our neighbors. We have been to several KOA's and haven't had our neighbors 5 feet from our back door. Next time we'll request a site by the playground.
Nov 25, 2013
Very nice and quiet
Nov 25, 2013
The sites were a little narrow for a coach with a pop out. The Park was clean and heated bathrooms were awesome! 10.00 for guest to visit our site was a little too pricey and disappointing.
Nov 24, 2013
Sewer system needs to be larger or reemed clear. threats of $ 350 for sewer spills is most likely from a sewer system that is not draining properly and not from the RVer. Too many rules of don't do this and don't do that. Nice area. Easy to find. Friendly hostess.
Nov 18, 2013
I stayed two nights at this KOA. The location is excellent. WE brought our bikes and really enjoyed having the Bob Jones trail so close. The facilities were immaculate and in very good condition. The highway noise was a little bit of a bummer but not that bad.
Nov 17, 2013
Clean campground, no noise issues. Loved the hot-tub in the cold evening.
Nov 13, 2013
The staff at this Koa are not friendly. We had a rv site that was so small we didn't have room for a chair. They save sites in case someone comes in late without reservations. The web says secure gate this is not true, they don't use it or secure restrooms. the pet area is not well maintained.
Nov 13, 2013
The stay was great. The people in the office are fantastic!!! Friendly and out and about keeping a check on things. The grounds are exceptionally clean, kept up. The only reason I didn't rate it at the top is the occasional Odor from the springs spa and some traffic noise. We will definitely return!!!!
Nov 13, 2013
Some site's were to small, no fire pits, no charcoal grills, tables were in bad need of repair. Knowing all of this I will still make a return trip to the KOA as the area is great and lot's to do.
Nov 13, 2013
I would normally rate this KOA a 5. Everything was top notch except the water. When we filled our tank it smelled like dead fish. We had to completely empty our tank at the next stop and flush the tanks to get rid of the smell. The campground and staff were wwonderful, everything else was 5 stars!
Nov 12, 2013
Nov 12, 2013
to noisey . Rec room was dirty one pool table was messed up non usable, no ping pong balls. Pool was nice a bit cold, campsites were very tight for the size they said they would fit. Over all it was a bit high in price for its location. I have stayed in others that were the same price but better maintained and better location
Nov 06, 2013
Nov 03, 2013
We have stayed at approximately 40 different KOA locations over the past 2 summers. This was the coldest, least friendly place we ever stayed. They gave us a long LIST OF FINES for almost anything we might do! Never ever will go back there!
Nov 03, 2013
Sites are very close together. We were right next to a cabin and could see inside the cabin from our living room
Nov 03, 2013
the camp is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful
Oct 29, 2013
Very friendly staff. The acommodations were a bit dated, but clean. Also a bit on the expensive side, but we did enjoy our stay.
Oct 27, 2013
Very clean. Short distance to Avila Beach. Close to Bob Jones Bike Trail. Will go again soon.
Oct 26, 2013
Campground was kept clean and was really quiet during the week.
Oct 23, 2013
Renting a cabin for 4 adults, turned out to be a motorhome with only 1 bed. Misleading advertisement. Air matress for these accomodations. We drove a long way for an uncomfortable place to sleep at this KOA. They charge extra for towels and bikes. Very firm on check out time, not allowed to rent their bikes to ride to beach after check out. Staff next door at Avila Hotspprings very nice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our cabins have 2 bedrooms and a full futon in the living room for sleeping. We do not charge for towels as we do not supply towels as stated on our website. Bikes can only be rented to registered guests.
Oct 22, 2013
The setting of the park is beautiful and close to beach. Staff is friendly. The restrooms are very clean. Downside; spaces tight and must back in perpendicular to narrow road with a trailer which is bad if crowded as tow vehicles are parked sticking into roadway. Also right next to Hwy 101 with trucks using engine brakes on northbound downgrade.
Oct 22, 2013
We had a great time. The spa was great and the managers are friendly and helpful. Overall the stay was great and we will return.
Oct 21, 2013
Shower curtains need attention
Oct 21, 2013
This was our second stay at KOA after KOA Eureka. Pancake breakfast at KOA Eureka was great and were were looking forward to it here. Missed that here due to off-season.
Oct 20, 2013
I didn't like all the signs in the bathroom, I felt like I was visiting my mother's

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Signs serve as a reminder because of previous problems we have had.
Oct 18, 2013
We liked our stay.
Oct 17, 2013
Have always loved this park. Less so since their association with KOA. Less of the people I was used to seeing........more of the one night people that I have no chance to get to know.
Oct 16, 2013
One of our favorite KOAs. Love the proximity to Pismo, Avila Beach, Morro Bay and San Luis Obispo. Campground is quiet and well-kept, Staff is friendly. Love that they have rules and they actually enforce them. We will be back again soon!
Oct 15, 2013
Don't place young children next to freeway--too noisy for them to sleep!!!!
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
We had a great time at this campsite. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back.
Oct 14, 2013
Very pleasant campground. A little hard to find. Needs a sign at the main road or something. People were wonderful when we got there.
Oct 11, 2013
NOT DOG FRIENDLY, IN FACT WE ARE RUNNING INTO MORE KOA'S THAT WILL NOT LET DOGS ON THE GRASS, SO WILL LOOK FOR OTHER PLACES TO STAY, GOOD SAM? WE ARE VIP KOA MEMBERS AND VERY UNHAPPY WITH THIS POLICY.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have limited grass area which we like to keep clean for our children to be able to play on the grass.
Oct 09, 2013
Nice location. Close to restuarants, mineral springs, overall great experience.
Oct 08, 2013
Ocean Canyon is always pleasant. The staff are efficient and friendly.
Oct 07, 2013
Very nicely maintained area, and one of the nicest bathrooms we've seen in any campground!
Oct 05, 2013
There are fines for everything...unregistered guests, sewage spills, etc., etc. I guess they are trying to make people feel like convicts rather than customers. If this is how these it, it isn't for me!
Oct 04, 2013
basic koa with no flair. location is convenient, but also noise next to 4 lane highway 101
Oct 03, 2013
Cabin rentals - They would only give us one key even when we requested two. It made getting into the cabin a pain and a problem... especially when my husband and I were not together.
Oct 01, 2013
this park is working hard to become a destination what with an expanded petting zoo and mini "water park." but wa-a-y too many signs.
Oct 01, 2013
Your campground was extremely clean. The only draw back i have is the sites are to small.
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
Bathrooms need some work. No dials on the shower water so hard to adjust temp.
Sep 30, 2013
Nice park, great directions, friendly and very helpful.
Sep 29, 2013
Sep 29, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.