Alamogordo / White Sands KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3452

Info: 575-437-3003

Email

412 24th Street

Alamogordo, NM 88310

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 10, 2017
We made use of the tent area for our stay. The tent spots are quite small. One of my tent spikes started bending when I tried driving it into the ground, the bathrooms were very clean and we were impressed with the size of the laundry room.
Jul 09, 2017
Clean and wonderful amenities and friendly staff! Would definitely stay again and recommend to a friend. My husband and I stayed here for a night after camping in Santa Fe National Forest and after being in the forest, staying here felt like a luxury. Thanks for making our journey back home pleasant!
Jun 26, 2017
Camping très agreable. Les installations sont très bien.seul bémol, le train qui passe pas très loin et qui fait un peu de bruit. Mais la nuit il ne roule pas.
Jun 25, 2017
Great place to stay. Staff was friendly. Sites were very spacious for our tents. I wish that every campground that used gravel would use the same layout.
Jun 19, 2017
The camp grounds were nice and clean. (Tent site) The only problem I have is the local trains making so much noise at 3 am till 7 am. Also lots of truck noises too. Bath rooms and showers were clean. Pool was great for our family
Jun 17, 2017
The owners were friendly. Very nice.
Jun 17, 2017
Clean shower/restroom
Jun 15, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff!
Jun 08, 2017
May 23, 2017
Service was amazing. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. Tent sites could use some weed wacking and privacy. The tent sites sit right in front of a construction site which is weird and doesn't feel like you are camping. The place was safe though.
May 18, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff, all the amenities you could need, clean and well-maintained. Thank you!
May 16, 2017
Very friendly and helpful host, super clean facilities, nice tent campsite.
May 15, 2017
Best KOA I've stayed at!
May 10, 2017
Awesome service and very clean
May 10, 2017
It's really really really loud if you're tent camping. The train woke us up multiple times in the middle of the night and at 6 am every morning
May 09, 2017
This was my first stay at a KOA, but it won't be my last! I was impressed with the cleanliness of the facility (especially the bathrooms). The staff was friendly and helpful.
May 09, 2017
Very enjoyable. Great campground with plenty of amenities and nice residents.
May 08, 2017
My arrival was going to be late and they were kind enough to leave a note with my name that included instructions on where to find my spot. The bathrooms were spotlessly clean and it was great to have somewhere to plug in after a long day of driving. My only regret is I had to leave before the free morning coffee. I would highly recommend this KOA. Also my 1st time at a KOA! Thank you
May 02, 2017
Nice staff. Clean bathrooms. Improvements going on within park. Near a railroad track with trains that apparently feel the need to blow their horns dozens of time at 0200. A good Mexican restaurant is within walking distance.
Apr 24, 2017
I have no complaints about the hosts or the amenities, but the location was atrocious. Right in the sketchy industrial part of town, backing up to a trailer park. I felt extremely unsafe sleeping in a tent there. Will not recommend this "campground" to anyone.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're sorry you did not feel safe here. However, the campground is fenced around the entire perimeter and we have not had big issues with non-registered guests coming onto the property. We will continue to look at ways to make our guests feel more comfortable and safe.
Apr 17, 2017
Great campground facilities - very clean bathrooms, well maintained tent sites, and helpful staff. The scenery isn't great but you are 20 minutes from White Sands National Monument and Dog Canyon trail. Great nearby grocery store (Lowe's) too.
Apr 09, 2017
A quiet and convenient little campground. Only flaw was the wifi doesn't work well.
Apr 01, 2017
Mar 20, 2017
Clean. Friendly. Comfortable. Convenient. Safe
Mar 19, 2017
Friendly staff. Location wasn't the best, but overall, a good stay.
Mar 18, 2017
This campground is nestled in the middle of town, and definitely has an urban feel. The staff is so friendly, the facilities are very nicely kept, and the campsites come with their own spigot/light/outlet which is handy. A live band of veterans come to play folk tunes on W/F, and that was definitely a highlight of our trip!
Mar 10, 2017
Tent camping - a very pleasant and convenient spot - very smart and tidy despite upgrading works being carried out. The tent sites could do with a little shelter from the prevailing southwesterlies - hopefully this will be addressed once the new facilities are in place. Wonderful welcome; very pleasant folk running the site. Thank you!
Nov 29, 2016
Staff was very friendly and the place was clean and welcoming. There was some train noise, but it didn't bother our sleep.
Nov 25, 2016
Great campground close to town. Clean caring owners and a great price. Perfect spot to set up to vising the area. I really enjoyed my stay here.
Nov 09, 2016
Convient location, clean bathrooms, friendly hosts
Oct 28, 2016
Oct 17, 2016
The staff at the white sands, Alomogordo location are the kindest people! super helpful!
Sep 21, 2016
Alamogordo's KOA was very accommodating, and Sandy, the front desk woman was very nice! They also offer free coffee and hot water in the AM, which other KOA's have not had that option. I used a tent site, and overall it was great!
Sep 20, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
We only stayed here overnight but it was a nice place to camp out and watch the stars. The showers, laundry, and bathrooms were really nice and super clean. It was really more than what we expected.
Aug 11, 2016
It was great!! Will definitely be back again.
Jul 31, 2016
Jul 30, 2016
Clean, very friendly, very nice setting, the only thing we could even think of that was negative was squeaky hinges on our cabin door.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your kinds words and candid feedback! Keeping the cabin doors quiet is a forever battle. They have old-school wooden hinges and are hard to keep lubricated. Safe travels!
Jul 21, 2016
KOA failed. I placed in the comments that I would be arriving late. Other KOAs have left in a bin outside the office a packet where I could find my site. I was not even able to stay the night. No campsite found. My family and I had to leave to find a place to stay for the night.KOA has NOT confirmed if they will refund my one night and make it right.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We did leave an after-hours welcome envelope and it was gone in the morning, so someone stayed in that site. This guest still has not contacted us directly to ask for the refund. How can we take action unless we're informed of the issue promptly? Our cell phone numbers are on the front door...
Jul 20, 2016
Friendly staff, clean facilities, very reasonably priced. We enjoyed our stay at your facility.
Jul 18, 2016
AMAZING! Everyone who works here is incredibly nice. The facilities are extremely clean and up to date. I felt at home here and the layout of the camp is very easy to navigate, even at night. There is free coffee in the morning (which is very good coffee) and a filtered water faucet for refilling your water bottle to stay hydrated in that desert heat. We had an amazing stay!
Jul 03, 2016
They were very friendly and very very clean. We were very impressed!
Jun 26, 2016
Very friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean and amenities were as advertised. My family enjoyed our first stop on our summer adventure!
Jun 20, 2016
Was overall somewhat satisfied. Very friendly and helpful staff. KOA @ ALamogordo is right next to a rail track, so it was very noicy at night and we didn't get a "camping" experience.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

To clarify - we are not "right next to" the railroad track. There is a train that runs through town about 1/4 mile away on the other side of the highway, and you can definitely hear it, but it doesn't border the campground.
Jun 09, 2016
Being in contact with the front desk was so beneficial.
Jun 06, 2016
The grounds were impeccable! Everyone was so friendly and helpful, management was amazing! We will return and recommend to everyone!
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
May 24, 2016
It is difficult to limit our praise to 400 characters! So friendly, so clean and bright. Great Customer Service! Thank You for a wonderful stay.
May 02, 2016
Owners are a great plus. Tent sites are decent. Traffic and trains are very close.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals