Asheville West KOA

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
The friendly staff at this KOA definitely makes you feel at home and part of the family. A most memorable camping experience in a beautiful, well maintained park.
Aug 14, 2014
The KOA owners were great even had an ice-cream social. But the WIFI and TV were not so great traveling with 2 teen-agers / not a good thing.
Aug 13, 2014
The campground itself was my biggest complaint...it is very noisy in the upper section due to being located adjacent to a major interstate highway. Traffic noise was at times unbearable.
Aug 13, 2014
Besides the staff at check in, I would not give any good referrals on the camp area we were in. There was little to no gravel on the site and it was literally a mud hole. The staff had to know that the site I was placed in was a washout area and knew rain was in the forecast. We have stayed in koa campgrounds for 5 of the nights of our 9 day trip and by far this was the worst experience of any.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
We've stayed here before and came back. Nice folks, clean place, convenient to the Blue Ridge Pkwy and Asheville. I'll be back.
Aug 09, 2014
The interstate noise was terrible. There was Dog excrement all over our camp site. They have only one Deluxe patio site, and all of the other sites are cramped. Not of the sites are level. The smell of the paper mill and the amount of bugs made us leave a day early on our Two day stay. We will not be back. The staff was friendly. The campground sucked.
Aug 08, 2014
It was ok. Roads are not marked for travel out and in. Had to drive through another site to get out. Campers were not insites but hanging out in the road.
Aug 06, 2014
The staff was polite and very helpful in answering all our questions about the KOA and the area around Asheville. The camp was clean and well laid out for entering and exiting. The laundry met our needs.
Aug 05, 2014
The owners are very friendly and care about their campers. Bath facilities were very nice and always clean. Showers have great water pressure and are hot. This campground would appeal to an older crowd. The campground is not as kid centered as most KOA's. It seems to be a work in progress. The road noise from the interstate is pretty loud and is more noticeable at night. Very distracting.
Aug 05, 2014
This campground is in a beautiful, scenic area but backs up to the interstate highway and all of the noise of the never-ending traffic. We opened our windows to enjoy the fresh, cool mountain air but had to listen to the traffic noise.
Aug 05, 2014
very helpful staff n ice layout of spaces
Aug 04, 2014
Thank you. Very nicely maintained, quiet park. Nice hosts as well.
Aug 04, 2014
Very enjoyable stay and we will come back to this site when we return to the area.
Aug 04, 2014
Friendly staff. Clean and shady.
Aug 03, 2014
Very helpful and friendly staff (pointing out several additional places of interest when they learned we had seen the Biltmore on prior visits) Enjoyed hiking the hilly terrain and the delicious beignets (French doughnuts) for breakfast before we left on Saturday
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Heather, and other staff are very friendly! This KOA is relaxing, and laid back in comparison with most campgrounds.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
This was our first time in NC altogether so I'm glad we chose Asheville West KOA. I enjoyed the windy roads and nature of the grounds. The pool was in excellent condition and kids really enjoyed it. The added umbrellas were appreciated for shade too. The views of mountains are incredible! The staff was very helpful and took our needs into account. This is a great KOA! Thanks again.
Jul 28, 2014
Nice, clean campground with friendly staff.
Jul 28, 2014
We wanted somewhere to spend quality family time in a small family reunion kind of way and chose this location because of the beautiful shaded and spacious camp sites, pool (since we had smaller kids-this was important to us) and playground. The staff was exceptionally welcoming and the rates are great. The bath houses are clean and welcoming as well-all around nice campground.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Red dirt everywhere, very little grass, small sites, very tight backing and parking, noisy interstate 40 nearby and truck stop. Great WiFi.
Jul 27, 2014
The owners and staff are wonderful and very accommodating. Camping with them is the best! They are a credit to the KOA organization. Tom Selck, Naples, FL
Jul 27, 2014
Convient location and great hosts. I
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
First time KOA camper and this site was great - friendly staff, decent site size, great location.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Exceptional highway noise. The office is only staffed from 8am til 5pm. At best an in-transit stop, not suitable for longer stops.
Jul 20, 2014
Very pleasant setting. Convenient to Asheville. Unfortunately too close to interstate road noise.
Jul 19, 2014
Excellent stay, clean, and friendly staff. Awesome stay. Thanks
Jul 18, 2014
Stayed at this campsite for 3 enjoyable days. Pool, laundry, and store were nice. My kids enjoyed the playground. My only point of improvement would be if they added a Kanine Kampground off leash park. Overall a very nice stay.
Jul 17, 2014
Traffic noise day and night just too much. Short of moving campground, don't see solution
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Great place, great folks!!
Jul 14, 2014
Truck noise from Route 40 goes on all night long. Very difficult to sleep.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
Came in late in the pouring rain. Paperwork was easy to find. Site was large and easy to get in. Easy hook up in the pouring rain. Did not have to unhook the tow vehicle which made it even better.
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 09, 2014
Russell
Jul 09, 2014
Coming from across the state they offered late arrivals. Their bathrooms and grounds were very well kept.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.