Asheville West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

Email

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 26, 2015
Very convenient location. Enjoyed our stay.
Oct 26, 2015
Nice campground and the staff was great
Oct 26, 2015
Bathrooms were clean. Lady at desk was friendly. However, streets and sites were dirt and leaves. Thank goodness it didn't rain - what a slop it would have been. Cable TV didn't work. Wifi didn't work. Interstate noise is loud. A little far from Asheville. No restrs. close-only truck stop.
Oct 25, 2015
Bathrooms were super clean our entire stay. Great place to camp.
Oct 25, 2015
Internet signal would drop from 4 bars to 1 bar and then we would loose service. Then it would come back. On again, off again. Other than that a very nice campground.
Oct 25, 2015
Oct 25, 2015
Too Noisy. Sites too small and too hard to back in to. Needs improvements.
Oct 24, 2015
You can hear the highway from the campground. If you're looking for a good place to stay to go to the Biltmore this is a good.
Oct 24, 2015
Our stay was literally an overnight stop, so we didn't get to explore much. The online reservation and late check in was great. The area is truly beautiful!
Oct 24, 2015
I 40 traffic noise made sleeping difficult. The Park itself was very good, except cable tv reception was fuzzy
Oct 24, 2015
Campground was clean and close to Asheville sights. Personnel were friendly and helpful.
Oct 24, 2015
Someone did not follow thru with changing our reservation dates. Fortunately there was still space. It is very inconvenient to stay at a campground that closes the office at 5p.m. Otherwise restroom were clean and well maintained.
Oct 23, 2015
No comment
Oct 23, 2015
The check in lady was nice and helpful. Restrooms were well kept, clean, liked the ease in finding it but did not like the interstate noise, sites were short and small, will likely be back though
Oct 23, 2015
Oct 23, 2015
Seemed like a nice campground at first.the owners were very nice. But, the location is very noisy, right beside the interstate exit-trucks were using their jake brakes when they slowed or stopped at the exit.
Oct 22, 2015
Showers and rest rooms are very clean, owners and workers are friendly and helpful. It is close to I-40 and you can hear noise from that. Our site (B17) was large with shade but some sites are close together. The campground is nice and close to the mountains and Asheville. The only small negative is the road noise.
Oct 22, 2015
Beautiful location; great sites; wonderful staff; great internet;immaculate bathroom/shower rooms. Challenge caused by lack of signage WEST of the entrance--only problem encountered.
Oct 22, 2015
The sites are not for big rigs.They need to trim some of the trees.
Oct 20, 2015
We were here for 9 nites and found this campground to be very nice with really good amenities. The managers and hosts were very friendly and helpful. Really appreciated the pull-thru spots! Will definitely stay here again and let others know about this gem in the mountains!
Oct 20, 2015
This campground has great views if you are on mountain side F1-F27, there is a lot of uneven surfaces, and really not big rig friendly. The roads and turns are really tight. Since it is hilly there's really not a good place to get your car prepared for tow. Staff seemed friendly. Pool was closed at time of our stay, {Nobody going to swim in October anyway). You do hear traffic noise from hwy.
Oct 20, 2015
With cramped RV sites, to allow biker gangs to camp amoung 50K$ RVs, to very spotty if not at all WiFi, the place is a dump and very low quality equipment. The whole campground needs a big $ makeover ASAP.
Oct 20, 2015
The lower campground is far less enjoyable than the upper campground. When staying there again we will be very specific, or go somewhere else.
Oct 20, 2015
Wi-Fi was free but never even got 1 bar reception. We were in spot down the hill, right next to the tall tower.
Oct 19, 2015
Oct 19, 2015
Reservation was easy over the phone. We were lucky to grab the last available site for that night. The setting is beautiful. Great ambiance. Nice wooden swings next to the office. Very helpful staff.
Oct 18, 2015
spaces too tight drive ways rough
Oct 18, 2015
Staffs were very friendly. The shower facility and restrooms were clean. Pet friendly. Wifi signal strength was too weak from my site.
Oct 18, 2015
I gave it one star because the people were friendly. The sites were horrible, down in a gully, squished together, you couldn't even drive your car through because there was nowhere to park, everyone was parking in the road. No cable, uneven sites, to many trees for high campers. Trash bins were right outside bathrooms which made it stink...showers were bad. I would not recommend.
Oct 16, 2015
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Good location for driving to Asheville and the Blue Ridge. My only complaint is that I hate traffic noise, and it was close to I40.
Oct 15, 2015
Friendly and helpful staff. Easy access. Ultra clean showers.
Oct 14, 2015
Unfriendly,bad parking,not helpful,camping space not level,used 6 2by10 and still would not level,owner would not change lots, bad service for 13 days!!!!
Oct 13, 2015
old cabin, not very clean,interstate noise
Oct 13, 2015
New wifi just installed and it works excellent. Clean grounds and washrooms but they're a little tired and need some updating.
Oct 13, 2015
The people are great and very helpful. WIFI worked very well for me. Location is very noisy as highway is close. Roads and site are muddy. The roads and sites have very little crushed rock. they need attention. Trails needs some attention. Paths are blocked by fallen timbers and broken railings. Sites are not real level. Just shows some maintenance is required.
Oct 12, 2015
Very clean, great staff, and a friendly environment.
Oct 12, 2015
We came as troop to stay for apple picking. This koa was awesome. I loved the camp kitchen and it saved with all the downpouring rain. Check in was quick and easy with our late night arrival. They were accommodating to our needs and extremely pleasant to work with in the office. Thank you for a wonderful experience. Definitely going back!!
Oct 12, 2015
Oct 12, 2015
dirt site even though they said gravel. Lucky it did not rain! Friendly. Very hard to get in and out of with a big rig even though they say big rig friendly. Roads narrow and ruddy!
Oct 12, 2015
WIFI connection was not working or was too difficult to connect.
Oct 11, 2015
The campground was clean and scenic. Loved that the showers and restrooms were in the building with the office. It was warm on a chilly morning! It was quiet even with the interstate hum. (We have camped in enough campgrounds to know that easy access to the interstate often means road noise). Staff was friendly and welcoming. Really appreciated being flexible with our reservation. Will return!
Oct 10, 2015
Friendly staff. Very clean bathrooms and well kept campground. Daily trash pickup. Good WiFi and cable system. Some highway noise. Good location for exploring.
Oct 09, 2015
Oct 09, 2015
KOA Facility itself was great. Welcoming staff and clean. This KOA is a one night stopover and not a destination campground. The one huge detractor is the highway noise. You literally overlook the interstate and the traffic noise is so bad it forces you to spend most of the time inside. Great launching point for the many spots in and around Asheville but not a campground to spend you day at.
Oct 09, 2015
Great place
Oct 05, 2015
Stayed here during the 500 year flood rains October 2015. The camp personnel were awesome. Everything was wet and muddy but they managed to keep the roads open, the bathroom spic-n-span, and the laundry open 24 hours. Fortunately the campground is high up on a hill so the floods did not hit us although the flood waters got into some of the lower campgrounds. Great place! Wonderful people.
Oct 05, 2015
Pleasant stay. Level sight. Good roads during rainstorm. I did not want to disclose e-mail information to use the internet. I was told this policy is being amended.
Oct 03, 2015
We have been having a great time staying at KOAs across the country.
Oct 03, 2015
Heather, Paul, and Karen all helped to make our stay memorable. Everything was so clean. We originally booked our stay for one week and then we were so happy there that we decided to spend the remainder of our trip at that campground.
Oct 03, 2015
It was a wonderful KOA...the people were helpful and friendly...The owner had tickets for Biltmore house and suggested a two day pass...Perfect!!! Had a lovely stay...
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals