Asheville West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

Email

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 21, 2017
Excellent! One of the nicest parks we have been in. Staff very helpful and nice. Will be back.
Jun 21, 2017
Friendly staff & clean shower facilities. Sites are small & thus feel tight.
Jun 20, 2017
Great visit
Jun 20, 2017
Had a great time. Nice quiet campground. Really enjoyed the hiking trail.
Jun 20, 2017
Good location near Asheville and breweries as well as hiking trails. The campers near us were quiet; just have to get used to the road noise from I-40. Nice people working there.
Jun 20, 2017
Spaces are small & VERY close together. Bathroom hot, stuffy & too small for amount of people there. Very loud highway noise throughout. Wifi didn't work. The office people are nice, I think they're trying to make it better, but it still needs work. Playground & pool were ok. Our site was tiny & everyone walked through it to get to the bathroom.
Jun 19, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
Convenient to Ashville17, Waynesville, groceries, etc. Nice people runnnig it. Wide level pads. Hope they control some of the traffic noise from I40 eventually.
Jun 19, 2017
Husband, dog, and I stayed for 3 nights in a sleeper cabin. Fantastic staff, great location to Ashville and surrounding nature, property and ammeneties well maintained, plus many extras (trails, propane grill, herb garden, pool, campfire pits with swings, and outdoor kitchen). Thanks for a great visit!
Jun 18, 2017
Very friendly staff. Very clean and adequate sites. I stayed over night with a 38' 5th wheel. Didn't use pool but it looked very inviting. This is the 2nd time that I have stayed here.
Jun 18, 2017
Jun 17, 2017
Clean, welcoming, comfortable,friendly, walking paths, dog friendly.
Jun 17, 2017
Our stay was pretty good. We only were truly unhappy about a few things. One being the sewage dumb post for the rvs was entirely too close to our site. It was only a few steps away. It smelt terrible! Especially in the morning when people used it. Other was how close everyone is to each other. The sound of the interstate kinda bummed me out but there's not anything you can do about that.
Jun 16, 2017
Just one night. Served our need
Jun 15, 2017
Jun 15, 2017
Our particular site wasn't comfortable because of a feeling of "falling" downhill off the only place our chairs could be set up. HoWEVER. . . Problem is site specific- this KOA was very pleasant!
Jun 15, 2017
good
Jun 15, 2017
Only there overnight, easy in and out. Highway noise could be a problem to some people on sites adjacent to I-40 but didn't bother us.
Jun 14, 2017
Office and bathrooms were very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Sites are all dirt and gravel. Picnic tables and fire pits are on very slanted hills between sites. My main issue was with the overwhelming traffic noise, as the campground is just off the highway. The noise never stops, it's loud 24/7. If you can sleep through that, then you will probably not mind it.
Jun 13, 2017
Nice campground. Friendly staff. Clean. I will definitely return
Jun 13, 2017
Loved the amenities and everyone there was so helpful! There was even someone to guide me to my campsite late at night! Loved my stay!
Jun 13, 2017
The only negative would be the interstate noise since some sites are close to it.
Jun 13, 2017
We can really see improvements made at this KOA since we last stayed a couple years ago.
Jun 12, 2017
Jun 12, 2017
It was very nice and rustic. Restrooms and showers were very clean. My only "complaint" is the packed us in tight instead of filling every other campsite.
Jun 12, 2017
A nice, clean campground with large, pull-thru sites for motor coaches. Would stay there again except for the road noise from the interstate I-40. We are light sleepers and even with all coach windows closed and the air conditioning running could still hear the trucks at night. Otherwise, we would stay there again when in the Asheville area.
Jun 12, 2017
The tent lots are too close together..the space for tent is on uneven ground..could be a little cheaper..
Jun 12, 2017
The host/director was very friendly and thorough in her welcome and information. The restrooms were exceptionally nice and clean. The sites were very conveniently located for people touring the city. We really enjoyed our stay, even though it was just one night.
Jun 12, 2017
This was my first time staying at a KOA, and the facility and staff more than exceeded my expectations! Each plot had its own fire pit, picnic table, parking space, and a cozy little nook in the woods to put up a tent. In addition, the bathrooms and showers were the cleanest I have ever seen at a campsite. I will definitely come back!
Jun 11, 2017
Jun 11, 2017
Heather was very very helpful. She made sure I had what I needed and again extremely Pleasant very helpful. I will be back.
Jun 11, 2017
Wonderful, friendly staff. Only problem for myself, was walking on the non-uniform sized stones.
Jun 10, 2017
Jun 10, 2017
New campground. Clean, well laid out. Quiet and peaceful. We were told that it's frequently full so advise making reservations well in advance.
Jun 09, 2017
Very helpful hosts. Need to level sites and add gravel turns to mud when rains. Trim some trees. No campfires to smolder all night would be a good rule and kids do not need to play in streets or sites around RV's, coaches.
Jun 09, 2017
Nice facility, but the constant loud roar from I-40 made it impossible to sleep. Lack of sleep affected everything. Look for another place to stay if your camper is not relatively sound proof.
Jun 09, 2017
We have been staying at this KOA for many years... great folks...nice campground.. making improvements every year..
Jun 08, 2017
Nice, clean
Jun 07, 2017
We stayed in a Kabin for 4 days and loved it! This is one of the cleanest and quitest KOAs we have been too (Cabins, bathrooms, pool, campground). Bathrooms were upgraded and so clean. Location was great- about 15-20 minutes from downtown Asheville and close to a lot of great hikes. We look forward to coming back!
Jun 06, 2017
Best KOA we have stayed at. Camp grounds very clean and sites were level. Showers and bathroom very clean. Owners friendly and were able to help us with information about places to see and such. We would stay at this KOA again as it is close to everything we wanted to see and do.
Jun 05, 2017
Very nice. Easy access and clean. We did not use the facilities as we were only there one night.
Jun 05, 2017
We had a group of 17. Very helpful and friendly staff from the reservation, thru check in, on site for recommendations for food delivered and picked up. Cabins were clean, tent site quiet, RV spot convenient, large pavilion for parties and play, plus porch swings around the campfire. All excellent, especially Heather!
Jun 04, 2017
Ray was a terrific Worker and his dog Louis is a true ambassador. Heather is friendly and the definition of "hospitable." Thank you for everything!!
Jun 04, 2017
Clean, well kept, very pet friendly
Jun 03, 2017
Very clean bathrooms and laundry room. Feels like a state park with the hiking trails. Very convenient for getting around being next to I-40. Nice big sites with lots of grassy lawn areas for walking dogs.
Jun 03, 2017
Lots need to be leveled. Also dumping station very difficult to maneuver. Needs to be up dated.
Jun 02, 2017
A very nice campground in the mountains. Close to Asheville and the Pisgah hikes. Sites are roomy and terraced. Can't wait to come back and see the changes they have planned.
Jun 02, 2017
I stayed in a cabin. The cleanest facilities I've ever seen at a campground. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Great experience!
Jun 02, 2017
Too much freeway noise. Great staff
Jun 02, 2017
Love this KOA!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals