Asheville West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

Email

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

May 09, 2017
Campsite B14 is horrible to tent camp in when it is raining, and it was raining the whole time we were there. The place to put up the tent is lower than the rest of the sirt

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for choosing us to stay with on your weekend here in the area. We are so sorry it rained. we know that kinda stinks when you are camping. Please, stay tuned, because we do have some upgrades planned for the future for these sites. We are sorry you had an issue with yours...
May 08, 2017
The owners of this KOA care about their customers. Very helpful with local questions, printed tickets for us, helped us find RV parts. Bathrooms were spotless.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We truly enjoyed visiting with you and hope that we get to see you all again in the future! We just love to meet new people and hear what they are up to and all about their travels! Best wishes and safe travels! :)
May 08, 2017
May 08, 2017
This would be more of a stop over koa the best that we could tell. It would be nice for late arrival to have escort by golf cart to camp site's .this is always helpful to us. We weren't the only ones to drive around several times not very many lights. But we love KOA camping

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for visiting with us! We are very sorry that you didn't have an escort after hours. During our main season, we do have extra help to do that for our guests, right now we are working with a smaller staff. Hopefully we will get to help you out in the future! Happy Kamping! :)
May 08, 2017
Ran out of hot water. Nice to have all the needed info in an envelope...we arrived after closing. Nice to have heaters in the shower area

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us this last visit! You happened to get a very cold and wet weekend that was for sure. I'm sorry that you ran out of hot water, that is very unusual, but not surprising since it was so cold and we were a very full park. We will have to look into another water tank. :)
May 07, 2017
Nice people and campground. Our site was near the office area and it was quite. Would not like being on the back row as 1-40 noise would be bad. Would recommend they put up noise barriers for interstate noise.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for coming to stay with us! We did enjoy visiting with you. We are sorry that you were bothered by the highway noise. Unfortunately, we have looked into barriers and were told by engineers that it would not fix the problem due to our mountain terrain. We did try and will continue!
May 06, 2017
Loud road noise

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We would like to thank you for staying with us! And as always, welcome you back. We are sorry you were bothered by the highway noise. We are located where we are for the convenience of guests for easy on and off access and close to area attractions. This is a feature that many KOAs are known for.
May 04, 2017
We stopped here for an overnight stay on the way to our final destination. The campground was adequate and the hosts very friendly. The interstate noise was very loud, but it was very convenient to the highway.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

As always, we thank you for your over night stay with us! :) Wish we could have had more time to visit, but hope that we will get to see you again in the future! We are very sorry, however, you were bothered by the highway noise...that is part of the convenience of being close to everything.
May 03, 2017
May 02, 2017
Great place and friendly people.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing our campground for your stay in this beautiful area of WNC! We enjoy your stay and loved getting to visit with you! We hope that if you are ever in the Asheville area again, that you come say "Hi!" We would enjoy seeing you all again! Happy Kamping!
May 02, 2017
Friendly staff; close, extra nice rest rooms. The store had ice cream. Very close to Ashville and Blue Ridge Parkway.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so very happy that you got to visit with us! We are happy that you were able to see the sites and experience the area while you were here! AND...thank you, very much, for the thumbs up on our newly renovated bathrooms! :) Hope to see you all the next time you pass through! Safe journey!
Apr 30, 2017
We had a great relaxing time. Everyone was very nice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you got to enjoy your maiden voyage with us! Hope to see you more this camping season. Enjoy your new camper! :)
Apr 28, 2017
Apr 28, 2017
Apr 28, 2017
The staff at KoA Asheville were very polite and professional. The grounds and facilities were well kept and very clean. Thank you!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We always love to visit with our guests and we appreciate the thumbs up! Can't wait to chat again when next you get to pass through the area! :) Happy Kamping!
Apr 27, 2017
A decent overnight stop. Looks like they were working to improve the overall campground. Just didn't care for the layout.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for choosing us as your overnight stay! We really do care about our guests and the campground. We do our very best to constantly work on improvements as you witnessed. We are sorry you didn't like the lay out of the campground. Unfortunately, there is a limit to exactly all we can fix.
Apr 26, 2017
The campground needs a little tlc. We stayed for 3 night. It rained all three nights causing the site to be very muddy and the roads developed ruts. The owners did grade them but they need gravel. Not much going on this early in the season so we found it a little dull. The highway noise was not pleasant. Unfortunately that is out of the owners control.i have stayed at a lot better koa.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are happy you chose to stay with us! So sorry that it rained though, not much we can do about that. If you remember at check in, we did tell you we put down over 800 tons of road bond on our road this past year. We do care about our campground and our guests. It is a constant work in progress.
Apr 25, 2017
Everything went ok. Walking trail is very nice, kids enjoyed the playground. Place was decently clean, staff was nice and helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We enjoyed your stay with us too! We are glad you got to take advantage of our hiking trails. We love to walk them too! Looking forward to visiting with you again real soon! :)
Apr 24, 2017
Bath houses were awesome. Very friendly staff. I will return!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for coming to stay with us! We totally enjoyed visiting with you. :) We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our bath houses. It is always nice to hear positive. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Happy and safe travels!
Apr 23, 2017
Easy and friendly check in,level site, good stay. Convenient to attractions in Smokey Mt area.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the thumbs up! We are always happy to see our guests and visit with everyone! We enjoyed your stay. Don't forget there are plenty more things to see in the area! See you next time!
Apr 23, 2017
It's was okay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for staying with us on your family outing! We enjoyed visiting with you. Remember that we strive to make each stay a GREAT one. We are constantly working on improvements. So if something was not right, we ask that you tell us immediately so that if it is within our power, we can fix it
Apr 22, 2017
Great location, great staff too!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We loved getting to visit with you while you were here with us! Thank you for stopping by! :) Safe and wonderful travels to you. We hope to see you again real soon!
Apr 21, 2017
This was possibly worst Campground we have stayed in,bags of trash laying on sure when we arrived still there when we left the next day at 11:00,picnic table was unusable due to the fact the only room to set it was on a hill,road was washed out campsite was very muddy and almost couldn't unhook our 5th wheel because of angle from site to road was a drop-off,site too small for rig
Apr 20, 2017
The site wasn't very level and they stated on their blurb that they had wifi on the site we booked when we got there they said that you had to go to the office for wifi. Poor as we chose this campground because of the wifi

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are very sorry that you had trouble with our Wi-Fi. We did also let you know when registering, that we are working on repairs to our wi-fi due to a direct lightning hit. We are doing our best to upgrade as well as repair our wi-fi to make it available to all our guests. It is an ongoing process.
Apr 19, 2017
The staff is very friendly. The back in sites are level but narrow, could be an ankle bender when you step out your door. Having cable was great, WiFi never connected. Toilet and showers were well kept. Branches need to be trimmed along roadways and in sites.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for staying with us! We would like to let you know that we do have plans to renovate and enlarge the sites you were in. Hopefully in the future, they will be done for another visit. We are always trying to improve on the park and it,like most things, is an ongoing process.
Apr 18, 2017
The staff at KOA were very friendly and accommodating to us. I thought I had booked a stay with sewer, but It was my mistake & they still offered a site with sewer hook ups. Very friendly & helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We loved having you stay with us and can't wait to spend more time with you in the future! As always, we wish you Happy Kamping!
Apr 18, 2017
GREAT PEOPLE, GREAT CAMPERS,JUST A GREAT PLACE

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the GREAT CHEER! Happy Kampers are our aim! We look forward to seeing you all again for another GREAT VISIT! Safe and wonderful travels!
Apr 17, 2017
in the mountains,which is a good thing.clean facilities,suggested grab bars for the showers.go back in a heartbeat.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We loved your stay with us! Wish it could have been longer. Hope we get to see you the next time you pass through! Happy Kamping!
Apr 17, 2017
Great Campsite and Fantastic Staff! Incredibly accommodating. Only flaw is the truck stop below the property and occasional road noise.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and enjoy all the surrounding area has to offer! We would love to have you back! So sorry for the truck stop. Unfortunately, they, just like us are located off the highway for easy access. Sure do wish we could move the campground further away from it all.
Apr 17, 2017
Sites were level for camper setup. They were not very level for the picnic tables or activities on the site. Traffic noise was really really loud. The office folks were cordial but strictly business. Nature trails were good. Campground was just ok. Nothing horrible but nothing terrific.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for your stay with us and enjoyed visiting with you! As always,the campground is a work in progress and we do have plans for new picnic tables and leveling areas. It is our aim to make our campers happy! You matter! We are sorry we could not do anything about the highway noise for you.
Apr 15, 2017
We were only there for one night and with many spots open they gave us the one closest to the freeway so I only slept 4 hours that night. I understand they can't move the freeway but those closest spots should only be given out if the park is full.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you so very much for staying with us! We are very sorry you were bothered by the highway noise. Unfortunately with the large length of your rig and not wanting to unhook, the site that you were placed was the only one we could fit you in, otherwise we would have put you in another site.
Apr 15, 2017
Good location to visit Asheville.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Loved having you with us! Thank you for choosing us as your base camp to see all the sites of the surrounding area and the city of Asheville has to offer! Hope you get to come back and see more of this wonderful area! Happy Kamping!
Apr 15, 2017
Beautifully maintained campgrounds. It's obvious the pride Heather puts into this KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so very much for staying with us! It was a joy to have you here. We enjoyed spending time with you all and we can't wait to see you when you get to pass through the area again! Happy Kamping! :)
Apr 15, 2017
Friendly staff and easy access, but we were but on site F17 and did not sleep for 2 nights highway noise was incredible! It did seem better as you went up the hill.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

As always it is our goal to provide GREAT service to our guests! We are located off I-40 for easy access to travel and area attractions. The noise is a side effect of that. It affects some more than others, so we do supply ear plugs for those who desire them. We hope you will give us another try. :)
Apr 15, 2017
Very clean bathrooms !

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the thumbs up! We enjoyed having you stay with us! Hope to see you again in the future! :)
Apr 14, 2017
Nice staff, beautiful grounds and level camp sites.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We loved having you stay with us! Thank you for coming to visit. We welcome you back any time you can make it back through the area! Happy and safe travels!
Apr 13, 2017
Very convenient

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for staying with us! We are glad you got to enjoy the wonderful things this area has to offer!
Apr 12, 2017
thank you for our stay. it was perfectly what we needed. great staff and amenities!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the future! As always, Happy Kamping! :)
Apr 11, 2017
They were fairly crowded but took my in at last minute. Friendly staff and cery clean campsites. Little on noisy side due to I-40 on backside. I would return on next trip.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are happy that we could accommodate you for your trip to the area! Enjoyed your stay with us and really look forward to visiting with you again soon! Happy Kamping!
Apr 11, 2017
Just ok. Many of the back-in electric sites are barely large enough to back your trailer into. Not enough room for your tow vehicle. Restrooms were very clean. Staff was friendly. Campground was very quiet.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you very much for choosing to stay with us both times you came through the area! :) As always, we try very hard to provide clean and friendly facilities. Our campground is always a work in progress and we are constantly improving here and there. We do have plans for elongating those sites.
Apr 11, 2017
Just ok. Many of the back-in electric sites are barely large enough to back your trailer into. Not enough room for your tow vehicle. Restrooms were very clean. Staff was friendly. Campground was very quiet.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us both times you were here! We enjoyed your visit! We would like to remind people our W/E sites are mainly for tenting and were not designed for campers. However, we have plans for changing that and making those site more accommodating for campers as well as tenting.
Apr 11, 2017
loved it, Nice and quite. Host were excellent. Thanks again will be back soon!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are looking forward to seeing you again and getting to visit with you all some more! Happy Kamping!
Apr 10, 2017
Staff not to helpfull

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We really did enjoy having you with us! We are very sorry that you felt we did not give you our best service. We encourage you to please come back and give us another try. We really do love our guests and want you to be happy!
Apr 10, 2017
Very small spaces

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for staying with us and hope you will come back! We try very hard to accommodate our guests as best we can. On the night you were here, all of our full hook up sites were booked. Since you were in a pinch, we got you into a site long enough for you, but one usually used for smaller rigs
Apr 09, 2017
Although on on the website it said the website it said there was a dog park it is still in the planning stages. There was a large grass area to walk dogs but there was only 1 can for dog waste and the dumpster both of which were located clear up by the road. After a few days of rain we had a washout in front of our site that made it challenging to hook up and rough pulling the camper out.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We would like to thank you for sharing your time with us! We would also like to apologize for the confusion. On our website, we do not advertise a dog park, because it is still being built. We do have dog walk areas on our map with several dispensers around the park. So sorry for your inconvenience
Apr 09, 2017
We pulled in late just for a place to bunk down for the night. We have a 41 foot toy hauler and it was tight getting into our spot. We didn't really check out the grounds. I would not recommend this for bigger rigs.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for staying with us for your over night trip! Our patio site is stated online as being only 40 feet long. We do this to highly caution longer rigs to not go into that particular site. We are very sorry for the confusion on that. We do have other sites that are better suited for big rigs
Apr 07, 2017
It was just Ok. The cable TV was horrible with no local channels. But the campground was undergoing renovations.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

As stated, we are doing improvements on our park. It is a constant effort to make the campground a great one! We are sorry that you had problems with your TV. We pride ourselves in service, so we encourage people to let us know when there is a problem so that we can fix it then, not after the fact.
Apr 07, 2017
Folks were great, nice grounds, loved the Showers! And the laundry was just redone...

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

There is nothing like a nice hot shower to make you feel great! Thank you for staying with us and enjoying the facilities! We hope to see you again in the future. Happy Kamping!
Apr 06, 2017
Very friendly, accommodating staff, clean facilities, and nice sites. The paved patio site worth the extra money. We were there 2 days and could have easily stayed longer. We will return!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We enjoyed having you all with us! Looking forward to next time! Thank you for Sharing your time with us. Happy Kamping!!
Apr 06, 2017
Exceptionally clean and friendly. Enjoyed our visit completely.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your visit with us! It was wonderful to have you with us! Looking forward to seeing you all again in the future!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals