Asheville West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

Email

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 04, 2015
It was a short stay, but we really enjoyed it. I noticed that the office closed early on Saturday, I think at 5:00 and they didn't have any activities planned for the weekend. We did other things around but would've been nice if the had a movie on or some kind of activity for halloween. But, overall park was very clean and organize, staff was nice and we definitely will come again.
Nov 04, 2015
Very nice campground that is good for a relaxing night
Nov 04, 2015
Short weekend trip stay in the cabin - it was just what we wanted. Simple and cozy
Nov 03, 2015
The bathrooms were very clean. The shower pressure was horrible. The sites are way too close together. The fire pits are not adequate, just a bunch of rocks around in a circle. Nothing special, can be a fire hazard without a ring. After hours manager seemed bothered that we arrived at 11pm stating that we woke her up when we needed to check in. The roads are not paved.Not a great experience.
Nov 03, 2015
Really great place to stay. Mud became a problem
Nov 02, 2015
Everyone was very nice and it was easy access from I40
Nov 02, 2015
Oct 31, 2015
Wonderful!
Oct 31, 2015
A little close to the interstate, road noise is in the background 24/7. Clean, wide sites and friendly staff. Walking trails all around the campground.
Oct 30, 2015
Oct 29, 2015
No lighting. Roads are dirt so they were muddy with ruts. Dump station difficult to maneuver as its on the wrong side of the road
Oct 29, 2015
Beautiful park, friendly, helpful people.
Oct 28, 2015
enjoyed the stay and will be seeing you in the spring
Oct 27, 2015
The site was very nice. The campground is clean and quiet other than traffic. We thought that the campground would have been farther from the highway and have better mountain views.
Oct 27, 2015
Good stay. Campground is a little noisy from I-40
Oct 27, 2015
Very nice small campground. These were the cleanest bathrooms I've ever seen!!!! The only downside was the road noise from I-40 and the truck stop next door.
Oct 27, 2015
Oct 26, 2015
Interstate noise. Slightly cramped pull through sites. Otherwise good.
Oct 26, 2015
Oct 26, 2015
Nice campground and clean bathrooms/showers. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay!
Oct 26, 2015
First KOA that we stayed in that had a WIFI that actually worked !
Oct 26, 2015
Oct 26, 2015
We stayed in a cabin w/o a bathroom, and it was awesome! The bathrooms were clean and pleasant and right next to us in the office complex. The people were very friendly...the cabin was very clean and perfect for our needs. We will be back!
Oct 26, 2015
Road noise is only negative comment.
Oct 26, 2015
Very convenient location. Enjoyed our stay.
Oct 26, 2015
Nice campground and the staff was great
Oct 26, 2015
Bathrooms were clean. Lady at desk was friendly. However, streets and sites were dirt and leaves. Thank goodness it didn't rain - what a slop it would have been. Cable TV didn't work. Wifi didn't work. Interstate noise is loud. A little far from Asheville. No restrs. close-only truck stop.
Oct 25, 2015
Bathrooms were super clean our entire stay. Great place to camp.
Oct 25, 2015
Internet signal would drop from 4 bars to 1 bar and then we would loose service. Then it would come back. On again, off again. Other than that a very nice campground.
Oct 25, 2015
Oct 25, 2015
Too Noisy. Sites too small and too hard to back in to. Needs improvements.
Oct 24, 2015
You can hear the highway from the campground. If you're looking for a good place to stay to go to the Biltmore this is a good.
Oct 24, 2015
Our stay was literally an overnight stop, so we didn't get to explore much. The online reservation and late check in was great. The area is truly beautiful!
Oct 24, 2015
I 40 traffic noise made sleeping difficult. The Park itself was very good, except cable tv reception was fuzzy
Oct 24, 2015
Campground was clean and close to Asheville sights. Personnel were friendly and helpful.
Oct 24, 2015
Someone did not follow thru with changing our reservation dates. Fortunately there was still space. It is very inconvenient to stay at a campground that closes the office at 5p.m. Otherwise restroom were clean and well maintained.
Oct 23, 2015
No comment
Oct 23, 2015
The check in lady was nice and helpful. Restrooms were well kept, clean, liked the ease in finding it but did not like the interstate noise, sites were short and small, will likely be back though
Oct 23, 2015
Oct 23, 2015
Seemed like a nice campground at first.the owners were very nice. But, the location is very noisy, right beside the interstate exit-trucks were using their jake brakes when they slowed or stopped at the exit.
Oct 22, 2015
Showers and rest rooms are very clean, owners and workers are friendly and helpful. It is close to I-40 and you can hear noise from that. Our site (B17) was large with shade but some sites are close together. The campground is nice and close to the mountains and Asheville. The only small negative is the road noise.
Oct 22, 2015
Beautiful location; great sites; wonderful staff; great internet;immaculate bathroom/shower rooms. Challenge caused by lack of signage WEST of the entrance--only problem encountered.
Oct 22, 2015
The sites are not for big rigs.They need to trim some of the trees.
Oct 20, 2015
We were here for 9 nites and found this campground to be very nice with really good amenities. The managers and hosts were very friendly and helpful. Really appreciated the pull-thru spots! Will definitely stay here again and let others know about this gem in the mountains!
Oct 20, 2015
This campground has great views if you are on mountain side F1-F27, there is a lot of uneven surfaces, and really not big rig friendly. The roads and turns are really tight. Since it is hilly there's really not a good place to get your car prepared for tow. Staff seemed friendly. Pool was closed at time of our stay, {Nobody going to swim in October anyway). You do hear traffic noise from hwy.
Oct 20, 2015
With cramped RV sites, to allow biker gangs to camp amoung 50K$ RVs, to very spotty if not at all WiFi, the place is a dump and very low quality equipment. The whole campground needs a big $ makeover ASAP.
Oct 20, 2015
The lower campground is far less enjoyable than the upper campground. When staying there again we will be very specific, or go somewhere else.
Oct 20, 2015
Wi-Fi was free but never even got 1 bar reception. We were in spot down the hill, right next to the tall tower.
Oct 19, 2015
Oct 19, 2015
Reservation was easy over the phone. We were lucky to grab the last available site for that night. The setting is beautiful. Great ambiance. Nice wooden swings next to the office. Very helpful staff.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals