Asheville West KOA

309 Wiggins Road

Candler, NC 28715

Reserve: 800-562-9015

Info: 828-665-7015

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 03, 2015
We really liked staying there...may try to visit again...
Jul 02, 2015
good
Jul 02, 2015
Great location for visiting the area. Cabin K1 was below the standard cabin we have used at other KOA location: screen door needs repair, main door needs to be shaved on the bottom and the electrical plug is very inconvenient located below the AC unit. Staff was very friendly.
Jul 02, 2015
Had a great time. All of the folks were very friendly. The only negative I have is the traffic at all hours of the day and night.
Jul 01, 2015
Great campground. Easy check-in. Good cable and Wi-Fi.
Jul 01, 2015
Nice and small. Highway noise wasn't bad like I thought it would be from our site (close to office) lower sites by road were loud.
Jul 01, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
Good
Jul 01, 2015
This KOA was not what I thought KOA campgrounds are supposed to be. The owner-the lady- was not very friendly or pleasant, the road noise was horrendous, and there was a smell of urine all over the upper loop of the campground both mornings we were there. The only positive was the older gentleman that serves as night watchman on the weekends. He was very kind and helpful.
Jun 30, 2015
Always the best KOA for us! Will be back soon.
Jun 30, 2015
Very clean and nice extra touches. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable.
Jun 29, 2015
People were super nice and everything was clean. Was disappointed in the campsite. Would have been nice to have a cement pad.
Jun 29, 2015
RV sites need some upgrades
Jun 29, 2015
Asheville West is a great place to stay short term. It was a bit noisy due to nearby I40 traffic. The pool was clean and refreshing and the staff was friendly.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
very clean and quiet. perfect place for camping. we arrived late and the porch light was left on for us. that one simple act was so appreciative and welcoming. thank you to the person who left the light on for us.
Jun 28, 2015
Campground was nice and clean. The staff was friendly. Liked the many walking trails. The pool was nice and had umbrellas and plenty of chairs. The only downside would be the traffic noise coming from the Interstate which is less than 100 yards away through the trees. But it isn't like that can be corrected.
Jun 27, 2015
Site 26 was perfect for us, and we were able to extend our stay with no problem. Of the 11 campgrounds, 6 of which were KOA's, on this trip, this was the best.
Jun 26, 2015
office closes to early we got there at 4:45 and the office closes at5:00
Jun 26, 2015
My family and I really enjoyed the campground and facilities. The staff was super friendly as well. High marks.
Jun 24, 2015
Many large tree limbs over roadways scraped the top of the coach. Loud noise from I-40; so bad sleep was impossible.
Jun 23, 2015
Full pull thru sites were not very well maintained and very small.
Jun 23, 2015
The KOA is directly by the highway. I was unable to sleep in a tent due to the sounds of trucks and cars and honking from I-40. Staying in an RV would be the only option if you're looking to get some rest. The bathrooms were very nice.
Jun 22, 2015
Vey nice
Jun 22, 2015
the children would have had a great time had there not been some GRUMPY older gentleman yelling at them as they were riding bicycles with me, a parent, on Saturday evening. And also, had we been able to get in the swimming pool on Sunday before leaving the campground. One would think that the campground attendant would wait until between check out time and check in time, to shock the pool!
Jun 22, 2015
Great property and very friendly staff. Can't wait to stay with them again.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Easy and accommodating check-in. Very clean and cozy cabin. It was a perfect fit for our little family as we passed through Asheville.
Jun 20, 2015
This was a very small KOA. Absolutely no privacy or yard like area. Our camper barely fit the sites were so tiny leaving us no where to park our large truck. The staff however, was very kind and helpful. The pool area was nice as were the restrooms.
Jun 20, 2015
We were just traveling through from HHI to home & this was a half way point.
Jun 20, 2015
Great campground,easy access and departure. Very friendly staff. Beautiful setting with nice trees. Slightly bothered by some traffic from interstate, but overall a great park. We camped in a class A with a tow.
Jun 19, 2015
Our. KOA greeter, Heather, was so helpful. She informed us of the local attractions and gave us the very best directions. Her bubbly personality was contagious. A great KOA!
Jun 19, 2015
We have stayed here many times and have always found things to be very comfortable and convenient. Some building maintenance is needed with the cabins: ill fitting doors, loose locks, etc.
Jun 19, 2015
Perfect! Clean & comfortable!
Jun 19, 2015
Jun 18, 2015
Friendly, helpful staff. The grounds are very well kept.
Jun 18, 2015
Delightful staff. Heavy traffic noise
Jun 18, 2015
Great facility overall. Staff wonderful too. Clean, pleasant and all one can expect except constant highway & truck noise in nearby distance.
Jun 18, 2015
Camping cabin was clean and kithen and bathroom were conveniently located. We plan on coming back again!
Jun 18, 2015
Just that concrete pads would be very nice.
Jun 17, 2015
Staff were helpful, knowledgable and polite
Jun 17, 2015
Stayed in the back section. Sites were not level, and very close together. Worried fire rings too close to next camper might damage them. It's right next to major interstate so very noisy. Overall campground was well-maintained and clean, people were very courteous.
Jun 16, 2015
the people were very friendly. The only sour note was the proximity to the freeway and the traffic noise. i know this is unavoidable, but never the less we were happy with our stay.
Jun 15, 2015
Great location not super crowded or congested. Only complaint is that it took a bit to get toy hauler level but this was only my second camping trip so could have been operator error but all n all very nice campground
Jun 15, 2015
This is a great place to visit the sites in Asheville. Pleasant, informative staff. Well maintained facility. Our site was level and shaded.
Jun 15, 2015
First stay ever at a KOA. Heather was great. Camp was clean and in good condition. We were very impressed.
Jun 15, 2015
some distance from downtown and friendly staff were not sure about parking an RV there, albeit small! Visitors center is the place to go! Free parking and welcoming staff.
Jun 15, 2015
It was pleasant from check-in to departure
Jun 14, 2015
Beautiful mountains.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.