Asheville West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

Email

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 03, 2017
Lots need to be leveled. Also dumping station very difficult to maneuver. Needs to be up dated.
Jun 02, 2017
A very nice campground in the mountains. Close to Asheville and the Pisgah hikes. Sites are roomy and terraced. Can't wait to come back and see the changes they have planned.
Jun 02, 2017
I stayed in a cabin. The cleanest facilities I've ever seen at a campground. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Great experience!
Jun 02, 2017
Too much freeway noise. Great staff
Jun 02, 2017
Love this KOA!
Jun 01, 2017
Friendly staff. Clean facilities. Nice campground.
May 31, 2017
Enjoyed the campground, close to interstate, so convenient for sightseeing. Heather and staff very pleasant and helpful. Thank you for a great long weekend!
May 31, 2017
May 31, 2017
Very friendly people working, and they even have a great dog, Louie!
May 31, 2017
Park is fine, many upgrades as outlined by owner. However, management does not enforce its own rules. Cars parked on grass everywhere. Dog in pool area. Good for overnight stop. We will probably not return due to loud neighbors and unenforced rules.
May 30, 2017
We loved the area and the owners, and know they are working to improve the campground, but it was a little tight and crowded.
May 30, 2017
Very hospitable hosts. Know they are working on my comments which include adding a dog park and improving wifi. Well supervised.
May 30, 2017
This is a really well run KOA. Bathroom and showers were always super clean. Our cabin also. Not even any spider webs or cob webs or bugs. Just an amazing experience.
May 30, 2017
The fire pit was tiny, but otherwise the campground was great and I would recommend it to others.
May 30, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at KOA West. I was nervous after reading some tough reviews but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Yes, I40 is close and the traffic is noticeable but easily forgotten. There are hiking trails, a pool, pavilion with activities and several other things to keep your mind off the "extra" noise from I40. It is clean, well kept grounds and very friendly staff. Thank you!
May 30, 2017
Friendly owner and easy access to Asheville
May 29, 2017
Will be back again
May 29, 2017
We had a Great Stay, our site was perfectly located since we were in a pop up. The office staff were very friendly. The shower/bathroom area was a weird set up as the men and women were together in an odd arrangement, but they were very clean and private.
May 29, 2017
May 28, 2017
Great people. Only downside is interstate traffic noise till later at. Night when it does down. Would recommend to use any how.
May 27, 2017
This KOA is a gorgeous little place with great and friendly folks. Convenient to the highway and only 15 minutes from West Asheville.
May 27, 2017
Staff very friendly. Sites are gravel and far from level. Bath House facilities are very good. While extremely noisy, I-40 very convenient.
May 27, 2017
beautiful, well-maintained, great staff.
May 26, 2017
very friendly staff and well kempt grounds...would go back in a second
May 26, 2017
Lovely well kept campground. Friendly owner/employees. Laundry very small but clean.
May 26, 2017
Constantly making improvements. Caring and attentive staff. Close to Biltmore. Have been here many times. Earplugs greatly reduce night road noise
May 26, 2017
the Area was nice an big, very clean, We will be back to that area again and will stay there
May 26, 2017
Facilities need additional work on streets.
May 25, 2017
Great time Heather was helpful
May 25, 2017
We were near Knoxville heading east and knew this campground well. We called and was greeted with a friendly and courteous young lady who booked our site. I explained that we would be late and my envelope with site information, etc., left in an envelope with our name on it. We travel this way quite often and will definitely put this site at the top of the list to be counted on.
May 24, 2017
Nice, friendly, professional lady helped me. Very clean restrooms & showers. (Recent renovation?) Didnt like uneven sites & proximity to the freeway.
May 23, 2017
Great stopover rv park. Too close to I-40 or it could be 5 stars. Owners have done a lot of infrastructure work since we were there last year.
May 23, 2017
Nice campground but for larger units it is a bit hilly and tight. Didn't use facilities because we spent all our time with family in Asheville. It is very convenient to Asheville and there are lots of things to do there. Also, if you like to motorcycle on twisty roads, there are many around the area (BlueRidge Pky and more). Campground owner was very friendly!
May 23, 2017
The RV sites are nice & shady, however they are in need of regraveling. Even before the rains started, the site was quite muddy. Other than that, we found the staff & hosts quite friendly & helpful.
May 23, 2017
May 23, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff.
May 22, 2017
The campground was great. Nice amenities. Improvements are in progress. The only negative was that there was no cement pad at the sites. There was also very little gravel at each site. This was a problem for us because it rained heavily when we were there. We have 2 dogs and taking them out to potty without getting into a lot of mud was impossible.
May 22, 2017
Grass need tone cut. Lots of small branches on lo and I40 road noise. We
May 22, 2017
Nice updated restroom / shower facilities. Office and staff were exceptional. Sites are under renovation. Electrical and water hook ups need some attention. Overall a good experience.
May 22, 2017
Well let's just call this KOA the truck stop. Not that there's anything wrong with a truck stop. It is located literally 100 yards away from one. So if you want quiet this is not the place to go. Now the bath house was extremely clean and the staff was super nice. But we won't be back.
May 22, 2017
Great stay
May 22, 2017
Very clean restrooms and showers, the dumping station was difficult to get into it would be easier if the trees were trimmed a bit, Interstate noise was a little loud for where we were parked.
May 22, 2017
Staff was friendly and helpful. Met some nice people as well while enjoying my camping experience.
May 21, 2017
Little bit to noisy with I-40 so close by.
May 21, 2017
Nice place....
May 21, 2017
Heather was wonderful and helped us with directions and a pleasure to talk to. I would not return due to traffic noise from I 40. Could not sit outside and had to wear earplugs to block out some of the noise.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It was our pleasure to have you with us for your visit to the area! We enjoyed chatting with you! We are sorry that you were bothered by the highway. Some people are more sensitive than others with that. Unfortunately this comes with the convenience of easy on and off access to the highway...
May 21, 2017
Nice campground close to everything enjoyed it very much. Thanks

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us!! We enjoyed your visit too and look forward to seeing you all again in the future! Safe travels!
May 20, 2017
Clean campgrounds, nice facilities and tent sites. Too close to the highway though and not close enough to hiking in the area. Everything was about 1 hour+ drive.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for staying with us for your visit to the area! We are very sorry that the highway bothered you... We actually have lots of places to hike within about 30 minute or less from us. We love to point out great hiking points, just ask! :)
May 20, 2017
Roads need work. Good & friendly staff

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We thank you for your visit and enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again! We are constantly working on improvements on our park and the roads are no exception. In fact this past year we have laid over 800 tons of road bond down! That's a lot of stuff! I'm sure there will be more before we are done.
May 20, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals