Asheville West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

Email

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 17, 2016
Great campground, very clean bath house! Staff was very nice and helpful. Would definitely visit again.
Oct 17, 2016
Great campground, super clean facilities and easy to get to off I-40. Very friendly and helpful staff.I have read some who complained about road noise, brought a fan for white noise and slept like a log. I'll be back!
Oct 17, 2016
we had the greatest time! we stayed in a tent one night and a small cabin the next night and enjoyed both. clean facilities and great and welcoming staff!
Oct 16, 2016
Very nice people!!GREAT JOB NICE PLACE!!!
Oct 14, 2016
Campground is very convenient and well maintained. We were greeted and escorted to our site, and the attendant even delivered ice to us. But the traffic noise from the freeway is so load and continuous all night long that we probably won't stay here again. If noise prevents you from sleeping, make sure you have ear plugs or a white noisemaker.
Oct 14, 2016
We stay here at lest a couple of times a year and enjoy it. Not perfect due to terrain and highway noise but certainly not bad. I recommend.
Oct 14, 2016
This is a tired RV park and the maintenance a poor. Sites. We'd gravel, dumptersmoverflowi g with trash, pet waste was not emptied, trees need trimming, wi fi was intermittent,. Freeway noise was amazingly loud. The cable was The best we have Had in 5 months on The road,
Oct 12, 2016
Not maintained just poor. Disappointed.
Oct 12, 2016
This is a GREAT place to stay! Clean, friendly, quiet - and LOTS to do. We'll be back again and again.
Oct 12, 2016
Unfortunately our neighbors did not adhere to the dog clean up policy and made part of our site untenable-not the fault of KOA certainly but something we seem to be seeing more frequently.
Oct 11, 2016
The campground staff was very helpful and friendly...very high marks. The campground itself was certainly not terrible but not the best I have ever stayed at. All and all, I would go back and stay again if I needed to be in the West Asheville area again.
Oct 11, 2016
We arrived late. A staff member drove us to the sight They had an envelope with our name and campsite number. I was impressed.
Oct 11, 2016
Easy access to highway, but could hear it throughout the night. Level sites for trailers. Bathrooms clean. No wild parties. No problems. 20 to 30 min to Asheville, depending on traffic, and an hours' ride to Bryson City and hiking in the Great Smoky Mountains. So, great location for stuff to do! We will return. Would recommend.
Oct 11, 2016
Make sure your site is not in the low "B" locations because you hear the highway noise the entire time. Very heavy truck corridor. Staff was friendly but not very accommodating regarding site relocation. There were several un occupied sites - that were never used
Oct 11, 2016
Nice campground, love the site, friendly and curtias staff.Truck noise from highway at night annoying
Oct 10, 2016
Oct 09, 2016
Staff was helpful and friendly. Hook-ups were accessible. Site was spacious and almost level. Asheville was Avery good experience
Oct 09, 2016
Many thanks for a clean and comfortable experience.
Oct 09, 2016
No escort to de site. Everyone park their vehicle anywhere despite they are blocking other sites access. No staff supervision.
Oct 07, 2016
one of the cleanest KOAs we have ever visited
Oct 07, 2016
The place was well maintained however the noise from IH40 was loud and the smell from the septic drain field was bad at times
Oct 07, 2016
this campsite is right next to interstate 40. they are trying to improve the campsites, but would't have built it right there.
Oct 07, 2016
Very clean facilities but back in site was small with no room to sit outside. Did have a lot of trees for nice view out back window of RV. Easy commute to Biltmore House. Traffic noise was not that bad
Oct 07, 2016
Roomy tent sites with privacy. Heated and clean bathrooms were great. Friendly staff at check in who offered suggestions about things to check out in town. A great stay.
Oct 06, 2016
We took advantage of the buy one-get one free promo. We are glad we did. The staff & cabins were excellent. Lots to do & see in the Blue Ridge mountains, Loved it. Will do it again..with friends!
Oct 06, 2016
Very convenient to Biltmore Estate and not a bad drive into Asheville.
Oct 05, 2016
I'm rating this so low because of the fact that they call this a "BIG RIG FRIENDLY"campground. I had issues leaving, no clearly marked exit signs. Upon leaving, making a tight turn on uneven/ bumpy lane ways, caused significant damage to my tow vehicle. Not to mention, learning this C.G. is a Journey C.G. puts you CLOSE to the interstate. Close is a under statement,extremely noisy
Oct 05, 2016
staff was very helpful and friendly. Hookups all worked well. however disappointed in a number of ways - sewage smell throughout the area over the 3 days we were there, small irregular shaped sites with dirt/gravel and dirty, loud highway noise. Didnt use the restrooms or showers. Laundry available but expensive and washers small.
Oct 04, 2016
Used campground as a convenient spot to attend a class reunion, church reunion, and birthday celebration. Only decent campground in the area.
Oct 04, 2016
The highway noise was quite a bit louder than I expected it to be.
Oct 03, 2016
Good staff, good location. Great camping.
Oct 03, 2016
Sandwiched in-between a busy freeway and a trucking loading center. Very loud!
Oct 02, 2016
Oct 01, 2016
The pool area and pull through sites may be fine, don't know didn't see them. The back in sites are way to small for travel trailers, there is no where to park after unhitching, I had to ask two people to move their vehicles so I could approach my site, the pads are built up but too narrow, when exiting your camper door you have an enbankment to slide down, not safe.
Oct 01, 2016
The staff was friendly and the park was well maintained. We would stay here again. The only negative is that the site we were in was not level.
Oct 01, 2016
Staff were more than helpful. Shady. Wifi needs some work and they're doing just that. I'll be a return customer. I love it there
Sep 30, 2016
Very noisy with a major highway close enough to throw a rock at. While our 40' 5th wheel did make it in and out, we rubbed small branches. The park needs to trim them back.
Sep 29, 2016
Reasonable prices. Campsites were a bit tight, but adequate.
Sep 29, 2016
One of the worst KOA campgrounds that we ever stayed at! All gravel drives and sites were terrible! Probably good for tent camping only!
Sep 27, 2016
We felt at home in our little house (cabin) very nice and comfortable
Sep 27, 2016
The staff was super friendly and willing to help. Bathrooms were nice and clean. Only things I wish were different was the distance from Asheville and the cabins were very close together. Not too much privacy but overall great stay!
Sep 27, 2016
We stayed in the tent campsite with no water or electric hook-up and it was Great! Very secluded site for a campground. Restrooms were close and VERY clean. The only complaint is that we purchased fire wood from the office and it was all wet so it didn't burn. They were helpful and offered us another bundle that was dry.
Sep 27, 2016
We enjoyed this campsite, we were in the back section a little away from the interstate. The grounds were clean bath house clean and recyclables and trash bins close. Staff was nice and Heather was very easy to work with and helpful for sites to dine
Sep 27, 2016
Absolutely perfect location for all the things I wanted to do
Sep 27, 2016
A bit iffy. Wifi poor as too great a distance from office to far edge of site which virtually "backs on " to Interstate 44 so pretty noisy.Our back up did not have dump facility.Grocery shopping a long way away and Canton did not have the best facilities ! Hosts very friendly and doing their best.Have a feeling that this is a site in development
Sep 27, 2016
Location is good, close to Asheville and reasonably priced. Sites just ok in upper section. Trees need a lot of trimming; top of RV hit a bunch.
Sep 26, 2016
Clean, spacious RV sites, supper friendly hosts, overall a great KOA
Sep 26, 2016
Camp sites to close,you are on top of next site. WIFI DID NOT WORK
Sep 26, 2016
Very clean. staff was helpful and joyfull!!
Sep 25, 2016
Our stay was pleasant and lovely at this KOA. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was clean and well-kept. We will definitely be back!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy