Asheville West KOA

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16

RV Reviews

Jul 01, 2015
Great campground. Easy check-in. Good cable and Wi-Fi.
Jul 01, 2015
Nice and small. Highway noise wasn't bad like I thought it would be from our site (close to office) lower sites by road were loud.
Jul 01, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
This KOA was not what I thought KOA campgrounds are supposed to be. The owner-the lady- was not very friendly or pleasant, the road noise was horrendous, and there was a smell of urine all over the upper loop of the campground both mornings we were there. The only positive was the older gentleman that serves as night watchman on the weekends. He was very kind and helpful.
Jun 29, 2015
People were super nice and everything was clean. Was disappointed in the campsite. Would have been nice to have a cement pad.
Jun 29, 2015
RV sites need some upgrades
Jun 29, 2015
Asheville West is a great place to stay short term. It was a bit noisy due to nearby I40 traffic. The pool was clean and refreshing and the staff was friendly.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 28, 2015
Campground was nice and clean. The staff was friendly. Liked the many walking trails. The pool was nice and had umbrellas and plenty of chairs. The only downside would be the traffic noise coming from the Interstate which is less than 100 yards away through the trees. But it isn't like that can be corrected.
Jun 27, 2015
Site 26 was perfect for us, and we were able to extend our stay with no problem. Of the 11 campgrounds, 6 of which were KOA's, on this trip, this was the best.
Jun 26, 2015
office closes to early we got there at 4:45 and the office closes at5:00
Jun 26, 2015
My family and I really enjoyed the campground and facilities. The staff was super friendly as well. High marks.
Jun 24, 2015
Many large tree limbs over roadways scraped the top of the coach. Loud noise from I-40; so bad sleep was impossible.
Jun 23, 2015
Full pull thru sites were not very well maintained and very small.
Jun 22, 2015
Vey nice
Jun 20, 2015
This was a very small KOA. Absolutely no privacy or yard like area. Our camper barely fit the sites were so tiny leaving us no where to park our large truck. The staff however, was very kind and helpful. The pool area was nice as were the restrooms.
Jun 20, 2015
We were just traveling through from HHI to home & this was a half way point.
Jun 20, 2015
Great campground,easy access and departure. Very friendly staff. Beautiful setting with nice trees. Slightly bothered by some traffic from interstate, but overall a great park. We camped in a class A with a tow.
Jun 19, 2015
Our. KOA greeter, Heather, was so helpful. She informed us of the local attractions and gave us the very best directions. Her bubbly personality was contagious. A great KOA!
Jun 19, 2015
Jun 18, 2015
Friendly, helpful staff. The grounds are very well kept.
Jun 18, 2015
Delightful staff. Heavy traffic noise
Jun 18, 2015
Great facility overall. Staff wonderful too. Clean, pleasant and all one can expect except constant highway & truck noise in nearby distance.
Jun 18, 2015
Just that concrete pads would be very nice.
Jun 17, 2015
Stayed in the back section. Sites were not level, and very close together. Worried fire rings too close to next camper might damage them. It's right next to major interstate so very noisy. Overall campground was well-maintained and clean, people were very courteous.
Jun 16, 2015
the people were very friendly. The only sour note was the proximity to the freeway and the traffic noise. i know this is unavoidable, but never the less we were happy with our stay.
Jun 15, 2015
Great location not super crowded or congested. Only complaint is that it took a bit to get toy hauler level but this was only my second camping trip so could have been operator error but all n all very nice campground
Jun 15, 2015
This is a great place to visit the sites in Asheville. Pleasant, informative staff. Well maintained facility. Our site was level and shaded.
Jun 15, 2015
some distance from downtown and friendly staff were not sure about parking an RV there, albeit small! Visitors center is the place to go! Free parking and welcoming staff.
Jun 15, 2015
It was pleasant from check-in to departure
Jun 14, 2015
Beautiful mountains.
Jun 14, 2015
Nice stay here. Central to all we wanted to do.
Jun 13, 2015
Brief but enjoyed it very much.
Jun 13, 2015
Just used it for a sleep over on the road late pulled in at 1am left at 10am from what we saw it was a nice location
Jun 12, 2015
Although very close to the interstate, we were very pleasantly surprised by this place. Restrooms were beautiful and very clean. Came in late but had called ahead and everything was ready for us when we pulled in. Would definitely use again if visiting the area.
Jun 10, 2015
Jun 09, 2015
Camping sites are right on top of each other and not surrounded by trees on 3 sides like the pictures on the website. Staff was great and refund policy appreciated when our plans changed and had to leave early.
Jun 08, 2015
very clean and a beautiful area, much to see and do, staff could not be more helpful or friendly
Jun 08, 2015
Wonderful, helpful people. The location has the expressway close by and the trucks are noisy at night. Many campers are one nighters on their way to another location.
Jun 08, 2015
Sites are small and not maintained well. Overgrown trees and ants were everywhere... Could barely park our car after putting up our tent. Luckily it wasn't very busy, Im sure it would be a nightmare. Sold us wood that wouldn't burn pretty sure it was pine as the sap just kept running out of it. We won't go back. We love KOA but not this one
Jun 07, 2015
While the staff was very helpful and the campground was lovely, it really isn't set up for Big Rigs such as ours. It was very scary trying to maneuver the turn into our space. Would definitely recommend this KAO to anyone with a smaller rig.
Jun 06, 2015
Accommodating, very clean and great friendly folks. I liked the 24 hour access to laundry and game room.
Jun 06, 2015
Nice campground, would not visit again because just too much road noise from I-40. Couldn't sleep.
Jun 05, 2015
Friendly service, BUT Trees need to be trimmed as we scratched the top of our motorhome twice on the way to our pull through spot. Traffic noise is unfortunate. Highway noise
Jun 02, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Heavy brush covering the entrance sign to campground making it easy to miss the turn. When driving a large RV with a car, it's impossible to back up and there's no place to turn around. I talked to the host about cutting the brush; however, he said that's the hwy dept responsibility. If I was managing the campground, I would just cut the brush to alleviate the problem.
Jun 01, 2015
Excellent KOA....will come again. Thank you all for a great experience.
Jun 01, 2015
Nice, clean well maintained. Owners were friendly and helpful. The ONLY negative is the noise from the interstate.
Jun 01, 2015
Very nice staff! The campground is right next to a very busy highway and the road noise is terrible. Being on a mountain the trucks are using their engine brakes which makes it EXTREMELY loud. Pretty nice place but the noise is unbearable.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.