Albert Lea / Austin KOA

84259 County Road 46

Hayward, MN 56043

Reserve: 800-562-5196

Info: 507-373-5170

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 02, 2013
Very pleasant reception at check-in; pleasant and helpful staff;
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
We often need a clean place with a pull-through to overnight on our way through to/from Sioux Falls, and this place works great for that. The staff is friendly and responsive, and accommodates late check-ins quite well.
Jul 01, 2013
Excellent staff
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Nothing for the kids to do outside of the pool.(Chilly when we arrived)Bathroom stalls did not lock and showers need updating and cleaning. When it rains the whole camp turns to giant mud puddle. There is no scenery and WIFI does not work. After staying 2 KOA in SD that week this was very disappointing. We left first thing in the morning.
Jul 01, 2013
Very clean campground! Staff was very friendly & helped with any question we had!
Jul 01, 2013
There was only one staff member that was friendly. The campground itself was ok. It did rain and the roads and sites were terribly messy. They could use some more gravel. The pool water was dirty. The basketball hoop is a portable one that is set up by a gravel road that is busy traffic area. Not impressed for the high price to stay here. Will not go back. Wish I would have gone somewhere else.
Jun 29, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
Small campground just off I-90 and not far from I-35. Cute with lots of trees and shade in a rural setting. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Nice place to spend a day or two while on the road.
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
very nice
Jun 27, 2013
We have stayed at this location for the past six years. The management has failed to make improvements outside of adding a couple cabins. There are limited sites suitable for big rigs and they have not maintained the interior roads or site pads. This location desperately needs to be upgraded to meet KOA standards.
Jun 27, 2013
After a very long day and a very long trip we made a reservation here and Ann, the owner, was so sweet. She took one look at my husband and took extra steps she didn't have to make our stay extra comfortable and a HUGE blessing. We woke up refreshed and ready to start again on our road trip with three young children. Thanks Ann for being an excellent hostess. We will come back when in the area.
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
nice rest rooms, high commercial toilets with elongated seats,lots of room in the showers. long pull through sites. unlike the kennebeck,sd koa. I didn't like that place at all.they shouldn't even be a koa. crummy cheap small toilets, small sites,no privacy in the small showers. they rip you off with their high prices in the snack bar.
Jun 27, 2013
Was extremely muddy, tent sites were a mess. Bathroom, outdated but clean
Jun 25, 2013
I would have like if they had an enclosed dog area.
Jun 25, 2013
super staff
Jun 24, 2013
Great and accommodating staff. Park was very clean and quiet.
Jun 24, 2013
it rained a lot
Jun 24, 2013
Needs drainage. Water everywhere. Almost got stuck approaching site.
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 23, 2013
Jun 23, 2013
Jun 22, 2013
Jun 21, 2013
The staff was extremely friendly however the roads and spaces could use a load of gravel. The heavy rain made almost all the roads a mud pit. Very messy.
Jun 21, 2013
I stayed in a small cabin---loved it---far away from others and quiet, peaceful. A good place for a good night's sleep. Thank you.
Jun 20, 2013
Jun 20, 2013
Just passing through so location worked. A lot of road noise. Restrooms weren't the cleanest
Jun 19, 2013
We had teenagers with us, because of this the rating is lower. The campground was neat, the bathrooms/showers were clean. The owners/workers were friendly and helpful. The Wi-Fi was weak at best and the pool location needs to be more centrally located. It is simply too far from our campsite.
Jun 17, 2013
Jun 16, 2013
Water system seems to need major repairs. The grounds were unkempt. The pine trees on the sites can go away so one can use their awning. The bath house need a overhaul. Roads need some lime stone or gravel to cover the mud.
Jun 15, 2013
Very well cared for
Jun 14, 2013
Jun 13, 2013
People friendly,and helpful. the road was more like a dirt road, and your site where you pull in all muddy road needs at least gravel, or better blacktop.
Jun 13, 2013
we stayed in a cabin. it was really nice especially since there was a terrific lightning storm that night. if you happen yo find a mustache necklace in the lady's shower, could you throw it in the mail to us? nancy allison 1044 paloma road monterey, ca. 9394. thanks!
Jun 11, 2013
Staff were great! Location good! But the drainage off the sites and on the road was marginal at best. Yes, there was a lot of rain --but the water was too high on the exit road not to mention getting out of the site. Would recommend this campground totally except when heavy rain is expected.
Jun 11, 2013
Jun 09, 2013
Very nice people who went out of there way to make our stay great. This was the first time that we stayed at a KOA and will be back in the future. Thank you. Jill.
Jun 09, 2013
Quiet, pretty location. Pull thru sites good sized with trees. Laundry good and cheap.
Jun 07, 2013
The people here were very nice, so it pains me to give a poor rating, The campground was a muddy mess. The roads were rutted, the sites were soupy. My shoes got stuck in the mud in my campsite. Much gravel is needed.
Jun 06, 2013
Highway noise and very dusty access road prevents higher rating
Jun 05, 2013
The Albert Lea KOA has always made us feel welcome. The sites are nice and level, which we appreciate.
Jun 05, 2013
Jun 03, 2013
Just outstanding! Our group of vintage trailers were met with goodie bags (a surprise from Ann & crew!), and the movie the night before we left was "The Long, Long Trailer"! We were treated with courtesy and respect. I've already recommended the KOA to several vintage groups!
Jun 03, 2013
From the first phone call I made until we pulled out: You were there for this customer! Ann answered my questions on the phone last winter, and your great Friday check-in crew had loads of other info for us. A young woman made and served popcorn for us Saturday night. Clean facility and lots of hot water for the shower. I'll be back!
Jun 03, 2013
The kampground was clean, neat and has grassy sites that are kept up nicely. The sites are a nice size too, not too crammed in like some other campgrounds we have stayed in. It was a great place to stay, at least for us for a couple of nights.
Jun 03, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.