Asheville West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

Email

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Oct 07, 2016
this campsite is right next to interstate 40. they are trying to improve the campsites, but would't have built it right there.
Oct 07, 2016
Very clean facilities but back in site was small with no room to sit outside. Did have a lot of trees for nice view out back window of RV. Easy commute to Biltmore House. Traffic noise was not that bad
Oct 07, 2016
Roomy tent sites with privacy. Heated and clean bathrooms were great. Friendly staff at check in who offered suggestions about things to check out in town. A great stay.
Oct 06, 2016
Very convenient to Biltmore Estate and not a bad drive into Asheville.
Oct 05, 2016
I'm rating this so low because of the fact that they call this a "BIG RIG FRIENDLY"campground. I had issues leaving, no clearly marked exit signs. Upon leaving, making a tight turn on uneven/ bumpy lane ways, caused significant damage to my tow vehicle. Not to mention, learning this C.G. is a Journey C.G. puts you CLOSE to the interstate. Close is a under statement,extremely noisy
Oct 05, 2016
staff was very helpful and friendly. Hookups all worked well. however disappointed in a number of ways - sewage smell throughout the area over the 3 days we were there, small irregular shaped sites with dirt/gravel and dirty, loud highway noise. Didnt use the restrooms or showers. Laundry available but expensive and washers small.
Oct 04, 2016
Used campground as a convenient spot to attend a class reunion, church reunion, and birthday celebration. Only decent campground in the area.
Oct 04, 2016
The highway noise was quite a bit louder than I expected it to be.
Oct 03, 2016
Good staff, good location. Great camping.
Oct 03, 2016
Sandwiched in-between a busy freeway and a trucking loading center. Very loud!
Oct 02, 2016
Oct 01, 2016
The pool area and pull through sites may be fine, don't know didn't see them. The back in sites are way to small for travel trailers, there is no where to park after unhitching, I had to ask two people to move their vehicles so I could approach my site, the pads are built up but too narrow, when exiting your camper door you have an enbankment to slide down, not safe.
Oct 01, 2016
The staff was friendly and the park was well maintained. We would stay here again. The only negative is that the site we were in was not level.
Oct 01, 2016
Staff were more than helpful. Shady. Wifi needs some work and they're doing just that. I'll be a return customer. I love it there
Sep 30, 2016
Very noisy with a major highway close enough to throw a rock at. While our 40' 5th wheel did make it in and out, we rubbed small branches. The park needs to trim them back.
Sep 29, 2016
Reasonable prices. Campsites were a bit tight, but adequate.
Sep 29, 2016
One of the worst KOA campgrounds that we ever stayed at! All gravel drives and sites were terrible! Probably good for tent camping only!
Sep 27, 2016
We enjoyed this campsite, we were in the back section a little away from the interstate. The grounds were clean bath house clean and recyclables and trash bins close. Staff was nice and Heather was very easy to work with and helpful for sites to dine
Sep 27, 2016
Absolutely perfect location for all the things I wanted to do
Sep 27, 2016
A bit iffy. Wifi poor as too great a distance from office to far edge of site which virtually "backs on " to Interstate 44 so pretty noisy.Our back up did not have dump facility.Grocery shopping a long way away and Canton did not have the best facilities ! Hosts very friendly and doing their best.Have a feeling that this is a site in development
Sep 27, 2016
Location is good, close to Asheville and reasonably priced. Sites just ok in upper section. Trees need a lot of trimming; top of RV hit a bunch.
Sep 26, 2016
Clean, spacious RV sites, supper friendly hosts, overall a great KOA
Sep 26, 2016
Camp sites to close,you are on top of next site. WIFI DID NOT WORK
Sep 26, 2016
Very clean. staff was helpful and joyfull!!
Sep 25, 2016
Easy in and out off the interstate. I little highway noise but not too bad. Traveling with friends and they allowed us some extra checkout time to give us time to ride motorcycles in the area.
Sep 24, 2016
The staff was very helpful. The site was fairly easy to get into. The wifi was ok. It kept cutting off. Cable was good. It was about 15 minutes away from Asheville.
Sep 23, 2016
This is our second time staying at this KOA. The location is convenient and the staff is very nice and helpful. It would be nice if some of the trees were trimmed better as not to rub the motorhome when driving through the park.
Sep 23, 2016
To much traffic noise.
Sep 22, 2016
Sep 21, 2016
Very good location. All staff are great and very helpful. Very well maintained and very clean. Some traffic noise from the highway in certain sites in the park.
Sep 21, 2016
Very enjoyable stay there. Spacious site, friendly staff.
Sep 20, 2016
Sep 20, 2016
Hosts nice and helpful. Noisy from highway, but that is not really your fault. The terrain on my site was difficult to navigate. Not much level area. Guess I should mention I have limited mobility in the future.
Sep 19, 2016
The staff was courteous and helpful. The pool clean. Our main complaint was the large amount of stink bugs in camp. We're still trying to get rid of them.
Sep 19, 2016
Nice campground. Bath house is very clean. Nice game room with board games, books etc. Small campground. Sites were more level than I was expecting them to be. I would stay again.
Sep 19, 2016
The staff was very helpful and courteous, answering all our questions. The site was clean and well maintained. The bathrooms and laundry were immaculate. The pool was sparkling. Will return another trip.
Sep 19, 2016
My husband and I stopped here for a night. We were welcomed by a friendly hostess. She lead us to our site. It was perfectly level.The sites are very close together. The bathroom, although dated, was very clean. Easy access to the interstate. You could hear a little traffic, but it wasn't bad. It sounded like distant thunder from time to time. This was great place for an overnight stay.
Sep 19, 2016
This was a nice place to stay if you just want a place to park while visiting Asheville. I do not think the amenities were as nice as some of the other KOA's I have visited. The trail system at the campground had not been well maintained. The people were very friendly though so I can't give them a bad rating. The interstate noise was loud so don't expect a quiet camping experience.
Sep 19, 2016
everything great.. clean.. no creepy people. only thing is that we received about the only site not in the shade..
Sep 15, 2016
Everything was wonderful (especially the service/staff) I just disliked how close together the campsites were and how close it was to the interstate
Sep 15, 2016
Over all it's a very nice area. However the "tent" section needs improvement. Now the are simply trailer areas that double as tent sites. Tent sites need raised tent pads for dryness and more comfortable sleeping.
Sep 14, 2016
Clean setting, pleasant and helpful staff. Thanks for keeping the far section of the park so natural.
Sep 14, 2016
Nice and clean Pleasant place to spend a weekend
Sep 14, 2016
convent stop for us great People especially Heathwer on front desk!
Sep 13, 2016
Thank you
Sep 12, 2016
Sep 12, 2016
As a stop over with a big rig and trailer we couldn't have found a better koa, Helpful Host found us a site we fit in , Thanks
Sep 12, 2016
Very clean spacious treed RV sites. We would stay there again when traveling through. Thank you so much!!
Sep 11, 2016
Nice place. Great bathrooms and staff was very friendly. The noise was terrible. Highway noise of course but there was some sort of manufacturing going on down the hill that continued all night and even on Sunday and labor day. Good thing we brought ear plugs. Site was also very small.
Sep 11, 2016
Road noises but not that bad.Would stay again
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy