Asheville West KOA

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 14, 2015
Nice stay here. Central to all we wanted to do.
Jun 14, 2015
Heather was so friendly and helpful. Everything was clean, including the showers/bathroom. We didn't hear noise from the interstate inside our cabin and it was a great, inexpensive place to stay while visiting Asheville. Great place for families!
Jun 13, 2015
Brief but enjoyed it very much.
Jun 13, 2015
Just used it for a sleep over on the road late pulled in at 1am left at 10am from what we saw it was a nice location
Jun 12, 2015
Although very close to the interstate, we were very pleasantly surprised by this place. Restrooms were beautiful and very clean. Came in late but had called ahead and everything was ready for us when we pulled in. Would definitely use again if visiting the area.
Jun 10, 2015
Jun 09, 2015
Camping sites are right on top of each other and not surrounded by trees on 3 sides like the pictures on the website. Staff was great and refund policy appreciated when our plans changed and had to leave early.
Jun 08, 2015
very clean and a beautiful area, much to see and do, staff could not be more helpful or friendly
Jun 08, 2015
Wonderful, helpful people. The location has the expressway close by and the trucks are noisy at night. Many campers are one nighters on their way to another location.
Jun 08, 2015
2nd year we stayed here. Great customer service. We had a large group and they were very accommodating to ensure we were all close together. Friendly staff and relaxing environment. I am sure our next trip to the area will be at this location again.
Jun 08, 2015
We loved the layout of the site with the central range, sink, and communal areas. The cabins, restrooms, and showers were exceptionally clean. Our A/C unit worked well, and the staff was friendly. This site is not for those seeking a secluded experience, but it was perfect for travelers seeking rest after a long day. Thanks very much for building such a great site!
Jun 08, 2015
Sites are small and not maintained well. Overgrown trees and ants were everywhere... Could barely park our car after putting up our tent. Luckily it wasn't very busy, Im sure it would be a nightmare. Sold us wood that wouldn't burn pretty sure it was pine as the sap just kept running out of it. We won't go back. We love KOA but not this one
Jun 07, 2015
While the staff was very helpful and the campground was lovely, it really isn't set up for Big Rigs such as ours. It was very scary trying to maneuver the turn into our space. Would definitely recommend this KAO to anyone with a smaller rig.
Jun 06, 2015
Accommodating, very clean and great friendly folks. I liked the 24 hour access to laundry and game room.
Jun 06, 2015
Nice campground, would not visit again because just too much road noise from I-40. Couldn't sleep.
Jun 05, 2015
Friendly service, BUT Trees need to be trimmed as we scratched the top of our motorhome twice on the way to our pull through spot. Traffic noise is unfortunate. Highway noise
Jun 02, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Heavy brush covering the entrance sign to campground making it easy to miss the turn. When driving a large RV with a car, it's impossible to back up and there's no place to turn around. I talked to the host about cutting the brush; however, he said that's the hwy dept responsibility. If I was managing the campground, I would just cut the brush to alleviate the problem.
Jun 01, 2015
Excellent KOA....will come again. Thank you all for a great experience.
Jun 01, 2015
Nice, clean well maintained. Owners were friendly and helpful. The ONLY negative is the noise from the interstate.
Jun 01, 2015
Very nice staff! The campground is right next to a very busy highway and the road noise is terrible. Being on a mountain the trucks are using their engine brakes which makes it EXTREMELY loud. Pretty nice place but the noise is unbearable.
May 31, 2015
Nice electric/water sites, better than many parks. Clean rest room and laundry.
May 31, 2015
Our stay was great. The owners were helpful. We were in town due to my father was in a local hospital and we were not sure on how long we would be staying. She suggested a way that would allowed us the flexibility we needed and saved us money. The campground was clean, quite and we enjoyed our stay.
May 31, 2015
Beautiful bathrooms and shower rooms. Stayed in a cabin and liked the 4 top electric cook stove and double sink in the communal outside kitchen.
May 31, 2015
First night awful site and terrible road noise from I-40. Moved to other side of campground, much better, but not the best KOA we've been at.
May 29, 2015
The man who took care of us (don't know his name but he was a Viet Nam vet like my husband) was very friendly and made our time there very enjoyable.
May 28, 2015
Employees were great. Everyone was very friendly. However, our site was tiny. We couldn't even park our truck on our site. We had to park on the site next to ours. To make matters worse, the people across the street parked in the street so it was near impossible to get our camper in or out.
May 27, 2015
Our stay was great however we would have preferred concrete pads instead of dirt. I think additional activities would be more desirable also. Mini Golf, rental bikes are a couple of suggestions. Maybe even a playground.
May 26, 2015
They went out of their way to help us deal with a medical issue while we were here. Great folks!
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Rex, Heather and Paul embody the "will do" spirit of KOA. Helpful and engaging. A well-maintained facility. Well Done!
May 26, 2015
Small, nice, quiet. Very clean and the kids loved the pool.
May 26, 2015
Welcoming staff and beautiful grounds make this KOA hard to miss. I tent camped Memorial Day weekend 2015 and had an excellent time! Great location; minutes from Asheville, surrounded by a number of attractions in the mountains. There is a good deal of road noise on the site as it is adjacent to I40 but otherwise just a superb campground!
May 26, 2015
Nice staff and bath houses were very clean!
May 26, 2015
The sites are large and provide for plenty of room and the staff is very helpful and friendly.
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
The lady that works and/or manages this KOA is very friendly and helpful. Smiling faces and good customer service brings return customers! We'll be back if we return to the area. Thank you.
May 26, 2015
I liked that the KOA was close to Louisville but the way my site was set up was poor planning. The table had to be situated right next to the electric cord, sewer, and water hookups. There was very little room to do much of anything in the space. The restrooms were clean and the front desk was helpful. I really didn't like using a key for the restroom. I have stayed at many KOA's and this is
May 25, 2015
May 25, 2015
We only stayed for 2 night but the personal were very friendly. And the next time we are traveling through we will use them again.
May 25, 2015
May 25, 2015
Very nice and clean camp ground. The weekend we were there was Memorial day and it was full, but even with that the bathhouse was excellent. You couldn't tell anyone had been there. It was quite and peaceful. We would highly recommend it to anyone. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to our next visit.
May 25, 2015
We understood that we would have cable tv but only had three cannels and you had to register for wifi . Register, really. Campsites very close together. However, we were glad to have a safe place to stay after a long drive and late arrival. We were directed to our site by a very nice man that had to get campers to move their trucks so we could even get in. Would I return? Probably not.
May 23, 2015
Staff member Heather is very courteous and friendly. We are new to RVing, so we have a lot to learn, but with Heather's help we felt like old pros. The facility was kept in impeccable condition. Very impressive.
May 23, 2015
May 22, 2015
We stayed in the cabin w/o a bathroom. It was clean and just steps away from the shower house. Shower house and bathrooms were also clean. The park was nice and quiet and very pet friendly. The reason I gave it 4 stars is because the full size mattress was unbearable to sleep on so I had to sleep on a twin bed for my stay. Also a small fridge would be great in the cabin.
May 21, 2015
Very steep entry, our ac blue breaker not sure if a elect. Input issue. We just shutoff our ac and reset breaker didn't use. People nice
May 21, 2015
It was a beautiful place. And we hope to stay there soon again. Also great for our dogs.And we loved the pizza .
May 21, 2015
Great facilities and friendly staff but so close to highway the bed in the cabin vibrated.
May 20, 2015
enjoyed tent camping at KOA, clean, very nice rest rooms and showers and the staff were all super nice.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.