Asheville West KOA

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Nov 05, 2013
We love this KOA...staff is wonderful... great place for dogs... beautiful fall scenery...

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for your kind words and choosing to stay with us! We hope to see you and your family again soon. Remember: We strive for 5 marshmallows and NPS Scores of 8 and above! :)
Nov 02, 2013
Good location, friendly people. Old campground in need of some updating. Especially the showers.All in all good place to stay over night.
Oct 31, 2013
It was a relaxing get-a-way. Cabin was clean and great. A little close to highway for us but really enjoyed stay
Oct 31, 2013
Clean - nice staff - pull through sites - fine for overnight stop. Highway noise was bad. We camped in a Travel Trailer.
Oct 31, 2013
Oct 30, 2013
Stayed 3 nights. Location great for visits to Waynesville, downtown Asheville, the Biltmore estate, etc. Our site was very level. When outside, freeway noise was horrific, but it didn't bother me inside with TV and AC fans running. We didn't spend much time there during the day anyway and super tired at night from busy days sightseeing and walking, so noise was only a very minor issue
Oct 30, 2013
Stayed overnight in a 5th wheel. Site was large and level. A lot of noise from I40 and the train. Ok for an overnight stay.
Oct 29, 2013
We had a great time and the bathrooms were very clean! We stayed in one of the one room cabins, we brought our camp stove and everything to cook with but found they have a outdoor kitchen with stove sink and everything so we didn't need to pull all that stuff out just our pots and pans. One negative would be the cabins were close to each other not offering to much privacy.
Oct 29, 2013
This KOA restored my faith in KOAs. The campground was beautiful and the staff great.
Oct 29, 2013
Whether you stay for a night or a week, you will find this place welcoming with clean, quiet restrooms/showers.
Oct 29, 2013
Would recommend this KOA to anyone visiting the area. Very clean and helpful people.
Oct 29, 2013
Oct 29, 2013
Lower camp sites were spacious with lots of trees/open areas.
Oct 29, 2013
Good spacing forbig rigs. Nice setting.Up to Koa standaeds.
Oct 27, 2013
Beautiful campground and great service.
Oct 27, 2013
Oct 26, 2013
Loved our stay there. Friendly staff, clean everywhere and beautiful surroundings. The only 'bad' thing about the campground is the Interstate noise but other than that it was wonderful.
Oct 25, 2013
had wonderful time ,very clean ,would highly recommend
Oct 25, 2013
Everything was neat and clean, campers were friendly, and there were many suggestions as to interesting sites to see. The office people were most helpful.
Oct 24, 2013
We had a wonderful stay and hope to be back again soon!
Oct 23, 2013
Nice place to stay for an overnight or a couple of weeks. Close to Asheville, the Great Smoky NP, and the Blue Risge Parkway.
Oct 23, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
The campground was very clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. Prior to our departure, we requested that two small branches be removed from a tree so they would not scrape the side of our motorhome. Not only did the branches get removed, but we were asked if other branches needed to be trimmed to avoid damage. Now that is service!!
Oct 22, 2013
Oct 22, 2013
Great stay. Everything was really nice. Definitely will stay here again on our next trip to Ashville.
Oct 21, 2013
Bathrooms were spotless until a motorcycle group trashed them with dirty boots, etc. biggest problem I had (besides the 3 a.m. Noise from motorcycles) was that the fire pit of the adjacent siteS are way too close to your site. If you don't like smoke or have asthma like problems, this is not the place for you.
Oct 21, 2013
Oct 20, 2013
no one maintained the quiet hours. Fire pit was too close lots very narrow. lots not paved terrible road noise
Oct 19, 2013
Oct 19, 2013
tight spot to back fifth wheel limited space for vehicle to park. sites level with shade good wooded buffer from traffic noise nice layout , friendly helpful staff
Oct 19, 2013
Just ok, small sites, bad hook-ups location, to close to freeway verry noicey. Only good thing was the location.
Oct 17, 2013
This is a great location, and offers many amenities. Close to Downtown Asheville. Couple of notes: If checking in after dark, the entrance is not well lit, and there are essentially no lights anywhere on the property other than at registration, so it's a little hard to find things. Not very welcoming. Also, close to hwy so a little noisy.
Oct 16, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Check in was friendly and efficient. Request to be next to friends honored.Host and hostess very friendly. Had beignes and coffee on saturday and ice cream saturday night. Nice fire in pavillion. Stay was very nice.
Oct 15, 2013
Staff was very friendly & informative. Facilities were clean & accessible. Our stay was great & relaxing. We will return again.
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
I had a great time at this KOA. I have stayed there several times a and I have never had a bad experience.
Oct 13, 2013
Have stopped here many times in the past and like it very much. Clean showeres and rest rooms and friendly folks at the desk.
Oct 12, 2013
Oct 10, 2013
Very nice stay with our two dogs. Small cabins were close to well lighted path to the bathroom facility. The porch swing and chair were appreciated to sit down on something other than the beds. Thank you.
Oct 09, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
We stayed on the back camping area near the tower. (We had 7 motorcycles with campers) The spot was shady and the bathhouse was very clean. The camping spots need some work. Ours was washed out from all the summer rain, lots of clay. other sites that our friends were on fairly level spots, but the KOA built up the sites to level them, but they need much more work.
Oct 08, 2013
Although the sites were very clean and level, the proximity to I40 made for a very noisy stay.
Oct 07, 2013
We have stayed here several times. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restrooms/showers are nice. We like the many nearby attractions and love beong in the mountains. The only negative is that it is very close to I40 and there is a lot of traffic noise at some sites.
Oct 07, 2013
Pull-though sites very nice, Very friendly staff, breakfast Sat morning. Not located handily to places to eat outside campground (10 mi) but Moose Cafe worth the trip.
Oct 07, 2013
My biggest complaint and the reason for the low rating was the excessive noise from motorcycles in the campground. The loud bikes continued to make extreme noise well past midnight on both nights we stayed. I was on a motorcycle myself, but mine is quiet and legal (by sound law standards). I understand your KOA does cater to motorcyclists, but this KOA desperately needs to develop an effective str
Oct 07, 2013
Everyone was courteous and friendly,restrooms clean,roads werea a little rough with gravel for motorcycles, a few potholes
Oct 07, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.