Asheville West KOA

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 23, 2015
Staff member Heather is very courteous and friendly. We are new to RVing, so we have a lot to learn, but with Heather's help we felt like old pros. The facility was kept in impeccable condition. Very impressive.
May 23, 2015
May 22, 2015
We stayed in the cabin w/o a bathroom. It was clean and just steps away from the shower house. Shower house and bathrooms were also clean. The park was nice and quiet and very pet friendly. The reason I gave it 4 stars is because the full size mattress was unbearable to sleep on so I had to sleep on a twin bed for my stay. Also a small fridge would be great in the cabin.
May 21, 2015
Very steep entry, our ac blue breaker not sure if a elect. Input issue. We just shutoff our ac and reset breaker didn't use. People nice
May 21, 2015
It was a beautiful place. And we hope to stay there soon again. Also great for our dogs.And we loved the pizza .
May 21, 2015
Great facilities and friendly staff but so close to highway the bed in the cabin vibrated.
May 20, 2015
enjoyed tent camping at KOA, clean, very nice rest rooms and showers and the staff were all super nice.
May 20, 2015
Beautiful serene setting. great park great people
May 18, 2015
Loved my KAMPING KABIN where I could sit on the front porch swing. Thanks for the map of Asheville & recommendations for tourism there.
May 18, 2015
Nice facility but the overhanging trees need to be trimmed.
May 18, 2015
Beautiful area, clean, and easy to get in and out, we stay there almost every year!
May 18, 2015
Very nice CG. Clean showers. But very noisy being right next to I-40. Had to keep A/C or fan on to block the noise at night.
May 18, 2015
Excellent family-friendly campsite!
May 17, 2015
The staff is outstanding. Very helpful and they do their best to make your stay comfortable.
May 17, 2015
Super friendly and helpful owners. The park is older but it's clear they're working on improvements!
May 16, 2015
Good campground with friendly staff. Bath and shower facilities were clean and adequate but somewhat limited. I would stay there again.
May 16, 2015
Very nice people; worked with us so we could stay on our site for an extra night due to a pesonal problem.
May 16, 2015
This is a wonderfully friendly park. The new restrooms are absolutely marvelous. Great place to stay for a day or a week. Loved it.
May 15, 2015
Love this campground! Had ice cream social during our stay. The Campground host are very nice and attentive! Will come again.
May 14, 2015
The site was barely long enough,VERY unlevel, you almost had to get on your knees to connect the water & electricity, the sewer connection was too far back so we could not utilize it. Your "Undercover boss" need to visit this KOA.
May 13, 2015
The hosts couldn't have been more helpful or friendly.
May 13, 2015
May 12, 2015
Very friendly people. Nice sites. Easy access to Asheville.
May 11, 2015
There was not that much to do there, the play ground was more for younger children. Nothing for the older children except the pool. It was close to area sights. It would be a good lace for older couples without children to visit.
May 11, 2015
The campground was very nice and clean but all the cabins are very close together. I think they should look at putting cabins on the other section of the park for some privacy.
May 11, 2015
The traffic behind the park never stopped all night, Jack breaks and all!! Sorry as the park is nice but would never stay there again
May 11, 2015
Need trash receptacles throughout site dumpster not conveniently located
May 11, 2015
Everything was well cared for and very clean. B section boathouse was wonderful. Staff was so very helpful and pleasant. Loved the French donuts. Road noise from I 40 and closeness of sites to each other were the only downside.
May 09, 2015
Extremely helpful and gratious hosts!
May 09, 2015
There is nothing wrong with the physical campground. Everything worked and was easily accessible. BUT, the water you hook up to your RV is not clear, kinda brown, and no matter where you stay in the campground you cannot avoid the traffic noise from I40. It is loud and constant.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have gone to that site and run the water. It is clear. Our water management company tests the water at least three times a week at several points on the park and all is satisfactory. The highway noise is something we can not control.
May 08, 2015
This is a very nice campground.
May 08, 2015
Would like office hours expanded; like campground. Only went on a small portion of the trail due to late arrival. Think it is awesome that it circles the entire campground.
May 07, 2015
Nice little campground, and conveniently located.
May 07, 2015
A little tight getting out with 40 ft and a tow
May 07, 2015
May 07, 2015
Sites are quite dated and the nearby highway noise is annoying. The directions to find the CG and to a site after hours were quite helpful.
May 03, 2015
very nice KOA in a great location, very clean and well kept
Apr 28, 2015
very friendly. noisy from I 40.
Apr 26, 2015
Scarry!!!! Person knocking on our door looking for a lost dog at 9:30 p.m. Felt like I was in a Stephen King novel! No one around
Apr 26, 2015
In the last 2 wks, we have stayed in 6 different campgrounds, 5 were KOAs. We typically stay at KOAs because we know what to expect. This campground was a major disappointment. Empty cans outlining the hiking trails. A fish pond that looked like a sewer runoff. Narrow gravel roads which were tight even for our 25ft motorhome. Terrible cable reception. No satellite or antenna due trees (expected).
Apr 25, 2015
Friendly and accomodating owners; good WiFi; easy access. Sites gravel, but level. Very tight maneuvering for long rigs, esp. if towing.
Apr 24, 2015
Apr 24, 2015
poor quality cable, extremely noisy because of I40 and very wet campsite
Apr 24, 2015
Very nice . Clean , close to town & interstate . Very friendly & helpfull people !
Apr 23, 2015
Short and sweet going and coming to FL.
Apr 23, 2015
We stayed in a cabin for 1 night only as we were in transit to our vacation destination. The cabin was located next to other cabins in a "U" shape, which is great for a family reunion, but did not feel private otherwise. The location next to the bathhouse was good. The campground was found to be very clean and enjoyed our stay.
Apr 23, 2015
Friendly helpful staff. Clean facility. No frills. Relaxing camping environment. Repeat visitors
Apr 22, 2015
Interstate traffic is very noisy.
Apr 22, 2015
Very nice campground, very friendly and helpful staff. Ultra clean facilities.
Apr 21, 2015
The Catv needs a better selection. I don't watch Fox but I do watch CNN.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.