Ashland / Huntington West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2649

Info: 606-929-5504

Email

80 KOA Lane

Argillite, KY 41121

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 973 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Sep 26, 2016
We enjoyed our stay! The cabin was nice and clean and the people were friendly and helpful
Sep 14, 2016
Sep 09, 2016
ALWAYS EXCELLENT STAFF IS AWESOME

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for the kind words. Travel safely and hope to see you all soon again.
Aug 29, 2016
Convenient location, nice kabin, very helpful snd friendly staff. Will stay here again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. We will see you next year. God bless
Aug 23, 2016
Cabins need a general update. Curtains broke, bedroom window wouldn't open, bathroom door lock needs replaced and air conditioner wouldn't shut off- fan ran continuously.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for bringing these items to my attention. Maintenance will be taking appropriate actions.
Aug 19, 2016
Always a great time. Staff members and owners are always freindly and helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

So glad you had a wonderful time. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Aug 18, 2016
The cabins were nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

So glad you had a wonderful time. Hope to see you again soon.
Aug 09, 2016
Had a great time. Nice pool. Great playground for toddlers. Cabins much nicer than expected.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for all the kind words. We will see you soon.
Jul 19, 2016
While the campground appeared to be a nice place, I was charged a $50 cleaning fee for the cabin we stayed in. We left it just as clean as it was when we arrived. If you are planning to stay in a cabin, you may want to consider a different KOA to stay at. We have never had an issue at any other KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It took an extreme amount of time for our housekeeping team to remove all the pet hair. The Board of Health requires extra cleaning for all cabins left in this condition.
Jul 12, 2016
We had a great time! The staff was very friendly and helpful and our cabin was like brand new! Very clean!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. Our staff does a GREAT job.
Jul 12, 2016
Had a wonderful time

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you.
Jun 26, 2016
Very clean Koa. Very nice and accommodating staff Would highly recommend a stay here. Beautiful location.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. We try to help where we can. Thank you for the recommendation. I'm sure we will be seeing you soon.
Jun 22, 2016
Pet policy states "dogs must be on a leash, not left unattended in campers and not tied and left unattended at sites." However, while traveling alone, I could not bring my dog into office to register. 95 degrees out and was told he'd have to stay in my vehicle. Not very pet friendly. Won't return.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our policy is no pets inside the main building. Health code in KY is only animals permitted in areas with food are service animals and that is at the discretion of managers. Our pet policy is for the protection of the pets. We are in a wooded area with wild dogs, coyotes, etc.
Jun 10, 2016
We had a great time. Plenty for the girls to do. Cabin was perfect for 4 people

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. We love the cabins.
Jun 07, 2016
very friendly and clean ,would be nicer if more trees among campsites......

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Trees are being planted each year.
Jun 07, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Thanks!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You're very welcome. Come back and see us sometime.
May 23, 2016
The cabin was very nice and a very relaxing place.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. We find our campground very relaxing too.
May 16, 2016
Clean, well maintained, staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. Come back and see us soon.
May 06, 2016
Always stop at this KOA if possible, love the cabin with the shower!! And since it was pouring rain this trip!! It was awesome

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. Yes, having the bath in the cabin makes all the difference. See you soon.
Apr 17, 2016
Workers are very unprofessional!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry you feel that way. I (Thelma) am the owner and I felt that our conversations were very professional. Joe (security) and Ron (landscaper) are the others you talked to, and they both know their jobs very well.
Jan 04, 2016
Very helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We try to help all we can. If one can't answer, we find someone who can.
Dec 31, 2015
cold

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We set our thermostats at 70. There are some that say that's too hot.
Nov 30, 2015
Clean,comfortable & well equipped cabin. Great atmosphere.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. Come see us again soon.
Nov 04, 2015
Fun time.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you see ya soon.
Oct 04, 2015
We always enjoy our stay at this KOA.
Sep 22, 2015
Friendly owners offering a really nice, new facility in a good location.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you.
Sep 09, 2015
we enjoyed so much the cabin, and the time we spent there. We plan on being back again soon. Very nice people who run the kampground. My daughter especially enjoyed seeing the mass amount of campers, we now know we too want to purchase one and be a camper as well. Thanks again for the wonderful time there.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We like the cabins (or as my granddaughter calls them Cabimettes) Remember we have all sizes of sites. I can't wait to see which camper you buy. I still haven't settled on a favorite. See you soon.
Aug 31, 2015
We had a lovely stay. My daughter & I. Our cabin had a couple spiders which we killed but those bites could have been bad had we gotten one. Also the bed pillows are extremely extremely flat & worn out making them not useful at all. Other than that, we were very happy & will return again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry about the spiders. We have an exterminator come out each month. We have new pillows on order, they are so hard to keep covered and fluffed up. We will see you soon.
Aug 22, 2015
It was an awesome. Stay very peaceful , I loved the cross in the pool . Very clean and well maintained. I would definitely stay again ..

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. We are glad you had a GREAT time. The cross reminds us that God is the reason we are here. See you soon.
Aug 20, 2015
Nice, clean facilities and wonderful staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you
Aug 18, 2015
had a great time

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are happy to hear that. See you again soon.
Aug 10, 2015
Check in time for cabin is at 2pm. We arrived at 4pm and our cabin was not ready due to staff shortage and staff babysitting her grandchild while working. We had to wait one hour before we could get checked into our cabin. Garbage pick up is in the morning but no one picked it up so we had to do it. Also, no shade. We liked the cabin but would not recommend this KOA to anyone!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologized/explained the medical emergency that had delayed cleaning the cabin. Garbage was picked up by the owner that same evening shortly after cleaning and you were checked in. Our grandchildren are rarely near us, so he stayed with us, even while working. Trees are growing just not quickly.
Aug 03, 2015
Friendly staff & good activities. The overall condition was not maintained: putt-putt golf desperately needed repairs; tent sites had numerous pieces of equipment & debris stored in the area; grass needed to be mowed in numerous areas; walking trails were not maintained at all so unable to walk them due to down trees, tall grass & briars; multiple dogs running loose on site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We regret that your stay was not pleasant. We are waiting for new artificial turf for our rebuilt mini-golf, numerous storms have been in the area and we have been busy with repairs since and not able to maintain trails, The dogs were drop offs. We are at the mercy of the Humane Society for pick up.
Jul 30, 2015
Extremely hot, KOA can't control that. No shade at all. Pool tasted like salt water and smelt like fecal matter. Bathrooms were the best part, it felt like Antartica in there. The camp ground was very clean and staff were nice. The office had anything you needed in case you forgot something.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have young trees, but in another 10 years they will provide shade all around. Pool was inspected by Health Dept. that day and passed with 100. We love suggestions on things we may have forgotten for the store.
Jul 29, 2015
It was a very relaxing. Very clean camp ground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you.
Jul 07, 2015
The Cabin we stayed in was very clean and in great shape.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you.
Jul 01, 2015
not enough trees, felt barren. Cabin was clean and pleasant but pool closed at 8 pm on sunny evening - kids bummed!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Trees are being planted each year. The pool closes when the store closes for the day as required by state regulation. I am glad that you enjoyed the cabin.
Jun 28, 2015
No trees for shade.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Campground was built 9 years ago. Trees were planted 8 years ago and have been growing as fast as we can.
Jun 28, 2015
Our kabin was great, very cozy and dry during all the thunderstorms. Friendly staff and a nice, big dog run made this a great place to stop on our cross-country trip. Thanks, KOA!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You're welcome. We love our kabins ourselves.
Jun 11, 2015
only complaint is in the cabin, no light over sink

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. We have never had that brought to our attention, but it is something that would make all's stay better.
May 28, 2015
The cabin was clean and well-maintained. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay who wants something a little more homey than a traditional hotel room. The owners are very friendly and go above and beyond to make your stay nice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you, Hon. We try to make everyone's stay GREAT.
May 25, 2015
Terrific sites, great people, welcoming atmosphere, nice cabin. Couldn't ask for more. I will be back!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much. I'll let all see your comment. See you soon.
May 18, 2015
I stayed in a deluxe cabin for 2 nights. Clean, well equipped kitchen, linens were provided for this particular cabin and extremely courteous staff. Would stay again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are happy you had a GREAT stay. See you next year.
May 11, 2015
My daughter & I had a great stay as a first timer at this campground. Staff was awesome, very welcoming. Cabin was mostly clean although dead stink bugs were in the window sill which was kinda gross. Also being in a cabin I assumed more supplies would have been included like cups, plates, coffee cup etc. I needed to be more prepared and I wasn't. Overall we had a wonderful time & would return agai

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Glad you had a GREAT time. I apologize for the stink bugs, we have been having an awful time with those this past year. We do supply our 2 room cabins with dishes, because they have a kitchenette. See y'all soon.
May 04, 2015
Our camping experience was wonderful. The facility was clean and well maintained. The office folks were very helpful with offering information as to activities in the surrounding area. The price was very good for the service and comfort Ashland KOA provided. Will definitely recommend to our friends.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are happy you enjoyed your stay. See ya soon.
Apr 29, 2015
Apr 06, 2015
Great quiet KOA! Very easily accessible and the hosts were wonderful! Clean cabins and KOA grounds! Will be back!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We look forward to serving you again.
Mar 30, 2015
Great stay. Only problem is material condition of cabin. Good, but not great. door frame coming off between rooms; doorknob on front sticks; Toiletpaper holder coming off wall. Still-great place!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I see you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured these items are being taken care of. We still are looking for a replacement on the toiletpaper holder, but all other issues resolved. See you soon.
Feb 06, 2015
Very clean and new. It was great!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comment.
Nov 30, 2014
Great deluxe mini cabin. We stayed in November, the cabin was clean with plenty of clean towels and linens. Three heaters kept us very warm and the shower was great. There were no plates or utensils but plenty of other cooking equipment in the kitchen.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize for the lack of plates and utensils. We have a new housekeeper and she is having a hard time getting used to our checklist. I will definitely have a talk with her. Thank you for drawing this to our attention.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals