Asheville West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

Email

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 14, 2015
A nice stay on a very busy weekend.
Jul 14, 2015
The campground made the perfect base for exploring Asheville, Waynesville and Cataloochee Valley.The campground was very clean and well maintained.
Jul 14, 2015
It's a good campground for pass thru stay but not to many activities if you want to spend an extended stay.
Jul 13, 2015
only stayed overnight as half way stop between Myrtle Beach and home, but found everything CLEAN and enjoyable
Jul 13, 2015
Nice big camp sites, shaded, graveled. Nice staff. Noisy because it is very close to HWY 40. Clean bathrooms, unisex showers, same entrance for his/hers restrooms, weird arrangement. But overrall nice.
Jul 12, 2015
Overall the staff was friendly and helpful. There was a host staying on site at the top section. The trash was checked regularly and the bath house was clean. There is some road noise but it was tolerable on the back part of the campground. Overall, nobody bothered us and the folks we came in contact with were friendly. There were several nice areas for pet walks.
Jul 11, 2015
Very clean, very close to Asheville, staff friendly, campsite great
Jul 09, 2015
The sites are ok, but lanes to get to your site and away are too narrow. Also highway noise is a big factor.
Jul 09, 2015
The hosts were great, the site was good, the location was good (proximity to I-40). Our only 'complaint' would be the noise from I-40.
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 09, 2015
Clean bathrooms and showers. Can hear highway noise, but didn't affect sleeping, like white noise.
Jul 08, 2015
Very friendly staff. Nice facilities. Beautiful woods and landscape. We stayed here over 4th of July weekend. Fireworks display was good. We will be back.
Jul 08, 2015
Clean campground, very friendly and helpful staff.
Jul 08, 2015
our campsite was too small for our camper and truck -
Jul 07, 2015
Fantastic campground. It was smaller and just so neat. They had a scavenger hunt for our kids then a water balloon toss. Our children had such a good time. We also took advantage of all the trails, wonderful trails to hike around. When we visit Asheville, we will definitely be coming here again.
Jul 07, 2015
Traffic noise from I-40 was extremely loud.
Jul 07, 2015
We were in a 34' towing a jeep. We had a pull thru and tried to get satellite but settled on cable and it was great. It was quiet, clean, and all utilities worked perfectly. We are staying here again in a few days, and are looking forward to it
Jul 06, 2015
Everything went well. The pool was a big factor in our choice. Staff was great. Only thought is to cut back tree limbs from the roadways. I had to back out to avoid some down the second row.
Jul 06, 2015
Very nice, small campground and very pleasant staff.
Jul 05, 2015
Jul 05, 2015
Beautiful place. The sites on the other side of the valley were the best. Clean place, nice facilities. Definite winner.
Jul 03, 2015
We really liked staying there...may try to visit again...
Jul 02, 2015
Had a great time. All of the folks were very friendly. The only negative I have is the traffic at all hours of the day and night.
Jul 01, 2015
Great campground. Easy check-in. Good cable and Wi-Fi.
Jul 01, 2015
Nice and small. Highway noise wasn't bad like I thought it would be from our site (close to office) lower sites by road were loud.
Jul 01, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
This KOA was not what I thought KOA campgrounds are supposed to be. The owner-the lady- was not very friendly or pleasant, the road noise was horrendous, and there was a smell of urine all over the upper loop of the campground both mornings we were there. The only positive was the older gentleman that serves as night watchman on the weekends. He was very kind and helpful.
Jun 29, 2015
People were super nice and everything was clean. Was disappointed in the campsite. Would have been nice to have a cement pad.
Jun 29, 2015
RV sites need some upgrades
Jun 29, 2015
Asheville West is a great place to stay short term. It was a bit noisy due to nearby I40 traffic. The pool was clean and refreshing and the staff was friendly.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 28, 2015
Campground was nice and clean. The staff was friendly. Liked the many walking trails. The pool was nice and had umbrellas and plenty of chairs. The only downside would be the traffic noise coming from the Interstate which is less than 100 yards away through the trees. But it isn't like that can be corrected.
Jun 27, 2015
Site 26 was perfect for us, and we were able to extend our stay with no problem. Of the 11 campgrounds, 6 of which were KOA's, on this trip, this was the best.
Jun 26, 2015
office closes to early we got there at 4:45 and the office closes at5:00
Jun 26, 2015
My family and I really enjoyed the campground and facilities. The staff was super friendly as well. High marks.
Jun 24, 2015
Many large tree limbs over roadways scraped the top of the coach. Loud noise from I-40; so bad sleep was impossible.
Jun 23, 2015
Full pull thru sites were not very well maintained and very small.
Jun 22, 2015
Vey nice
Jun 20, 2015
This was a very small KOA. Absolutely no privacy or yard like area. Our camper barely fit the sites were so tiny leaving us no where to park our large truck. The staff however, was very kind and helpful. The pool area was nice as were the restrooms.
Jun 20, 2015
We were just traveling through from HHI to home & this was a half way point.
Jun 20, 2015
Great campground,easy access and departure. Very friendly staff. Beautiful setting with nice trees. Slightly bothered by some traffic from interstate, but overall a great park. We camped in a class A with a tow.
Jun 19, 2015
Our. KOA greeter, Heather, was so helpful. She informed us of the local attractions and gave us the very best directions. Her bubbly personality was contagious. A great KOA!
Jun 19, 2015
Jun 18, 2015
Friendly, helpful staff. The grounds are very well kept.
Jun 18, 2015
Delightful staff. Heavy traffic noise
Jun 18, 2015
Great facility overall. Staff wonderful too. Clean, pleasant and all one can expect except constant highway & truck noise in nearby distance.
Jun 18, 2015
Just that concrete pads would be very nice.
Jun 17, 2015
Stayed in the back section. Sites were not level, and very close together. Worried fire rings too close to next camper might damage them. It's right next to major interstate so very noisy. Overall campground was well-maintained and clean, people were very courteous.
Jun 16, 2015
the people were very friendly. The only sour note was the proximity to the freeway and the traffic noise. i know this is unavoidable, but never the less we were happy with our stay.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals