1000 Islands / Association Island KOA

15530 Snowshoe Rd (physical only, no US mail service)

Henderson, NY 13650

Reserve: 800-562-7644

Info: 800-393-4189

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2015
In all it was a very pleasant place to vacation.
Jul 28, 2015
WE ENJOYED OUR STAY THERE. HAD AN EAST SHORE LAKESIDE SITE WITH A GREAT VIEW. STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. LOTS OF SHORESIDE FISHING OPPORTUNITIES. WE WILL BE BACK.
Jul 28, 2015
The name is deceptive, it is nearly an hour from 1000 Islands and is on Lake Ontario, not the St. Lawrence River. There are lots of things for the children to do. However, the campsites are like a parking lot. There are few trees and the grass hadn't been mowed in a long time. We were not impressed and will not return.
Jul 28, 2015
The campground setting is beautiful but the staff ar the check-in and store were the most unwelcoming group we have encountered at any KOA. The summer shiners who helped with the children were terrific.
Jul 28, 2015
We love the campground, but not the lack of cable TV options!! We understand that camping is not all about watching TV, but on a rainy day it helps!!!
Jul 28, 2015
Very friendly staff. Sites with amazing views. Also pet friendly. Lots of things to do.
Jul 28, 2015
Beautiful spot. The park was clean and very well kept.
Jul 28, 2015
Sites were not well trimmed. The 5 mile hour speed limit was not enforced. Numerous young teens speeding around in golf carts. Paid for water front and then a pick up with a trailer parked across from our site obstructing the view.
Jul 28, 2015
Great campground for the value. We have been there numerous times, and keep returning each year, sometimes a couple of times. Unfortunately, on this stay, they were supposed to have a band playing for their Saturday night entertainment, but in checking with the office, we learned that the band was a no-show. We were disappointed, but understand it was not the fault of the campground.
Jul 27, 2015
Beautiful area and the sunrise-sunsets are beautiful, but the campground left a lot to be desired. The grass was very tall on our site as well as surrounding sites. Should have been mowed prior to our arrival. There was a dead bird on the empty site next to ours, we called, got voice mail left message, hrs later it was still there.
Jul 27, 2015
Windy and buggy, but a beautiful location! Great place to go to relax and unwind. I do wish the pebble beach area denoted for swim access to the lake was better maintained. It was overgrown with weeds and full of goose poop rendering it unusable.😕
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Terrific except for the gnats!
Jul 27, 2015
Great camp site. wish they had a dumpster near by. BUt, I was able to drop off my garbage at the store on the way out.
Jul 27, 2015
I had a wonderful week at Association Island. The staff was helpful and the campground was well kept. There was a nice breeze off the lake the made the temps feel comfy even though most days were quite humid. I will be booking at this campground again.
Jul 27, 2015
Had a wonderful 5 days. Perfect weather. Bathrooms, pool and daily crafts were a plus. Enjoyed riding the bike and checking out the beautiful sunrises and sunsets, staff were friendly. The only downside would the golf carts and the amount of kids driving without proper supervision and driving erratically at times. There should be a minimal age limit for drivers. BUT will come again. Thank you.
Jul 27, 2015
It was fun to be camping on an Island. It appears strides are being taken to improve the appearance of the camp ground. The only complaint we have is the speed of both vehicles and golf carts needs to be enforced. They drive too fast....
Jul 27, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay here at 1000 Islands/Association Island. The bugs were bad, but this isn't the campground's fault. Everything else was great. We loved the nature trail and the kids really enjoyed the bounce pillow and pedal carts. Staying right next to the lake was absolutely amazing.
Jul 27, 2015
Everything was good except the grass was long then they tried mowing and going around our things and hit the rug and ripped it..was happy they replaced it was very nice of them they didn't have to do that.I think they need to try and mow before people check in at their site not after they are there..But NO BIG DEAL we would come back again and our planning to..
Jul 27, 2015
The staff could've been more personable. Quite an expensive price per night
Jul 27, 2015
It's the perfect 1000 Island experience. There are activities for kids and adults can relax lake or bayside.
Jul 27, 2015
Nice place. But not exactly what we expected. Needs more trees. Camping in a field was not our idea of fun. Therefore a nice place but not for us in our type of relaxing places. Tks for the stay. And all the best to you.
Jul 27, 2015
This particular campground is very picturesque. Plenty of activities. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Jul 27, 2015
we stayed on site #L26, great view and sunset. The only complaint I have is when we pulled into our site with a 45' coach, a dead tree was a big eye sore, needs to be taken down. Just a thought have you thought about planting small trees along the shore line, to have them grow for future generations. we had a hard time leaving on Sunday and if able one more day would have been nice.
Jul 27, 2015
As always another get stay !!
Jul 27, 2015
KOA staff (Paul) were very helpful and made the stay even more "special". Only "odd" activity was our neighbour cutting his grass and spraying what looked like "Roundup" at his site.....just seemed a little odd
Jul 27, 2015
Very nice stay, sites all seemed excellent, ours sure was. A little more control over kids driving golf carts would be nice.
Jul 26, 2015
We stayed with two other families, had a great time, but wind was a bit much for us on a couple of days. The staff certainly has no control over that though! The manager was great! Activities staff were good with the kids, young and old!
Jul 26, 2015
Our site not mowed on arrival. On Monday asked Paul your manager about open water sites, he laughed at us and said they were booked.not accommodating at all.also he went on about kids in the camp and how they expected to be entertained.not a good KOA rep. Tried to rent a kayak and were told we could only go in the weed infested pool only, no thanks young seasonal help was very friendly and helpful
Jul 26, 2015
Great location. Lots of potential but not well maintained. Golf carts with very young children driving very fast during the day and after dark. Manager tried to be helpful but rude and condescending to customers and staff. Would look for other campground in area for future stays.
Jul 26, 2015
Beautiful Camping with another family asked to be next to each other was told the site was taken between us.It was empty
Jul 25, 2015
not well enforced rules grass not cut bugs very bad
Jul 25, 2015
Views from windward side of island were amazing. Clean campground. Limited kids activities. Lots of gnats and pesky seagulls.
Jul 25, 2015
Great location and very clean. It was buggy and windy, but they can't do anything about that. We would come back again.
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
lovely views and location . waterfront sites not all well maintained and if u pull in forwards and have a neighbor backed in it's too close! sites aren't very wide & fires don't have enough room from campers
Jul 25, 2015
Extremely nice campground for views and natural setting but sites could be more level. Waterfronts are not set up very well for back in and too much large (3-4") gravel around pads and grass. However not our 1st visit and will return. Ongoing maintenance may be correcting any concerns we have. Thank you.
Jul 24, 2015
this is one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed at. excellent .
Jul 24, 2015
Great campground but cable tv is sporadic at best and picture quality for the 12 channels we got was poor.
Jul 24, 2015
Always have loved Association Island, noticed more campers since went to KOA. Concerned with all the kids driving golf carts around, even after dark.
Jul 24, 2015
The only thing that botheredme was the number of young 9/10 year olds driving around in golf carts. If anything would happen I could see a law suit very quickly.
Jul 24, 2015
The water views and sites are very pretty. no heated pool or bingo offered.
Jul 23, 2015
Great location good staff bathrooms could use updates sinks with counterspace (tent area)
Jul 23, 2015
Nice camp grounds but very little to do in way of social events. Too little help for such a big place. Great to kids but not so much for adults
Jul 23, 2015
for travlers its kind of far off the interstate but really not hard to find, it could use grass and landscaping the whole camp ground is gravel & weeds at $75 a night.
Jul 22, 2015
Beautiful campground , and very friendly and accommodating staff.
Jul 22, 2015
Great views of Lake Ontario. Thru no fault of campground we were covered by shad flys for our whole stay. If you're not a big bug fan think twice. The grounds around our campsite looked like hay mowing season. Piles of dead grass could have been picked up. Bathroom & showers clean but old.
Jul 22, 2015
nice being on the lake but the site was near marshy area many many many bugs.
Jul 22, 2015
Jul 22, 2015
It was awesome! Totally love the area & campground! Would highly recommend it. Only thing required are Garbage cans for Gabage, available to individual sites.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.