Asheville West KOA

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 24, 2015
great camping... great ownwers
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 22, 2015
Love this place. Maybe back in October.
Jul 22, 2015
Loved the location - so close to Asheville and Black Mountain. Everything was so clean and organized.
Jul 22, 2015
My family enjoyed our stay at the KOA. The staff were very friendly & helpful. The campground & facilities were clean. We have never stayed at a KOA, but the campsites were very close together. When the campground was full on Saturday night, it was loud & too crowded/close to each other. When it cleared out on Sunday, we enjoyed our space. The pool was small but served its purpose to cool off.
Jul 22, 2015
Beautiful grounds, friendly staff
Jul 21, 2015
Very clean and well run. Near highway, but quiet and lots of shade. Employees very helpful and friendly.
Jul 20, 2015
Very small and quite campground right on the side of a mountain. Great view out or window in all directions. Owners were quite nice.
Jul 20, 2015
Walking trail is wonderful. Red mud at camper door not so good. Broken sewer connection also not so good.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Everyone we encountered at the KOA in Asheville West were so kind and welcoming. From reservation to check-in, during our stay and check out they treated my whole family (including our quite talkative son) with respect and understanding. We will come and visit again!
Jul 20, 2015
Nice place, little road noise but with ac going not really a problem, very clean place
Jul 20, 2015
Nice and shady.Very clean
Jul 19, 2015
The corner lots are great...very nice staff and very clean and quiet....
Jul 19, 2015
Rustic. ...(which we liked) . The fish pond was a joke. Pool too small.
Jul 19, 2015
site sewer connection broken,site not level, mud on patio side of site
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 18, 2015
Heavy rains made sites and roads muddy could use some new stone and grooming
Jul 17, 2015
The campground was convenient and met our needs. It was very noisy with traffic noise from in early interstate. Clean showers and bathrooms. Did not seem very customer focused as we asked to stay two hours past check out longer due to unforeseen medical issue as was told, no had to move by 1100 as someone was coming in at 1100 for our site. Will not stay there again.
Jul 17, 2015
Part we stayed in run down. Grass not mowed, muddy. Nice remodled bathroom. Needs maintance bad.
Jul 16, 2015
The campground is hilly, as expected for western NC. However, the sites themselves are not close to level either. Just wasn't as nice as I expected from the description/photo in KOA Directory. People, as expected of a KOA campground, were VERY friendly and helpful.
Jul 16, 2015
Highway noise was unbearable.
Jul 16, 2015
We were a little disappointed that there wasn't a BBQ grill at or near our cabin. We should have checked ahead of time. Other than that and a few hours without electricity in the evening, it was a very pleasant stay.
Jul 14, 2015
I want to thank Heather and Paul for their hospitality. We enjoyed our stay.
Jul 14, 2015
A nice stay on a very busy weekend.
Jul 14, 2015
The campground made the perfect base for exploring Asheville, Waynesville and Cataloochee Valley.The campground was very clean and well maintained.
Jul 14, 2015
It's a good campground for pass thru stay but not to many activities if you want to spend an extended stay.
Jul 13, 2015
Very clean and nice area for the cabin we rented .
Jul 13, 2015
only stayed overnight as half way stop between Myrtle Beach and home, but found everything CLEAN and enjoyable
Jul 13, 2015
Nice big camp sites, shaded, graveled. Nice staff. Noisy because it is very close to HWY 40. Clean bathrooms, unisex showers, same entrance for his/hers restrooms, weird arrangement. But overrall nice.
Jul 13, 2015
Great customer service. Beautiful new shower house. Would stay here again!
Jul 12, 2015
Overall the staff was friendly and helpful. There was a host staying on site at the top section. The trash was checked regularly and the bath house was clean. There is some road noise but it was tolerable on the back part of the campground. Overall, nobody bothered us and the folks we came in contact with were friendly. There were several nice areas for pet walks.
Jul 12, 2015
Nice little trails here for a nature hike.
Jul 12, 2015
We have been coming to this KOA for man years. The work that is put in to keep this an excellent place to stay is everywhere. I especially enjoyed the swings around the fire pit. So relaxing at the end of the day.
Jul 11, 2015
Very clean, very close to Asheville, staff friendly, campsite great
Jul 09, 2015
The sites are ok, but lanes to get to your site and away are too narrow. Also highway noise is a big factor.
Jul 09, 2015
The hosts were great, the site was good, the location was good (proximity to I-40). Our only 'complaint' would be the noise from I-40.
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 09, 2015
Clean bathrooms and showers. Can hear highway noise, but didn't affect sleeping, like white noise.
Jul 08, 2015
Very friendly staff. Nice facilities. Beautiful woods and landscape. We stayed here over 4th of July weekend. Fireworks display was good. We will be back.
Jul 08, 2015
Clean campground, very friendly and helpful staff.
Jul 08, 2015
our campsite was too small for our camper and truck -
Jul 07, 2015
Fantastic campground. It was smaller and just so neat. They had a scavenger hunt for our kids then a water balloon toss. Our children had such a good time. We also took advantage of all the trails, wonderful trails to hike around. When we visit Asheville, we will definitely be coming here again.
Jul 07, 2015
Traffic noise from I-40 was extremely loud.
Jul 07, 2015
We were in a 34' towing a jeep. We had a pull thru and tried to get satellite but settled on cable and it was great. It was quiet, clean, and all utilities worked perfectly. We are staying here again in a few days, and are looking forward to it
Jul 06, 2015
I loved the community setup for the Kamping Kabins. It made for a sociable stay with fellow campers.
Jul 06, 2015
Everything went well. The pool was a big factor in our choice. Staff was great. Only thought is to cut back tree limbs from the roadways. I had to back out to avoid some down the second row.
Jul 06, 2015
Very nice, small campground and very pleasant staff.
Jul 06, 2015
Everything was great the only thing I say is that the wifi was kinda slow so I couldn't upload photo to share our time camping on the social media site but other then that I had a great time the fireworks show was a beauty.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.