Alamogordo / White Sands KOA

412 24th Street

Alamogordo, NM 88310

Reserve: 800-562-3452

Info: 575-437-3003

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Oct 18, 2014
Nice site, very friendly staff, bathhouse needs some renovation (doors can not be closed properly), very uneven walkways with a lot of 'options' to trip.
Oct 17, 2014
Campground located to close to train tracks. Heard them all night with their horns blowing. Staff was good. Appeared to be an older campground but saw signs of upgrading the facilities
Oct 12, 2014
Wet weather dampened my enthusiasm, But staff was very helpful in trying to help me locate the driest tent site available.
Oct 12, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
Tent campsite is on the main road and there was constant traffic all night. In the middle of the night stench from garbage or sewer was awful. Should relocate

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for notifying us of the odor. We'll check the area thoroughly for the source. Just for clarification - the tent sites are not on the "main" road. Rather, they are behind the pool area away from RV sites and traffic-flow in general. We apologize that traffic bothered you.
Sep 23, 2014
Good camp ground to explore the area. Nice and clean facilities.
Sep 02, 2014
PROS: The staff was very welcoming and helpful! The pool was fantastic. The showers were excellent (especially for camp showers). Nice shade at ALL of the tent sites! CONS: Tent sites were really close together. There were multiple loud trains in the middle of the night. Teens playing on the playground until midnight or later both nights we stayed (not sure they were camping there).
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Very clean & pretty site but smell bad. Except smell, I give 5star.
Aug 16, 2014
My inexperience led me not to inquire about any forecast rain; a monsoon dumped an inch and I wound up tearing down tent in morning rain. But that's not management's fault, I should ask (but I would prefer that management offer suggestions to tent campers just to make sure). Got to enjoy the pool before the storm so that by itself made this a good stay.
Aug 14, 2014
Upon arrival the campground employee gave us great restaurant recommendations and offered us wax and sleds for our trip to White Sands. She was so friendly and helpful. It was a great experience! The campsite was clean and quiet. Loved our stay!
Aug 10, 2014
The train tracks run very close to the KOA and is really loud during the night. Also, the place is really dated and there is not much grass or trees.
Aug 09, 2014
We had a wonderful time
Jun 29, 2014
Super helpful and fun. I have never been a fan of KOA until now and am converted. Great rec room, shade and pool.
May 30, 2014
Management extremely welcoming even late at night.
May 27, 2014
May 23, 2014
Besides the location of this KOA, everything was great. The facilities are well maintained, and the tent camping area is really nice--the host even brought firewood and a grill for us. The only problem I had was the KOA's proximity to the train tracks. While the trains were relatively infrequent, they were certainly close enough to feel and loud enough to wake me up. Overall, I liked this KOA.
May 13, 2014
Customer service was 5 stars. All facilities were clean. Very good location close to all kinds of outdoor activities. Free warm coffee and warm water is available in the morning for breakfast, nice!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It was our pleasure - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Please stop by if you're in the area again some day.
May 08, 2014
New owners are working very hard to make many improvements to this KOA. It will soon be in much better shape. Great area to visit

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the feedback and recognizing what we're trying to do - improve your camping experience! Day by day, week by week, we're continually adding, removing, and improving! It's a job that will never truly be done, and we're having so much fun doing it!
Feb 06, 2014
The cabin was very nice and it was clean. The facilities were also excellent. We felt very welcome and comfortable there.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.