Asheville West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

Email

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 02, 2016
Clean, well managed. RV backin sites are rather short. Pull thru sites and cabins are squeezed together, lacking space & privacy. But low price reflects these shortcomings. Interstate noise, as mentioned in other reviews, was loud.
Aug 01, 2016
Loved the campground however the noise from the interstate hwy was very loud at our site.
Jul 31, 2016
Very nice campground, clean bath house and friendly staff. Since the campground is close to I40, we could hear the traffic from the highway.
Jul 31, 2016
We loved our stay. The grounds and bathrooms are all well kept. The only downside was that our campsite did nit have any level space for our tent.
Jul 31, 2016
Quick overnight on the way to Gatlinburg. Camp is average.
Jul 31, 2016
Our stay was just one night. The staff we encountered were friendly but we were slightly disappointed in our site due to an old, broken picnic table and no fire ring/fire pit. Camp store did not impress; eggs in the refrigerator were a day old...
Jul 30, 2016
Excellent campground. Extremely clean bathrooms, very clean pool, very friendly people.
Jul 29, 2016
Heather was wonderful!
Jul 29, 2016
Friendly hosts and pretty spot.
Jul 29, 2016
I always hate to give less than favorable ratings....but this one just did not seem to match up to our usual KOA experience. Roads to sites were horrible. So rough our fridge and freezer doors flew open. Sites were also just barely long enough for our big rig and tow vehicle. It would be fine for smaller campers or motorhomes, but isn't too big rig friendly.
Jul 29, 2016
Likes: Clean and well maintained facilities. Nice partially shaded site with good room for our pop up and a tent. Campground wasn't full and it often felt like we had bathrooms to ourselves. Dislike: Road noise from nearby highways and truck stop just over the bank from our site.
Jul 29, 2016
Nice enough campground, decent amenities, but the road noise is pretty bad. Have to run the A/C to drown it out. Otherwise, it has some nice view sites and decent sized.
Jul 28, 2016
Clean campground. Pull through sites are nice and there are some trees. The water/electric only sites are small and on a hill. Nice pool and friendly staff.
Jul 27, 2016
I loved my experience at Asheville West KOA. Heather and Paul were professional and helped camper with helpful hints. Thank u. You are a Great KOA char
Jul 26, 2016
Great place to spend the 4th of July ... beautiful surroundings ... awesome staff/mgmt ... can't wait to return.
Jul 26, 2016
Site B6. Over built so with rear entry door, had a long drop off and was on an angle. Noise from Interstate was LOUD, to say the least. No WIFI at site. Otherwise KOA was nice and staff was really nice. The Site buildup, noise and no WIFI on the "B" sites lend this KOA to a middle rating.
Jul 26, 2016
Location very loud next to interstate, entry very unsafe in curve. Quiet hours not observed and no employees to be found after 8:30ish. Any camper or RV over 10 feet will get scratched..trees hang down into campground roads. Gameroom is a room with boardgames and none of them complete enough to play. 2 pet walks listed on map yet are nonexistant. Pond is sad!! Grounds were at least clean!!
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Very clean bathrooms and trash is being picked up regularly and the pool simply gorgeous. Thank you for letting us stay.
Jul 25, 2016
Location is wonderful and easy to find! Bathrooms were extremely clean and the employees were very friendly and helpful!! Would stay here again!
Jul 24, 2016
Jul 24, 2016
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 24, 2016
Great time for the whole family! Clean facilities. Lots of good trails to hike for the kids. Playground could have been a little nicer but other than that, it was perfect!
Jul 24, 2016
Friendly people but the Wi-Fi didn't work where we were parked and very narrow road to try and pull around.
Jul 23, 2016
Jul 23, 2016
First we stayed here in a class A motorhome. The positives were utilities were excellent. The negative, trees needed trimming badly but the worst was they allowed a tractor trailer to rent a site and it didn't fit the site making departure from site 23 a nightmare. They knew the truck and trailer didn't fit but chose to do nothing to rectify the situation.
Jul 22, 2016
Peaceful and nice. Cd b bigger campsites but not necessarily
Jul 21, 2016
Playground too far away and inadequate. No parking. And boring.To close to Interstate (Noisy). Store closes at 5PM way to early. Pool was very nice.
Jul 20, 2016
showers amazing and a good spot to travel from to and fro.
Jul 19, 2016
The people in the office couldn't have been nicer,the site was level, wooded and well spaced, however the interstate noise was excessive.
Jul 19, 2016
Once again came in late. Your associate was just getting into her car and leaving about 10:40 pm. She got out of her car, helped me register, showed us to our site and got out of her car and backed me in with a flashlight. Now that was service with a BIG Smile!!!
Jul 18, 2016
The showers stalls were great! The lack of camping kitchen for use during the rain and getting scolded for using the only shelter b/c of the rain was not.
Jul 18, 2016
The staff is super friendly! Camp ground is clean and well maintained. The pool was clean with a lot of chairs and umbrellas for shade. Picnic pavilion with large grill for gathering was impressive. Cabins are cute if you are not camping. Wi-Fi worked throughout the entire campground. Will be back!
Jul 17, 2016
Very clean and friendly Koa staff. Go for the pull thrus named F1 and up, you are near the main building, the pool and the kabins common outside kitchen, very useful. Near the highway, so not difficult to find and reasonable distance to Asheville attractions.
Jul 17, 2016
Too close to the road
Jul 17, 2016
Everyone was really nice. The campsites are quite small. I did scope out some of the bigger ones while walking around for next trip though. Highway noise isn't bad over the crickets.
Jul 16, 2016
4 stars for cleanliness and extreamly nice and helpful staff very small sites and the busy highway is much too close.
Jul 16, 2016
The campground layout is awesome, as are the sites. The negatives.... Horrendous road noise from I40, and Glacially slow internet.
Jul 16, 2016
Very helpful staff. Nice sites.
Jul 15, 2016
Nice clean pool. Nice bathrooms & shower rooms in office building. Lower sites are nicer & more convenient.
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 14, 2016
Wifi was not reliable. Needs stronger signal. Clean updated restrooms, some road noise but overall quite acceptable.
Jul 14, 2016
Hard to see sign that points to entrance. If you miss the entrance it is a very small road. Did not have ammenities like other KOA's.
Jul 14, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
Campsites are close together, but it's a convenient stop outside Asheville. I think for an overnight it's okay, maybe two nights. The highway behind the campground can be loud at night. It's clean and the hosts are friendly and helpful.
Jul 12, 2016
Beautiful treed large sites. Very helpful staff. Altogether very pleasant. We will return.
Jul 11, 2016
The facilities are clean and well maintained. The staff are fantastic. The site is overall quiet but there is some noise from the adjacent truck stop and interstate. Great location for access to Ashville and Pisgau National Forest. I26 can get slow due to traffic.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 10, 2016
It felt closer to a state park than most KOAs we have encountered. Staff friendly. Washrooms clean.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy