Asheville West KOA

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 17, 2015
Part we stayed in run down. Grass not mowed, muddy. Nice remodled bathroom. Needs maintance bad.
Jul 16, 2015
The campground is hilly, as expected for western NC. However, the sites themselves are not close to level either. Just wasn't as nice as I expected from the description/photo in KOA Directory. People, as expected of a KOA campground, were VERY friendly and helpful.
Jul 16, 2015
Highway noise was unbearable.
Jul 16, 2015
We were a little disappointed that there wasn't a BBQ grill at or near our cabin. We should have checked ahead of time. Other than that and a few hours without electricity in the evening, it was a very pleasant stay.
Jul 14, 2015
I want to thank Heather and Paul for their hospitality. We enjoyed our stay.
Jul 14, 2015
A nice stay on a very busy weekend.
Jul 14, 2015
The campground made the perfect base for exploring Asheville, Waynesville and Cataloochee Valley.The campground was very clean and well maintained.
Jul 14, 2015
It's a good campground for pass thru stay but not to many activities if you want to spend an extended stay.
Jul 13, 2015
Very clean and nice area for the cabin we rented .
Jul 13, 2015
only stayed overnight as half way stop between Myrtle Beach and home, but found everything CLEAN and enjoyable
Jul 13, 2015
Nice big camp sites, shaded, graveled. Nice staff. Noisy because it is very close to HWY 40. Clean bathrooms, unisex showers, same entrance for his/hers restrooms, weird arrangement. But overrall nice.
Jul 13, 2015
Great customer service. Beautiful new shower house. Would stay here again!
Jul 12, 2015
Overall the staff was friendly and helpful. There was a host staying on site at the top section. The trash was checked regularly and the bath house was clean. There is some road noise but it was tolerable on the back part of the campground. Overall, nobody bothered us and the folks we came in contact with were friendly. There were several nice areas for pet walks.
Jul 12, 2015
Nice little trails here for a nature hike.
Jul 12, 2015
We have been coming to this KOA for man years. The work that is put in to keep this an excellent place to stay is everywhere. I especially enjoyed the swings around the fire pit. So relaxing at the end of the day.
Jul 11, 2015
Very clean, very close to Asheville, staff friendly, campsite great
Jul 09, 2015
The sites are ok, but lanes to get to your site and away are too narrow. Also highway noise is a big factor.
Jul 09, 2015
The hosts were great, the site was good, the location was good (proximity to I-40). Our only 'complaint' would be the noise from I-40.
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 09, 2015
Clean bathrooms and showers. Can hear highway noise, but didn't affect sleeping, like white noise.
Jul 08, 2015
Very friendly staff. Nice facilities. Beautiful woods and landscape. We stayed here over 4th of July weekend. Fireworks display was good. We will be back.
Jul 08, 2015
Clean campground, very friendly and helpful staff.
Jul 08, 2015
our campsite was too small for our camper and truck -
Jul 07, 2015
Fantastic campground. It was smaller and just so neat. They had a scavenger hunt for our kids then a water balloon toss. Our children had such a good time. We also took advantage of all the trails, wonderful trails to hike around. When we visit Asheville, we will definitely be coming here again.
Jul 07, 2015
Traffic noise from I-40 was extremely loud.
Jul 07, 2015
We were in a 34' towing a jeep. We had a pull thru and tried to get satellite but settled on cable and it was great. It was quiet, clean, and all utilities worked perfectly. We are staying here again in a few days, and are looking forward to it
Jul 06, 2015
I loved the community setup for the Kamping Kabins. It made for a sociable stay with fellow campers.
Jul 06, 2015
Everything went well. The pool was a big factor in our choice. Staff was great. Only thought is to cut back tree limbs from the roadways. I had to back out to avoid some down the second row.
Jul 06, 2015
Very nice, small campground and very pleasant staff.
Jul 06, 2015
Everything was great the only thing I say is that the wifi was kinda slow so I couldn't upload photo to share our time camping on the social media site but other then that I had a great time the fireworks show was a beauty.
Jul 05, 2015
Jul 05, 2015
Beautiful place. The sites on the other side of the valley were the best. Clean place, nice facilities. Definite winner.
Jul 03, 2015
We really liked staying there...may try to visit again...
Jul 02, 2015
good
Jul 02, 2015
Great location for visiting the area. Cabin K1 was below the standard cabin we have used at other KOA location: screen door needs repair, main door needs to be shaved on the bottom and the electrical plug is very inconvenient located below the AC unit. Staff was very friendly.
Jul 02, 2015
Had a great time. All of the folks were very friendly. The only negative I have is the traffic at all hours of the day and night.
Jul 01, 2015
Great campground. Easy check-in. Good cable and Wi-Fi.
Jul 01, 2015
Nice and small. Highway noise wasn't bad like I thought it would be from our site (close to office) lower sites by road were loud.
Jul 01, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
Good
Jul 01, 2015
This KOA was not what I thought KOA campgrounds are supposed to be. The owner-the lady- was not very friendly or pleasant, the road noise was horrendous, and there was a smell of urine all over the upper loop of the campground both mornings we were there. The only positive was the older gentleman that serves as night watchman on the weekends. He was very kind and helpful.
Jun 30, 2015
Always the best KOA for us! Will be back soon.
Jun 30, 2015
Very clean and nice extra touches. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable.
Jun 29, 2015
People were super nice and everything was clean. Was disappointed in the campsite. Would have been nice to have a cement pad.
Jun 29, 2015
RV sites need some upgrades
Jun 29, 2015
Asheville West is a great place to stay short term. It was a bit noisy due to nearby I40 traffic. The pool was clean and refreshing and the staff was friendly.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
very clean and quiet. perfect place for camping. we arrived late and the porch light was left on for us. that one simple act was so appreciative and welcoming. thank you to the person who left the light on for us.
Jun 28, 2015
Campground was nice and clean. The staff was friendly. Liked the many walking trails. The pool was nice and had umbrellas and plenty of chairs. The only downside would be the traffic noise coming from the Interstate which is less than 100 yards away through the trees. But it isn't like that can be corrected.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.