1000 Islands / Association Island KOA

15530 Snowshoe Rd (physical only, no US mail service)

Henderson, NY 13650

Reserve: 800-562-7644

Info: 800-393-4189

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 03, 2014
The reception was not very wellcoming. The first words were " last name" like an order even withouten "Plessers"
Jun 02, 2014
We have stayed at this campground several times, in different months hoping for improvements from KOA. The flying bugs are out of control. This stay in May, people stopped and could not read the name of our camper because there were so many black flies on it. We would have left but it was a holiday weekend. The algae smell in July/August is like a sewer. We won't return
Jun 02, 2014
My only issue with island is the extreme bugs I mean it was crazy buggy on any grass area you were at. Got everywhere in the camper if you opened doors. Everything else including people and beautiful location was great.
Jun 02, 2014
We had a great time, management and staff go out of their way to to make your stay here a pleasure. We will be back many times over. Thank you Paul and your staff.
Jun 02, 2014
What a truley unique place! We enjoyed our stay and it will be on the short list of places to see again.
Jun 02, 2014
C'est l'endroit idéal pour se reposer et relaxer. Terrain propre et personnel disponible. La seule chose, mais vous n'y pouviez rien, ce sont les mouches. Nous n'y avions pas pensé, la prochaine fois, nous viendrons un peu plus tard en saison.
Jun 02, 2014
Beautiful site directly on the water with a sunset view...SPECTACULAR!!!
Jun 02, 2014
Beautiful site with lots to do, but... The "May flies" are ridiculous this time of year! They don't bite, but they coat everything
Jun 02, 2014
bathrooms very clean and well stocked- annoying shad flies but the sunset view was amazing- very helpful young pleasant lady at check -in - gave good advice on changing our campsite
Jun 02, 2014
Je ne pense pas que ce terrain rencontre les critères d'excellence de KOAQ
Jun 01, 2014
The campground was great, we had one of the best sites we have ever had however may is not the time to go, the may flies are so bad you can't believe. We will be going back to see how it is without the may flies. the staff was very friendly and helpful. Other then the may flies this is a great campground.
Jun 01, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay. Views are great. Will return but not in May. The mayflies were horrible. That is not the campgrounds fault.
Jun 01, 2014
There are no words for how bad the mayflies were.Many dogs not on a leash.paid for premier lake front with sunset view and could not see the sun because of the location of the site.the way the sites are set up absolutely no privacy.trailers bring an extension for power and a long hose for water you will need it.kinda run down,could be so much better,water views are amazing.
Jun 01, 2014
The only negative was the swarms of bugs but at least they didn't bite!
May 31, 2014
I AM SORRY BUT i WON'T EVER GO BACK....THE MANAGER IS SO IMPATIENT WITH CUSTOMER......
May 30, 2014
May 30, 2014
Loved it, where can you go to get the most beautiful sunset and sunrise pictures within a 5 minute walk from your campfire? Only at Association Island.
May 29, 2014
There have been a lot of NEGATIVE changes since our last 2 stays! We know the winter was bad BUT camper comfort should come first...as it did before. 1) Bug island is an appropriate phrase. Site L28 was HORRIBLE with them. We could not walk the park without SWARMS of them following you. THIS MUST BE FIXED to prevent disease spreading! Places off the island did not have the problem!
May 29, 2014
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
Worst KOA that we stayed at ever. Not maintained at all. Not worth what we had to pay should get money back.
May 28, 2014
We were extremely disappointed. The sites were not very nice,the grass was long, there were additional huge sewer pipes sticking out of every site. Not able to sit outside--FLIES.There was a problem with the cable.The huge jump pillow for the kids was closed for repair. I overheard the manager talking smack about some campers. He was rude to his employees. We will not return.
May 28, 2014
Bugs, bugs, bugs....never in my life have I seen so many and never again do I wish to see so many! Didn't seem prepared for Memorial Day weekend. General manager and one cleaning staff member were very rude. Bounce pillow was broken. Cable was limited this weekend. Need I say more? Quite disappointed, will not be returning.
May 28, 2014
The mayflies were horrendous!!! We had problems with our 50 amp electric hook up and the fix was to hook up with our son. That did not work either so we hooked up to a sight that was empty. After borrowing two cables we had electric. Not fun or great customer service. :(
May 28, 2014
the area is great the campgrounds need care need to put some color or life into it plant some flowering trees or flowers, mow the lawn and rake each site, how about painting the picnic tables different colors like red blue yellow and green would enhance the property nothing like color to make the campers feel happy. trust would have the park filled all the time.
May 28, 2014
Had a good time enjoyed the weekend!
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
Great entertainment on Saturday night. Too windy and too many bugs probably because of the early season. Beautiful views for sure!Loved the location
May 28, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Aside from the pesky mayflies this time of year we had a great time as usual. In my opinion I think it is a great family campground!
May 27, 2014
Just a beautiful place to stay and the staff was absolutely wonderful! Being so close to the water and falling asleep to the sound of waves was just priceless!
May 27, 2014
may flies were overwhelming sites seemed crowded together. staff was very pleasant and helpful. facilities were clean and well maitained
May 27, 2014
We had an amazing experience as usuall. The only hick up was the Mayfly invasion but it is that time of year. You can't stop Mother Nature. We can't wait to come up again next month.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Was a little disappointed. Mayflies were unbearable for the entire weekend. Still cleaning from camper 2 days later. Could live with that cause uncontrollable. Real disappointment was in not offering discount at check in. No pool. No bounce pillow. About 4 cable channels. I understand things happen but pretty disappointed that all these main things my kids were looking forward to were not working.
May 27, 2014
Very clean and friendly camp ground. Pet friendly as well...
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Staff was exceptionally courteous-from my first phone calls to book with Paul to my many trips to store and especially the craft and bike rental staff/couple! He was very helpful and was always great with my many questions and my kids-exactly who you want working there! I love that it says "dog friendly" and you are!! I LOVE the dog walk area. The island is gorgeous, we will be back!!
May 27, 2014
Unfortunately, the bugs where so thick you really couldn't go outside or you would be swarmed. The weekend was okay once we left the campground to escape the bugs. I'm sure it was just bad timing but it definitely detracted from our enjoyment of the island campground setting.
May 27, 2014
I think it is a beautiful place if you can enjoy it. Which from some people I talked to it seems to be perfect later in the season. However I recommend only going after muffleheads season which ends sometime in June they come right after the may flies and infest the place. You can not go outside till night time. They get in your rv/car and poop on everything its so nasty. Small playground too.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Excellent stay - never disappointed.
May 27, 2014
Great bath house facilities.
May 27, 2014
Great view of the lake but we could barely get out of our trailer because of the mayflies. Swarms. All over trailer, in trailer, on truck. Grass unkept. Realize cannot control mother nature but $75 a night a lot not to enjoy the outdoors.
May 27, 2014
Memorial Day weekend and the staff was not prepared!! Nothing was available...the reason we chose was to keep the kids busy and they had nothing!! Never go to a KOA again.. State parks for us..
May 27, 2014
I found the staff friendly and helpful the facility was not prepared all activities we planned with the kids were not open or under repair our children were very upset crying to go home which made my weekend very unpleasant along with the bug swarm on the island and the seagulls I was surprised the site got the rating it did I will not be back for sure
May 27, 2014
Chose this campground cause it was close and seen some great reviews. When I arrived to site the first thing they said was there bounce dome was closed for extensive repairs. There was only 1 very small playground with 2 slides. No swing sets. And the tennis court never had a net. Pool was very cold which I expected with it being just opened. So it was very disappointing for my family.
May 27, 2014
I ha e stayed at this koa several times over the past several years and I wouldsay that this.stay was the worst. The grass was high. We lost water pressure several times. The main electric breaker blew for our site and several around us and I had to wait almost 2 hrs before I had go plug into another site far behind me. It is very unlikely that I will be back to this koa again.
May 27, 2014
Please refer to my email

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.