Asheville West KOA

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Oct 20, 2013
no one maintained the quiet hours. Fire pit was too close lots very narrow. lots not paved terrible road noise
Oct 19, 2013
Oct 19, 2013
tight spot to back fifth wheel limited space for vehicle to park. sites level with shade good wooded buffer from traffic noise nice layout , friendly helpful staff
Oct 19, 2013
Just ok, small sites, bad hook-ups location, to close to freeway verry noicey. Only good thing was the location.
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Check in was friendly and efficient. Request to be next to friends honored.Host and hostess very friendly. Had beignes and coffee on saturday and ice cream saturday night. Nice fire in pavillion. Stay was very nice.
Oct 15, 2013
Staff was very friendly & informative. Facilities were clean & accessible. Our stay was great & relaxing. We will return again.
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
I had a great time at this KOA. I have stayed there several times a and I have never had a bad experience.
Oct 13, 2013
Have stopped here many times in the past and like it very much. Clean showeres and rest rooms and friendly folks at the desk.
Oct 12, 2013
Oct 09, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
We stayed on the back camping area near the tower. (We had 7 motorcycles with campers) The spot was shady and the bathhouse was very clean. The camping spots need some work. Ours was washed out from all the summer rain, lots of clay. other sites that our friends were on fairly level spots, but the KOA built up the sites to level them, but they need much more work.
Oct 08, 2013
Although the sites were very clean and level, the proximity to I40 made for a very noisy stay.
Oct 07, 2013
We have stayed here several times. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restrooms/showers are nice. We like the many nearby attractions and love beong in the mountains. The only negative is that it is very close to I40 and there is a lot of traffic noise at some sites.
Oct 07, 2013
Pull-though sites very nice, Very friendly staff, breakfast Sat morning. Not located handily to places to eat outside campground (10 mi) but Moose Cafe worth the trip.
Oct 07, 2013
My biggest complaint and the reason for the low rating was the excessive noise from motorcycles in the campground. The loud bikes continued to make extreme noise well past midnight on both nights we stayed. I was on a motorcycle myself, but mine is quiet and legal (by sound law standards). I understand your KOA does cater to motorcyclists, but this KOA desperately needs to develop an effective str
Oct 07, 2013
Everyone was courteous and friendly,restrooms clean,roads werea a little rough with gravel for motorcycles, a few potholes
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 07, 2013
Advertised cable tv, but only available for full hookups. Noise level from 12 midnight to 4am on 10/4 unacceptable due to loud motorcycles. Promised to correct problem 10/5 but 2:30am noise level due to loud motorcycles once again unacceptable. There seems to be a chronic problem with KOA emergency after hour telephone numbers in that no one will answer these numbers.
Oct 06, 2013
Very clean and neat facility. The staff was very friendly and helpful. great KOA to stay at when visiting Ashville and the surrounding area.
Oct 05, 2013
The reception was very pleasant and they were nice to work with as I was delayed by a vehicle problem. Jennifer worked to slip the reservation one night and help me out greatly. I appreciate the extra effort to help me very much.
Oct 02, 2013
I enjoyed my stay here. I might mention the proximity to a cell tower to others who might be concerned by that, but in general I enjoyed my stay and would not shy away from camping here again. This was my first time at a KOA.
Oct 01, 2013
Every thing was great, thanks.
Sep 30, 2013
Very clean & quiet.Excellent laundry facility. Very helpful& friendly host.
Sep 30, 2013
Great KOA, nice people, good location
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 30, 2013
Everything was great except it is so close to the highway that the truck noise is loud.
Sep 29, 2013
Very scenic and clean!!
Sep 27, 2013
Kind of muddy when it rains
Sep 27, 2013
Sep 25, 2013
Sep 25, 2013
Sep 24, 2013
Easy access. Friendly staff. Pretty setting!
Sep 24, 2013
Owner and helpers were sooooo helpful and courteous, campground clean, shaded, very nice. Not too many amenities except clean showers, laundry, store, pool (closed) but they made up for it in service!I would definitely recommend them!!!!!
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 23, 2013
We enjoyed our weekend camping with three of our children and their families. Each had their own rig and we all had great sites. This was our second visit to this campground and hope to return soon.
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 23, 2013
I think the property is awesome, but they chose to split it up and it makes the low rent folks feel like second class citizens. Do the up the hill people ever come down the hill...? Wonder why? Anyway, down the hill needs more lighting...it gets very dark out there.
Sep 23, 2013
Excellent KOA! Owner fixes beignets from 8-10 AM, ice cream was served in the afternoon. Pull through sites are a little short but adequate. Rest rooms are very clean. Really beautiful setting.
Sep 23, 2013
Trees need triming throughout, but especially the entrance road. Can be tight turn for some of the sites by cabin parking.
Sep 23, 2013
Site was much smaller than stated in TL. Not well maintained. Restroom was dirty.
Sep 21, 2013
Sep 21, 2013
Need more trash cans in the park close to the sites
Sep 20, 2013
Very nice. Nice hosts. A little noise from the highway.
Sep 17, 2013
We were greeted warmly and offered help with anything that came up during our stay.
Sep 17, 2013
No stone on parking pads. Just dirt that gets in your RV. Cats roaming the park. Needs property maintenance.
Sep 17, 2013
The Campground was very nice, the only issue I found was the highway noise.
Sep 17, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.