Asheville West KOA

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jan 05, 2015
Jan 04, 2015
Great staff, great spot to stay.
Jan 02, 2015
Nice facilities. Bathrooms were very clean. Used the kamping kitchen several times. We stayed two nights in one of the more basic cabins. No complaints except that the last day our heater started putting off an unpleasant smell. Not sure what it was.
Dec 31, 2014
Loved the lodge going to have a hard time going back to the cabins.
Dec 30, 2014
Road noise (interstate 40) was more than we expected
Dec 29, 2014
We had a blast. The staff was friendly. Although in winter months there is not much to do in the campground it is very relaxing and quiet. The restrooms were clean and the cabin was warm and cozy. We enjoyed!
Dec 29, 2014
Great staff, easy in and easy out, nice patio site, and it was quiet just what my wife and I was looking for.
Dec 26, 2014
Asheville West KOA is wonderful! We've stayed multiple times, and it's always clean, staffed by excellent people, safe, relaxing and fun. The campground has nice trails to hike and a great atmosphere. Thanks for keeping it so very nice!
Dec 25, 2014
Paul was great to host and take care of all our camping needs during our stay. Even though it was winter time and very rainy, we enjoyed our stay. As always a nice KOA campground.
Dec 16, 2014
Dec 16, 2014
Dec 13, 2014
Great location for touring the Asheville area!
Dec 11, 2014
Great place to stay. The folks in the office are super friendly and even took our LP tank to fill it while we set up the RV for the night. Definitely recommended.
Dec 09, 2014
Dec 08, 2014
Friendly staff, clean rooms/bathrooms. Beautiful grounds and trails! We will be back!
Dec 07, 2014
It is a Nice campground, close to many things and Asheville, but need earplugs at night. If you have a big rig you are parked next to interstate 40, loud at night. Also trees need some trimming as you leave with a big rig, the side got scraped by the overhanging tree branches.
Dec 04, 2014
Dec 03, 2014
One word... Awesome! Close to our Family we visit each November. This is not our first and won't be our last time staying at KOA West-Asheville. Thanks for helping us continue to make memories! The Webb-Hughes-Cunningham Family
Dec 03, 2014
This is an amazingly clean and well tended campground!
Nov 30, 2014
Very clean and nice facilities with an outstanding staff. They made our stay very pleasurable.
Nov 28, 2014
Great place to stay. Very pleasant staff.
Nov 27, 2014
Amazing customer service, easy to find and the area is beautiful. The showers and bathrooms were always clean and it was super close to Asheville. I stayed in one of the smaller cabins they have and I had no issues with hearing traffic or trains that others were complaining about. I definitely recommend it and hopefully will be coming back soon.
Nov 26, 2014
Great place! Well maintained and quiet, friendly staff
Nov 25, 2014
We recently stayed in a two-night rental of a Kampong Kabin. This was our 2nd visit to the campground and we will definitely be back! I would love to see more themed and family friendly activities throughout the year.
Nov 19, 2014
Nov 17, 2014
Our scout troop found the camp to be clean and well kept. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bath facility was heated! It was 15 degrees when we got up Saturday morning so that was great. We were on our way to Lost Sea but wish we'd had more time at Asheville West.
Nov 16, 2014
Nov 12, 2014
The staff were all friendly and helpful. Our dogs loved the hiking trails in the campground.
Nov 12, 2014
The cabin I stayed in was a clean and affordable. We chose this as a hotel alternative so we weren't looking for a camping experience. We were warm and comfortable and the Camping kitchen was a great convenience for breakfast. I feel like the KOA cabins are a hidden gem!
Nov 11, 2014
Highway noise with trucks using air brakes on the hills. Things were stolen. Nice laundromat.
Nov 08, 2014
I called ahead so I would have a site, and so I had the code for Internet, but the man told me just to come in their was space. I new we would be there after dark and it is hard finding a site when you are towing a car. They wouldn't take a reservation, I think this was bad ownership. You need to check up on this place.
Nov 07, 2014
Nice break in driving from Ohio to the Southern destination,, Enough signs to get to Campground from Interstate 40..,
Nov 06, 2014
Courteous and friendly staff, clean, quiet and spacious sites. We are return visitors and stay when we visit family in Asheville. Thank you again for maintaining your high KOA standards!
Nov 03, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. Seemed as if campers were squeezed together in a small space. Need more "full hook up" sites??
Nov 03, 2014
just stopped for 1 night, travelling to Myrtle Beach then to our place in Florida. It was fine, just had issues getting there because the highway was closed at the Tn and NC border, so not sure if we would ever go that way in nov again because of snow in the mountains but that has nothing to do with the campground.
Nov 01, 2014
The site had the water hookup on the opposite of where of where it should have been. The TV hookup was in an awkward location. Even though the rules stated no onsite RV washing was allowed the people in the RV next to us, uphill, washed their RV, in a rainstorm, and their . This created a muddy mess in our site. There was a staff member aware of this but did nothing to stop the RV washing.
Oct 30, 2014
Oct 30, 2014
FABULOUS !!!! Just love this KOA - well run by Heather - Paul - Rex :):):) We'll be back here for sure !!!!
Oct 29, 2014
Oct 29, 2014
Nice campground.. Great communal firepit.. Showers clean but on the small side ..interstate noise noticeable but bearable...great for 1 or 2 days but I would look for more room for longer stays...neighbors campfire was 4 feet from our Airstream...
Oct 29, 2014
Sites are small by western standards. Not enough bathroom facilities for the number of campers. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Oct 28, 2014
Very quiet, beautiful campground.
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
the area where we stayed had too many campsites squeezed into a small area. We had next door parking on our site and had to ask to have a vehicle moved to pull out our trailer
Oct 25, 2014
I liked the hot showers. It could use a TLC in places.
Oct 24, 2014
Oct 24, 2014
The owners were very friendly. Clean campground and very wooded with great trails.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.