Asheville West KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

Email

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 11, 2015
The campground was clean and scenic. Loved that the showers and restrooms were in the building with the office. It was warm on a chilly morning! It was quiet even with the interstate hum. (We have camped in enough campgrounds to know that easy access to the interstate often means road noise). Staff was friendly and welcoming. Really appreciated being flexible with our reservation. Will return!
Oct 10, 2015
Friendly staff. Very clean bathrooms and well kept campground. Daily trash pickup. Good WiFi and cable system. Some highway noise. Good location for exploring.
Oct 09, 2015
Oct 09, 2015
KOA Facility itself was great. Welcoming staff and clean. This KOA is a one night stopover and not a destination campground. The one huge detractor is the highway noise. You literally overlook the interstate and the traffic noise is so bad it forces you to spend most of the time inside. Great launching point for the many spots in and around Asheville but not a campground to spend you day at.
Oct 09, 2015
Great place
Oct 05, 2015
Stayed here during the 500 year flood rains October 2015. The camp personnel were awesome. Everything was wet and muddy but they managed to keep the roads open, the bathroom spic-n-span, and the laundry open 24 hours. Fortunately the campground is high up on a hill so the floods did not hit us although the flood waters got into some of the lower campgrounds. Great place! Wonderful people.
Oct 05, 2015
Pleasant stay. Level sight. Good roads during rainstorm. I did not want to disclose e-mail information to use the internet. I was told this policy is being amended.
Oct 03, 2015
We have been having a great time staying at KOAs across the country.
Oct 03, 2015
Heather, Paul, and Karen all helped to make our stay memorable. Everything was so clean. We originally booked our stay for one week and then we were so happy there that we decided to spend the remainder of our trip at that campground.
Oct 03, 2015
It was a wonderful KOA...the people were helpful and friendly...The owner had tickets for Biltmore house and suggested a two day pass...Perfect!!! Had a lovely stay...
Oct 02, 2015
Sites were nothing but dirt with little gravel and it was raining so mud was everywhere. Our site was just a few hundred yards from the freeway and very noisy. Campground was not well kept.
Oct 02, 2015
We stayed two nights that rained cats and dogs. Our sight held up really well. We look forward to our next visit!
Oct 02, 2015
Convenient location to the Blue Ridge Parkway, friendly staff, clean cabin and restrooms and nice game room and laundry area.
Sep 30, 2015
Too Close to I-40 I never slept a wink.
Sep 30, 2015
Nice camp ground. Room for big rigs with pull through sites. Somewhat remote location, but right off I 40 with easy access. Fair amount of truck noise from the highway. People there were very nice and prices were great. I would recommend it, just run a fan at night to tone down the highway noise.
Sep 30, 2015
It rained everyday, but the campgrounds and helpful staff made our stay a cheery one.
Sep 30, 2015
Very muddy (no fault of CG). Too, close to Interstate, way too much noise. Roads too narrow, and need rough. Road to CG too narrow and steep.
Sep 29, 2015
One of the worst I've stayed in. Sites not close to level and with rain-muddy. Campers hooking up clogged the road, not enough room. $40 way too much for poor sites with only pwr and water. Does not rate koa label.
Sep 28, 2015
Poor wifi. Never could get on Internet
Sep 28, 2015
Older KOA with a great staff. Close to Asheville only problem is noise from interstate
Sep 28, 2015
The cabin was very uncomfortable. The little shop was closed. the campground is is not close to anything.
Sep 28, 2015
Always stop here if we are in the area. The hosts are always so welcoming you feel you are visiting friends. Bathrooms are always clean.
Sep 27, 2015
liked it
Sep 24, 2015
The owner was welcoming and the site on the hillside was nice. There was a wide open area for dog play, and bags and trash can were nearby.
Sep 24, 2015
A little difficult to get to but once their it's easy to get around. Office was closed when we arrived, but our paperwork was easily accessible and we easily found our site.
Sep 24, 2015
Just a stopover while visiting Biltmore
Sep 23, 2015
Clean, quiet, convenient. Best sleep I've had in quite a while.
Sep 23, 2015
This was our 2nd visit to this KOA. We stayed in the cabins and loved the addition of the swings! We will definitely stay there again. Cabins were very clean along with bathrooms and showers.
Sep 23, 2015
Sep 22, 2015
Very nice staff and very clean campground
Sep 22, 2015
This park was very nice, friendly staff and close enough to Asheville. Small downside is that the interstate noise fairly loud. But, the convenience of this park is worth it.
Sep 22, 2015
Super nice staff and facility!
Sep 22, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
we stayed in one of the cabins and it was full of bugs and the bed,it is one of the most worst nights sleep i have ever had they were horrible we had the cabin for two nights and only stayed one the campground had nothing to offer for us except the pool witch was to cold for us to swim no activities going on we have stayed at a few koas this one was the worst and not to mention the road noise
Sep 21, 2015
We would have given a perfect score, but for the traffic noise from I-40.
Sep 21, 2015
Nice clean campground. The only reason not 5 stars is because of the noise from highway.
Sep 21, 2015
Camping site #23 really doesn't have a nice area for a tent. Bath houses small and one door wouldn't lock. Fairly noisy campground in general disrepair.
Sep 21, 2015
Well maintained camp with helpful staff. Very happy with experience.
Sep 21, 2015
Sep 20, 2015
Camp ground was nice and well maintained. Staff was friendly and kind. Problem was the noise from I-40. The camp ground is too close the the interstate. So location, location, location. Like I said everything else was fine. If you stay in your RV then you are fine. Me I like to set outside.
Sep 20, 2015
We had a great time. Everyone was very friendly and helpful! Facilities are well maintained and the other campers are friendly and polite. Great campground!
Sep 20, 2015
Sep 19, 2015
Great place and friendly staff. Stay was in deluxe cabin and enjoyed it very much.
Sep 17, 2015
This KOA was clean and beautiful!!! The grounds are nestled in a mountain setting. It was really nice. My only complaint is that it's right next to the highway....I felt like I was sleeping on the expressway. Very loud with traffic and took away from the camping experience.
Sep 17, 2015
Liked the country setting, extreme road noise at campsite
Sep 16, 2015
Friendly staff, very helpful, campground clean.
Sep 15, 2015
Camp was as advertised. It was clean, well maintained ans staff was helpful.
Sep 15, 2015
Sep 15, 2015
Nice, clean campground with wonderful accommodations. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. We will return!
Sep 15, 2015
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals