Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

7075 Ontario Road

San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

Reserve: 800-562-1244

Info: 805-595-7111

Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Feb 26, 2015
Great location. Clean campground and restrooms. Good base for exploring Pismo Beach, Hearst Castle, Elephant Seas, etc.!
Feb 25, 2015
It was great, quiet, small and the staff was quite friendly and helpful. The only thing I would have liked to have seen was the bathrooms being cleaned more often. Even though the door said they were cleaned from 3-4, when we entered at 4:30 or 5pm I could tell they had not been cleaned. Other than that, which is not that big of a deal in my opinion, I enjoyed staying here and I will again.
Feb 24, 2015
Feb 17, 2015
Since the fences were installed tighter camping area but more privacy. Too close to the freeway our site was trucks kept me awake a lot, camp hosts were excellent
Feb 17, 2015
We had a wonderful stay at the Avila KOA. The grounds were beautiful we just felt that the spaces were a little cramped our trailer it was a little too long for the space we were assigned which we ended up fitting, but it just felt really tight! Wish they would've really looked at our length and put us in a longer space!
Feb 17, 2015
The spaces are really small, really dificult to park your trailer and car. We were glad that we had a grass area, the old playground should be replace for something bigger and more things to do on it. The pool was good but the chairs were very old. We loved the bike trail to the beach, we'll most likely stay again bc of the location but not bc of the campground.
Feb 17, 2015
Feb 17, 2015
Staff was friendly and location was clean. But sites were very narrow and not as long as they stated. The camper behind us was 4 feet into our site so his could fit. I try to go with KOA because they are usually kid friendly and have decent playgrounds. This playground was very old and made out of wood which gives splinters. Not very safe for little kids.
Feb 17, 2015
Location is great although noisy, being right by freeway. Campground is "so-so".
Feb 17, 2015
Have had a better than good experience with KOA. But this particular KOA was dirty, small and in need of significant repairs and care. The only truly redeeming qualities were location and it had a pool/spa. Could be a great place with proper attention and maintenance. The staff seemed nice but nice doesn't always get the job done.
Feb 17, 2015
our family had a wonderful time we love the family breakfast is in the morning the pool is the best the people are great we're coming back soon
Feb 17, 2015
Great location, nice office & bathroom. cons: strong smell of sewage, wastewater all over the asphalt upon departure, terrible night sleep on poor quality mattress. No directions for chair sleeper set up (had to figure out in middle of night, mattress better than bed's). Old food residue along counter edges. Strong odor in room. Fridge motor is loud at night.
Feb 16, 2015
This KOA is clean, friendly and accommodating. We have stayed hereang times and will continue to come back.
Feb 15, 2015
The host was super friendly and helpful. Nice all the way around.
Feb 14, 2015
For a one night stay,it was ok. Located under route 101 it is noisy, but it's location was also it's attraction to us after twisting and winding all day down the Pacific Coast Highway. Do not think it would be my choice for a long term stay, but it was nice for our overnight.
Feb 09, 2015
We like this campground very much and have been here often. But the pool has not worked for several months, and now the jacuzzi is out of order for several weeks already. That makes it very unattractive to us and we will not recommend it to others. These need to be repaired, and it's a feature we pay for at this place.
Feb 03, 2015
Feb 03, 2015
Great staff and great accomodation (laundry, grounds, etc). A little noisy (hwy 101) and cool as a result of local terrain. I'll come back as the local towns are great and the KOA is centrally located.
Jan 29, 2015
we had a great time! enjoyed riding the rental bikes to the Beach! hope to come again someday!
Jan 28, 2015
The threat of big fines is scary, makes one not want to stay there, sites are small and crowded in...
Jan 27, 2015
I have stayed there before, and returned just as happy as the last time
Jan 27, 2015
Jan 27, 2015
We love this KOA; friendly staff, great proximity to Pismo and Avila. AND...you can just be lazy, if you want!!
Jan 25, 2015
Very nice place, a little Hwy noise, very large bathroom and showers were a plus.
Jan 23, 2015
Jan 21, 2015
People very nice and location is good, Loved the landscape But this park needs to be renovated badly, The play ground, the bathrooms and shower and the pool was not in service because the heater broke! The last day we were there the water main broke on the side of park we were on so we had no water! They were nice enough to refund us for that day.
Jan 20, 2015
Water shut off for repairs. Showers need work tiles missing. Pool and spa not working.
Jan 18, 2015
Jan 17, 2015
Infustructer (electric and water fine). But, the place needs serious upgrades from their cabins to the game room. Plus, there is a stench from the septic system. We will not go back.
Jan 17, 2015
Jan 11, 2015
Great place to stay with the whole family. The staff are wonderful! We love that the hot springs are next to the camp. Cant wait to come back :)
Jan 10, 2015
Perfect location. Close to Avila Valley Barn, Walking trails, and just a short drive to the beach. Also very clean and quiet. Will definitely be coming back.
Jan 10, 2015
Jan 09, 2015
I rented this camp site for my aging father, and he was very comfortable. The weekend breakfast was an added bonus. Thank you.
Jan 08, 2015
Centrally located between Avila beach community and Shell and Pismo beach communities. Need bikes or scooters to get places, which is fine for us. Clean environment. Nice and friendly workers. Fun bike/walking path .problem with this particular week we went was the pool/spa was closed. We wanted the jacuzzi at night as there is no night life near by Oh well. We will be back because of the proximit
Jan 08, 2015
Had a great stay! Employees very nice! Will return soon!
Jan 08, 2015
One of the worst Rv parks I have been to lately. No heat in the clubhouse, ticks in the grass at the dog park, very few streetlights working. If you are a KOA member they won't cater to you. In fact there are very few spots for you. They do however cater to the Reynolds members.
Jan 08, 2015
Love this place!
Jan 07, 2015
Fantastic location, 3 miles from Avila beach. Managers Dave & Lisa do a awesome breakfast on weekends. Just a fun place to be with great host.
Jan 07, 2015
Jan 04, 2015
Good location and walking path to Bob Jones beach. Overall comfortable accommodations. What could be improved: Bed was a bit too soft, the heater was noisy, a sink in the bathroom would've been nice.
Jan 04, 2015
This KOA really packs in the RVs. I've been traveling in the RV for a few yrs and have not stayed in one quite like this! The maintenance is poor specifically in the bathroom/shower area! Showers were dirty, not disgusting, just dirty and the shower door squeeked so loudly that when I looked, I realized the top hinge was broken off. If you stay here, request a site only around perimeter for room
Jan 04, 2015
Jan 04, 2015
Jan 04, 2015
Great location and friendly staff.Only thing I could suggest for the future is update the restroom facilities. The onsite breakfast is a nice feature we attend every time we stay there.
Jan 03, 2015
New Management is doing a great job, so much cleaner and friendlier! Thank You!
Jan 03, 2015
very friendly campground organized and orderly
Jan 02, 2015
It was cold, yes, at the coast the last weekend of 2014. At this KOA there was no heat in the restrooms or in the community room. Ping pong paddles were very old and one had 1/2 of a handle. the foosball-like soccer game had no sign saying that it was out of order. The entire community room needs an upgrade and the outdoor children's playground had few things for the children to play upon.
Jan 01, 2015
Jan 01, 2015
We have stayed at this KOA several times. It is always clean, quiet, and the staff are friendly.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.