Alamogordo / White Sands KOA

412 24th Street

Alamogordo, NM 88310

Reserve: 800-562-3452

Info: 575-437-3003

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Oct 06, 2015
People were great and very helpful. Bathrooms under construction but will probably be very nice when finished.
Oct 05, 2015
This was my first KOA stay and I am so glad I decided to stay here the night before and the night after a 2 day back country backpacking trip to white sands. Even though it's within the city, it wasn't very noisy and was clean and convenient - everything I needed. Kelly & Sandy are helpful and do a great job and I'll happily stay here again.
Sep 03, 2015
Friendly hosts, clean well maintained facility, nice grassy areas for the tenth
Aug 31, 2015
One of the best KOA's I have stayed at! The staff were wonderful and very helpful. I hope to stay again sometime!!
Aug 19, 2015
Absolutely wonderful staff, lots of amazing little touches of luxury as far as amenities go, like a lovely sitting area in the office with coffee and microwave, 24 hour laundry, free toboggans to use on White Sands, etc.Bathrooms and showers decent, but liked all the auto lights that come on everywhere you go. The landscape is quite barren and doesn't have much shade, but that's all of Alamogordo
Aug 07, 2015
Location you cannot change. Actually in the northern part of Alamogordo and the trains go thru all NIGHT long. Wish this camp were in the mountains where it is cool!


None of our marketing materials say we're in the mountains and we clearly were not in the mountains when you checked in, yet you rated low because we're not in the mountains. Please forgive my sarcasm, but your logic confuses me. The train is a 1/4 mile away across the highway, but can be heard.
Aug 05, 2015
Great tentsites. Clean bathroom and restrooms. Very friendly receptionist
Jul 23, 2015
Great campground with clean facilities. I was a bit set back to pay $22 for a tent stand for the night. I'm use to paying $10 or less for the same facilities anywhere else. Other than the price for a single person tent site, it was very enjoyable.
Jul 19, 2015
It was a really nice stay at the KOA Campground in Alamogordo. The staff was more than friendly. The showers and bathrooms are very clean. Also the laundry was fantastic. The best was the free coffee in the morning. For sure I will book once more this campground when I stay near Alamogordo.
Jul 13, 2015
My son, puppies and I had an excellent time!!
Jul 01, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
I stayed in a tent and it was great. Showers were clean and warm, and the camp staff were helpful at every turn. Five stars!
Jun 28, 2015
Very nice camp ground and the personnel were very helpful
Jun 19, 2015
Relaxing & thoroughly enjoy the pool. It was a plus that they had a sled to take to the White Sands national Monument! Great job!!!! Yay!
Jun 13, 2015
Jun 05, 2015
The staff was friendly and helpful. The ladies' restroom is undergoing renovation, but the showers are complete and private and beautiful!
Jun 05, 2015
peaceful and beautiful place
Jun 03, 2015
Jun 02, 2015
The camping itself was really good, probably one of the best I've stayed at. Only problem was the extreme noise coming from the passing trains, which simply made the camping, and probably a large part of Alamogoro, a place where it's impossible to sleep.


Thanks for the nice comments on the campground. We're trying hard to make it a pleasant environment. The train is about a 1/4 mile away across the hwy, but it can be a little noisy depending on wind direction. We will be installing fencing around the tent area to quell the noise some.
May 26, 2015
Welcoming, friendly, and understanding staff (patient with myself and 7 year old)!! Clean facility! We'll be back!!!
May 26, 2015
Buena atencion y muy limpio el lugar.
Apr 16, 2015
Belles installations
Apr 06, 2015
Very friendly staff and great rates.
Apr 06, 2015
Apr 03, 2015
The staff were very friendly and had great activities for the kids. Good location. A bit noisy being in town but still a great place to stay.
Mar 22, 2015
Mar 21, 2015
Sandy & Kelly were very welcoming & outgoing hosts, happy to help out & eager to make sure everything was in order. The site was clean & well run, the location great for local site seeing.
Feb 27, 2015
Staff is friendly and accommodating bathrooms are clean overall a great experience!
Feb 22, 2015
The hosts are great - even though they are still working on the site you feel very welcome and comfortable. Great to have free tea and coffee in the morning and use of microwave. Laundry was very clean and rec room had great table tennis and games as well as TV.
Feb 17, 2015
This one was of the better KOA's we've tent camped at. You can tell the owner's are passionate about the campsite and are making improvements. Only downside was the nearby railroad tracks but that is a location issue and not under their control.


We upgraded our tent area last year by adding water spigots, power outlets for your devices, and spotlights that can be turned on to help you set up after dark and turned off when they're not needed. We're glad your enjoyed your stay!
Jan 13, 2015
Staff was very friendly and accomodating. I wished I lived closer to go there more often. Justin, Springfield IL
Jan 03, 2015
Dec 30, 2014
The owners assisted me with all my issues which were not many. Very pleasant to work with!
Dec 10, 2014
I found the grounds, restrooms, and showers clean and well maintained. I will stay here again.
Nov 05, 2014
I was very impressed with my stay. Going back in a few days. Hunting in the area. Great couple that run the campground(son as well).Owners will attempt to accommodate you any way they can so you enjoy your visit. Great people and staff!
Oct 18, 2014
Nice site, very friendly staff, bathhouse needs some renovation (doors can not be closed properly), very uneven walkways with a lot of 'options' to trip.
Oct 17, 2014
Campground located to close to train tracks. Heard them all night with their horns blowing. Staff was good. Appeared to be an older campground but saw signs of upgrading the facilities
Oct 12, 2014
Wet weather dampened my enthusiasm, But staff was very helpful in trying to help me locate the driest tent site available.
Oct 12, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
Tent campsite is on the main road and there was constant traffic all night. In the middle of the night stench from garbage or sewer was awful. Should relocate


Thank you for notifying us of the odor. We'll check the area thoroughly for the source. Just for clarification - the tent sites are not on the "main" road. Rather, they are behind the pool area away from RV sites and traffic-flow in general. We apologize that traffic bothered you.
Sep 23, 2014
Good camp ground to explore the area. Nice and clean facilities.
Sep 02, 2014
PROS: The staff was very welcoming and helpful! The pool was fantastic. The showers were excellent (especially for camp showers). Nice shade at ALL of the tent sites! CONS: Tent sites were really close together. There were multiple loud trains in the middle of the night. Teens playing on the playground until midnight or later both nights we stayed (not sure they were camping there).
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Very clean & pretty site but smell bad. Except smell, I give 5star.
Aug 16, 2014
My inexperience led me not to inquire about any forecast rain; a monsoon dumped an inch and I wound up tearing down tent in morning rain. But that's not management's fault, I should ask (but I would prefer that management offer suggestions to tent campers just to make sure). Got to enjoy the pool before the storm so that by itself made this a good stay.
Aug 14, 2014
Upon arrival the campground employee gave us great restaurant recommendations and offered us wax and sleds for our trip to White Sands. She was so friendly and helpful. It was a great experience! The campsite was clean and quiet. Loved our stay!
Aug 10, 2014
The train tracks run very close to the KOA and is really loud during the night. Also, the place is really dated and there is not much grass or trees.
Aug 09, 2014
We had a wonderful time
Jun 29, 2014
Super helpful and fun. I have never been a fan of KOA until now and am converted. Great rec room, shade and pool.
May 30, 2014
Management extremely welcoming even late at night.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.