Asheville West KOA

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 04, 2015
Arrived late and keys were thoughtfully set aside for us. Kids loved the bunks in the cabin, adults enjoyed waking up in a brisk, clear morning - in August! Clean all around, and some lightly woodsy scenery. Best KOA we've ever visited.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
The staff was very welcoming and helpful during our stay, they even helped us plan our day. :) we will definitely be back .. Thanks again for the weekend get away
Aug 03, 2015
Nice camp, clean.
Aug 03, 2015
This location was convenient to downtown Asheville with clean restrooms and showers. It was well maintained and quiet at night. I'll be back.
Aug 03, 2015
Bathrooms clean and tidy. Campgrounds clean
Aug 03, 2015
The place was nice, but early morning there was a smell from a nearby factory. Staff was very nice and facilities very clean and well taken care of. The campsites them selves could use a little more gravel to keep the dirt down.
Aug 03, 2015
clean! Small-- but had nice trails and some games, an outdoor grilling kitchen and nice area for the basic cabins. Everything is close together, but there are trees and everything is well maintained.
Aug 02, 2015
Very clean bathrooms, level sites. Very family oriented, close to Asheville for sightseeing. Staff courteous and helpful.
Aug 02, 2015
It was beyond great it was perfect
Aug 01, 2015
Not an easy access for large motor home - towing. Steep driveway and narrow interior roads. Interior roads need attention as they are very rough. Trees need trimming as several rubbed on my unit. Much to pricy for the value received.
Aug 01, 2015
People were very friendly, camp grounds were in excellent shape.Sites were shady and the place was just great. Thank you for letting us stay there and we will be back.
Jul 31, 2015
Very friendly staff and other guests were very attentive to the quiet hours.
Jul 31, 2015
Very nice, clean and welcoming
Jul 31, 2015
my only complaint was the noise from the interstate which can't be helped.
Jul 31, 2015
Very friendly and helpfull Staff. Depending on the wind direction the noise from the nearby I40 and the Truckstop is always present. The Restrooms and showers were very clean. The Campsites are big enough. In my opinion this Campground is better for RVs.
Jul 30, 2015
V Ery friendly staff and a well kept park.0
Jul 30, 2015
Unfriendly staff in the office. She had an attitude. Park was average. Nothing to brag about for the amount they charge.
Jul 29, 2015
Too close to the interstate and no activities for our kids just a pool to swim in and no game room either. Not likely we will go back there.
Jul 28, 2015
Convenient to asheville and Biltmore Estate,also right off interstate. Very friendly and helpful by owner and staff. Low hanging limbs for motorhome, trees need trimming.
Jul 28, 2015
Had an amazing stay. The cabin was clean and the swings by the fire were so relaxing. Staff was very friendly and helpful!!!
Jul 27, 2015
I enjoyed my stay. It was my kind of campground. Rustic, very shaded. Everyone seemed to be having a nice time. My only complaint, as I have read in other reviews is the noise from the interstate. BUT - if you want to stay in the Asheville area, no matter which campground you go to you will hear the interstate. It really was not that loud and did not interfere with the good relaxing time I h
Jul 27, 2015
Wonderful cabins. Clean campground. Friendly and accommodating staff. Can't wait to come back!
Jul 27, 2015
it was great except for th esnake coming out of the woods.
Jul 26, 2015
Not what I expected for a KOA. Asheville east is a beautiful place. Asheville west leaves much to be desired.
Jul 26, 2015
when traveling though Asheville love to stay here
Jul 25, 2015
Very nice and clean. Staff was very nice as well. Wish it was not so close to hwy. Noisy at night with trucks. Would like our own campfire pit instead of shared one.
Jul 25, 2015
The KOA, cabin and staff were wonderful. We had an obnoxious, drunk neighbor that would not leave us alone and honestly terrified me to the point that I didn't stay both nights and left and stayed at the days inn next door.
Jul 25, 2015
Great area, great host, well kept camping areas. I stayed in the cabins, really liked the cooking and fire pit areas. Met some new friends. Hope to return with a camper and spend more time here.
Jul 25, 2015
We pulled in at 5:40 and no one was there at check-in. They would not accept a check, and we did not feel comfortable leaving a credit card number with no one there. We paid cash. The tent site was nice though.
Jul 24, 2015
great camping... great ownwers
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 22, 2015
Love this place. Maybe back in October.
Jul 22, 2015
Loved the location - so close to Asheville and Black Mountain. Everything was so clean and organized.
Jul 22, 2015
My family enjoyed our stay at the KOA. The staff were very friendly & helpful. The campground & facilities were clean. We have never stayed at a KOA, but the campsites were very close together. When the campground was full on Saturday night, it was loud & too crowded/close to each other. When it cleared out on Sunday, we enjoyed our space. The pool was small but served its purpose to cool off.
Jul 22, 2015
Beautiful grounds, friendly staff
Jul 21, 2015
Very clean and well run. Near highway, but quiet and lots of shade. Employees very helpful and friendly.
Jul 20, 2015
Very small and quite campground right on the side of a mountain. Great view out or window in all directions. Owners were quite nice.
Jul 20, 2015
Walking trail is wonderful. Red mud at camper door not so good. Broken sewer connection also not so good.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Everyone we encountered at the KOA in Asheville West were so kind and welcoming. From reservation to check-in, during our stay and check out they treated my whole family (including our quite talkative son) with respect and understanding. We will come and visit again!
Jul 20, 2015
Nice place, little road noise but with ac going not really a problem, very clean place
Jul 20, 2015
Nice and shady.Very clean
Jul 19, 2015
The corner lots are great...very nice staff and very clean and quiet....
Jul 19, 2015
Rustic. ...(which we liked) . The fish pond was a joke. Pool too small.
Jul 19, 2015
site sewer connection broken,site not level, mud on patio side of site
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 18, 2015
Heavy rains made sites and roads muddy could use some new stone and grooming
Jul 17, 2015
The campground was convenient and met our needs. It was very noisy with traffic noise from in early interstate. Clean showers and bathrooms. Did not seem very customer focused as we asked to stay two hours past check out longer due to unforeseen medical issue as was told, no had to move by 1100 as someone was coming in at 1100 for our site. Will not stay there again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.