Asheville West KOA

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Sep 13, 2014
It's too bad this KOA is so close to hwy 40.. There is truck noise all the time with them hitting their exhaust brakes. The campground an staff are very nice.
Sep 12, 2014
Nice KOA . Was very quiet when we were there (mid September).
Sep 12, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Very friendly staff, helpful in exploring area points of interest.
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 08, 2014
Arrived 10 min after registration closed but site envelope was easily found, contained detailed information on Park and excellent directions to our site. Setup was easy on the wide and level site. Nice store and very friendly staff. A must stay place for anything Asheville.
Sep 07, 2014
we had someone come up to a scam site it was not staying at the campground and started using abusive language to my wife and other campers at campgroundyou need better security at this campground
Sep 06, 2014
Only problem was that it had rained, and the camp site needed more gravel to keep down the mud. Others had mentioned road noise, but we did not hear it at all. nice people and very hel[ful
Sep 04, 2014
This park is nice,and the owners keep it in good shape. Just a couple of things that they can't control, one problem being, traffic noise from I-40 at night. The other is people not cleaning up after their dogs. Most did, but a couple didn't. We did have a good stay here.
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
Very convenient to Asheville and family there. The sites were a little crowded together (not much space to sit around a campfire) but the facility was clean and well kept.
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Staff were great and very helpful. Camp sites are too close together and were not well groomed. Restrooms were very clean. Due to the closeness of the camp sites on each side, I would probably not stay at this KOA again. Plus due to the site grooming. Too much dirt which turned into mud when it rained. Little to no grass at campsite.
Sep 02, 2014
We enjoyed our 3 day stay at Asheville West KOA with the exception of the 24 hour highway noise from Interstate 40. We realize there is nothing you can do about that. The campground was enjoyable with level sites, very well kept amenities and a friendly staff.
Sep 02, 2014
campground needs LOTS of work. We were situated down a hill far away from the pool, gameroom etc. The road had potholes that needed filling, one showerhead leaked badly, table was all green with mold and spongy, doors on bathroom stalls didn't lock well. These are all basic maintenance issues that need to be constantly checked. Located right off the highway and yes, you can hear traffic all nite
Aug 31, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 24, 2014
The closeness to Asheville was good. The staff was most helpful with questions regarding the area. Tickets to Biltmore Estate were sold at the campground which saved time in line.
Aug 24, 2014
Could use some tree trimming. Staff very nice and always enjoy our stay
Aug 22, 2014
KOA West, very nice 6 nights stay. Will be back & recommend to others. Easy access as stated. Very friendly & caring owners!
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I will definitely be back!
Aug 19, 2014
Clean restrooms. Grounds cared for. Pool very clean. Staff friendly and helpful.
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
Only stayed 1night but it was a nice stay. The people in the office were very friendly and really liked the fact they took you to your campsite! It was bad weather so we really didn't get to enjoy the playground or doggie park for very long!!!
Aug 19, 2014
Quiet, peaceful, clean.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
The friendly staff at this KOA definitely makes you feel at home and part of the family. A most memorable camping experience in a beautiful, well maintained park.
Aug 14, 2014
The KOA owners were great even had an ice-cream social. But the WIFI and TV were not so great traveling with 2 teen-agers / not a good thing.
Aug 13, 2014
The campground itself was my biggest complaint...it is very noisy in the upper section due to being located adjacent to a major interstate highway. Traffic noise was at times unbearable.
Aug 13, 2014
Besides the staff at check in, I would not give any good referrals on the camp area we were in. There was little to no gravel on the site and it was literally a mud hole. The staff had to know that the site I was placed in was a washout area and knew rain was in the forecast. We have stayed in koa campgrounds for 5 of the nights of our 9 day trip and by far this was the worst experience of any.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
We've stayed here before and came back. Nice folks, clean place, convenient to the Blue Ridge Pkwy and Asheville. I'll be back.
Aug 09, 2014
The interstate noise was terrible. There was Dog excrement all over our camp site. They have only one Deluxe patio site, and all of the other sites are cramped. Not of the sites are level. The smell of the paper mill and the amount of bugs made us leave a day early on our Two day stay. We will not be back. The staff was friendly. The campground sucked.
Aug 08, 2014
It was ok. Roads are not marked for travel out and in. Had to drive through another site to get out. Campers were not insites but hanging out in the road.
Aug 06, 2014
The staff was polite and very helpful in answering all our questions about the KOA and the area around Asheville. The camp was clean and well laid out for entering and exiting. The laundry met our needs.
Aug 05, 2014
The owners are very friendly and care about their campers. Bath facilities were very nice and always clean. Showers have great water pressure and are hot. This campground would appeal to an older crowd. The campground is not as kid centered as most KOA's. It seems to be a work in progress. The road noise from the interstate is pretty loud and is more noticeable at night. Very distracting.
Aug 05, 2014
This campground is in a beautiful, scenic area but backs up to the interstate highway and all of the noise of the never-ending traffic. We opened our windows to enjoy the fresh, cool mountain air but had to listen to the traffic noise.
Aug 05, 2014
very helpful staff n ice layout of spaces
Aug 04, 2014
Thank you. Very nicely maintained, quiet park. Nice hosts as well.
Aug 04, 2014
Very enjoyable stay and we will come back to this site when we return to the area.
Aug 04, 2014
Friendly staff. Clean and shady.
Aug 03, 2014
Very helpful and friendly staff (pointing out several additional places of interest when they learned we had seen the Biltmore on prior visits) Enjoyed hiking the hilly terrain and the delicious beignets (French doughnuts) for breakfast before we left on Saturday
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Heather, and other staff are very friendly! This KOA is relaxing, and laid back in comparison with most campgrounds.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.