Asheville West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

Email

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Apr 04, 2017
We checked in after hours but the instructions were easy and we were pleased with how clean everything was

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so happy you got to stay with us! We hope to see you all again in the future so you can do some more exploring of the area! And thank you for the thumbs up! :) Happy Kamping!
Apr 03, 2017
Spent a great week in Asheville; this KOA is only about 15 miles away from downtown. We would definitely stay there again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We enjoyed having you with us and can't wait to see you all again! As always, Happy Kamping! :)
Apr 03, 2017
It was Noisey

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that you were bothered by the highway. Our campground, like most KOA campgrounds are located close to the highway for the convenience of an easy on and off access. Unfortunately, with that convenience comes some highway noise. We hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable!
Apr 02, 2017
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Clean open campground with plenty of shade. Hiking trails and playground are well kept. Really enjoyed our stay. Only small downside was the highway is a noise concern. But that cannot be helped.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us! We truly enjoyed your visit! :) Happy Kamping!
Apr 02, 2017
Place to put trash not obvious

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us! We are happy your visited the area. For future, we do provide a trash pick up at each site every morning. I'm sorry that we missed you! Our dumpster is located on the way out of the park, but it is screened so as to not be an eye sore.
Apr 01, 2017
Loved our stay there

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We loved having you with us! Hope to see you again!
Mar 31, 2017
Mar 31, 2017
only bad thing is very noisey freeway feet away, place is wonderfully kept up otherwise. great front desk also

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you very much for your stay. We enjoyed having you here with us! We are sorry that you were bothered by the highway. Like most KOA campgrounds, we are conveniently located for easy off and on access to the highway.
Mar 30, 2017
Great hideaway, only downside is interstate noise but with a little imagination it is a running river with a waterfall.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We love the positive imagery there! We truly enjoyed having you all with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Happy Kamping!
Mar 30, 2017
Convenient location, clean (and warm!) bathrooms. Wifi needs work.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We were happy to have you here. Just an up date... we are working on a solution for wi-fi in the are you were in. We are needing a series of repeaters that will work in the different elevations and terrain we are challenged with. Stay tuned!
Mar 29, 2017
Thanks for a good-performing WiFi network. Most are terrible. Special thanks to KOA West Asheville for accommodating our need to extend our stay, and Kudos to Custom Exhaust & Brake in Asheville for working our truck into their schedule. We're here an extra day due to a broken brake line in our truck! It's more than interesting to lose the front brakes on a 7,300 pound truck after emerge

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the thumbs up! We were happy to be able to help you out. Broken brake lines are nothing to mess with! Glad all is fixed and everyone is okay. We hope to see you again in the future only this time with no repair needs. We enjoyed your stay with us while you were here!
Mar 27, 2017
Mar 27, 2017
Thank you

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You are very welcome! We enjoyed your stay with us!
Mar 25, 2017
Just stayed for a night, but beautiful setting!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are happy you chose to stay the night with us! Safe travels!
Mar 23, 2017
enjoyed walking the trails

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for coming to stay with us! We are so glad that you enjoyed the trails! We have been putting in many hours to make them a great experience. Thank you for testing them out!
Mar 21, 2017
Mar 08, 2017
doing lots of remodeling but still accomadating

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us! Yes, we are doing our best to update and remodel on our off season. Thank you for your understanding and cooperation as we get this work done. Happy Kamping!
Mar 08, 2017
Easy to access. We stayed 1 night on our way to Florida. Very nice staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We enjoyed your overnight stay with us! Thank you for stopping by! Hope to see you again soon!
Mar 07, 2017
Great staff and location in proximity to Asheville but close to highway so you do hear traffic. That's the only complaint was being able to hear rt40, but if you not a light sleeper it's a perfect spot

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are happy that you got to take advantage of the ease of getting to and from Asheville and the surrounding attractions from our campground! We hope to get a chance to see you all again! Happy Kapming!
Mar 04, 2017
Too close to interstate- somewhat noisy

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We enjoyed having you visit. Yes, like most KOA campgrounds, we are located close to the interstate for easy on and off access for our guests and their RVs. Unfortunately, some highway noise comes with that convenience.
Mar 01, 2017
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Will stay there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We loved having you stay with us! Can't wait till we get to visit with you again! Happy Kamping!
Feb 28, 2017
Way to close to I-40 hard to sleep! sites are small unleveled. There was dog poop on are site I have no pets but have to put up with them any way. Will not stay here again!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Like most KOA campgrounds we are located near a highway for easy on and off access. Unfortunately highway noise is part of that convenience. We also strive to make our sites comfortable for all guests. We ask that they let us know of issues right away so that we can take care of it immediately.
Feb 10, 2017
Had a wonderful short stay. Is near the highway which we didn't mind and really great little hiking trails we took our family with two dogs on. Staff was incredibly friendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your stay! We sure did enjoy your visit with us! Looking forward to seeing you again in the future!
Jan 27, 2017
Convenient off the highway campground with pretty views and very nice showers.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for stopping by. We enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Jan 24, 2017
Jan 06, 2017
Very quiet weekend, not a lot of activity in the campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for sharing your New Year's with us! Hope to see you again soon!
Jan 06, 2017
Tidy flat sites, helpful staff, usual KOA quality.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for stopping by!
Jan 03, 2017
Jan 03, 2017
Nice people and a beautiful campsite.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for stopping by!
Jan 03, 2017
Jan 02, 2017
Nice campground and very friendly staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so happy you chose to spend part of your holiday with us! We enjoyed your visit! Happy New Year!
Jan 02, 2017
Clean and sites nicely laid out. Staff very nice and helpful. Didn't use facilities this trip.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for coming to stay with us! Hope you all have a fantastic New Year! See you next time!
Jan 02, 2017
Clean and sites nicely laid out. Clean, comfortable restrooms and showers. Showers private with benches and hooks to hang things up. Staff very nice and helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing to spend your New Year's Eve with us and ring in the new year! We enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we get to see you again! Happy Travels!
Dec 31, 2016
It was a great stay. We've stayed here every Christmas for four years! The bathrooms & showers are always spotless, which is huge for me. The staff is always very accomodating. Would very much recommend this campground to anyone.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It was so nice to see you all again! Thank you for continuing to share your Holiday with us. Hope you have a wonderful New Year and we will see you next time!
Dec 31, 2016
Beautiful campground with great sites. We just overnighted but the site was wonderful. The power went out and we had to run our generator. It came back on about an hour later but we decided to go with the generator since it was so cold and we didn't want to take the chance on it going out again. Made reservation same day and arrived late. They had a map and all of our info waiting for us.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to see you again in the future! Perhaps this next time the wind wont be bad and knock the power out for the area. :) Hope you have a wonderful New Year full of great travels!
Dec 30, 2016
Nice campground. Ubfortunitly, due to a breakdown, we arrived late and could not take advantage of all the amenities.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry that you had a break down, but happy everyone is okay! We enjoyed the time you did get to spend with us though. Hope to see you again in the future and this time with no breakdowns!
Dec 26, 2016
Staff was friendly, showers and bathroom were very clean, loved having access to laundry, recycling, and the game room. Beautiful, well maintained property. I can't wait to come back!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing to spend part of your holiday with us! We loved having you here and we are looking forward to seeing you next time!
Dec 22, 2016
Host's were friendly and helpful. So we're the workers we met. A truck stop below the sites made for a little noise but nothing too disturbing. Sites were good. Small KOA, but easy on/off freeway.
Dec 20, 2016
Dec 19, 2016
Our stay was out of season so we pretty much had the place to ourselves. The staff were fantastic and nice as can be. Everything was clean and great location to get to all attractions.
Dec 13, 2016
Dec 12, 2016
Great place. Easy off the highway.
Dec 04, 2016
Very courteous staff. The campground was very nice.
Dec 04, 2016
Clean, simple, easy access from the expressway, we stopped here on our drive back from Florida, sites were level so I didn't have to unhook.
Dec 02, 2016
Great stop over. It was off season and very empty but staff friendly and grounds clean. Looks like pool was nice.
Dec 01, 2016
Very nice park beautiful views of the mountains. Clean and tidy.
Nov 29, 2016
It is a very rundown park. The owners stated that they were doing a great amount of work but I couldn't see it except for the new cabins which does absolutely nothing for RV travelers. The traffic noise is horrendous and the smell from the paper mill makes it a must miss park.
Nov 29, 2016
Nov 29, 2016
We were assigned a site that was not big enough for our camper. We were not able to back it in straight because it was sticking out in the road. We were in between 2 trees so it was either put our slide out out or our canopy, we were not able to put both out. There was no cable and the wifi was extremely slow. We had two dogs and the only post that had clean up bags was the one at the front office
Nov 28, 2016
Campsites were very close. Overall very nice and helpful staff.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals