Alamogordo / White Sands KOA

412 24th Street

Alamogordo, NM 88310

Reserve: 800-562-3452

Info: 575-437-3003

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2015
The big bed squeaked but the mattress was very comfortable. The AC worked great.
Jul 27, 2015
The Alamogordo KOA is the Shiz-Nit-O-Bam! The facilities are sweet, the pool was cool, and the cabins are comfy. The only complaint I have is that I didn't have more time to stay there.
Jul 27, 2015
Campground was well situated with a splendid vieuw on the lakeside and horizon. Unfortunately we had bad luck : a lot of flies (too many) on our spot ( nr. 37).

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking time to comment, but I think your comments relate to a different KOA you've stayed at on your travels. I wish we had a lake nearby, but alas, we do not here in the middle of the high desert... Safe travels the rest of your trip!
Jul 26, 2015
Very clean. Staff friendly and helpful. We have been staying at KOA campgrounds for about 20 years . Although we have never been unhappy with a KOA,this was one of our best experiences.
Jul 26, 2015
Very nice park, the staff was very helpful and the pool was great, we ended up staying an additional night here, would definitely return.
Jul 24, 2015
I would like to see recycLing at all campgrounds. Thanks

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do offer recycling of both aluminum and plastics. We don't have large dumpster type bins outside, but we do have smaller bins available in the main building. Sorry you missed them...
Jul 23, 2015
Very friendly with clean bathrooms and showers.
Jul 23, 2015
Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. The free use of the sand discs is a real bonus!
Jul 23, 2015
Very friendly! Nice fenced dog park. Spaces are adequate, solid picnic table, and nice dividers between sites. This was a very pleasant stay.
Jul 23, 2015
Great campground with clean facilities. I was a bit set back to pay $22 for a tent stand for the night. I'm use to paying $10 or less for the same facilities anywhere else. Other than the price for a single person tent site, it was very enjoyable.
Jul 22, 2015
This KOA was very quiet and convenient. The staff was very friendly and helpful with tips on activites in the area. They even have disks that we borrowed to help us slide down the sand dunes at White Sands. The doggie fenced area was kept clean and neat. We would stay here again.
Jul 22, 2015
Blown away by the cleanliness. Cleaner than most really nice hotels. Owners are extremely sweet and accommodating. I would recommend this campground all day long!!!
Jul 21, 2015
Campground was clean and neat. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. We had an issue with power after hours and--someone responded within minutes of our placing the call!
Jul 21, 2015
We had a great time and the accommodations were outstanding.
Jul 20, 2015
I had a great stay and the other campers were very friendly, so were the staff there. I will stay again if I visit the area in the future.
Jul 20, 2015
My stay was very nice. I would recommend a lunch wagon to set up breakfast and pizza. Shade area around table higher. Other than these it was nice.
Jul 19, 2015
It was a really nice stay at the KOA Campground in Alamogordo. The staff was more than friendly. The showers and bathrooms are very clean. Also the laundry was fantastic. The best was the free coffee in the morning. For sure I will book once more this campground when I stay near Alamogordo.
Jul 16, 2015
had a very nice cabin and close to restrooms
Jul 16, 2015
Sandy was wonderful, helpful and friendly. Great stay, thank you!
Jul 15, 2015
very nice friendly people
Jul 13, 2015
Very nice Really enjoyed our stay here
Jul 13, 2015
My son, puppies and I had an excellent time!!
Jul 13, 2015
Smelly camping cabin, bad drainage outside, dirty pool, and bathrooms needed renovation.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately, your timing at our campground coincided with 2 days of torrential rains. Soil was saturated leaving puddles; rains and winds dirtied the pool daily; all the moisture left a musty smell. Not normally issues in the desert. We apologize for your poor experience.
Jul 11, 2015
The best and friendliest customer service we've experienced anywhere. They are great! We will be back!
Jul 11, 2015
Stayed in the little cabin. It was clean and cozy. The camp hosts were friendly and accomodating and the camp was pristine. Will improve even more when the bathrooms are finished.
Jul 11, 2015
We had a great overnight stop with no reservations. It is obvious the new owners are working hard to make this a great park.
Jul 10, 2015
Very nice.
Jul 08, 2015
Very nice place, good accomodation at a reasonable price, staff friendly and helpful! Swimming-pool with toys, nice for families.
Jul 08, 2015
The staff was very friendly and made the stay very nice. They had s'mores for 4th of July and lent us sleds for White Sands. Great experience!
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
It was great stay. Host was great, loved the 4th celebration. Can't wait till the bathroom renovations are complete. Will be back.
Jul 05, 2015
We stayed in the one room cabin. Everything was clean and convenient. The staff was extremely helpful. They are also remodeling the bathrooms, which will be a great addition to a nice city campground.
Jul 05, 2015
Excellent customer service and very friendly staff ( owners). We stayed five days and would recommend this campground. If passing thru we would stay there again.
Jul 04, 2015
Perfect! I loved the staff (Sandy) & the rec room. The cabin was clean and cute! No complaints. Will visit again!
Jul 03, 2015
We spent two nights at the KOA to explore the local area. Our cabin was clean and comfortable. The camp hosts were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed playing ping pong in your rec room.
Jul 03, 2015
The pool was a bit too cold, but all else was very nicely done. Facilities were well maintained and clean. The design of the park was well thought-out, easy to move big rigs about without putting neighbors in jeopardy. Overall an excellent experience.
Jul 02, 2015
Stayed in one of the cabins. It was a good stay.
Jul 02, 2015
Nice cabin, nice pool, needs more shade. Friendly staff.
Jul 01, 2015
Came in late, so wasnt there long but seemed like a nice place with everything we needed. Bathrooms soon to be very nice as well.
Jul 01, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
I stayed in a tent and it was great. Showers were clean and warm, and the camp staff were helpful at every turn. Five stars!
Jul 01, 2015
We really enjoyed staying here. It was accessible to restaurants, space museum, and grocery stores. The pool was nice, the campsite was perfect, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.
Jun 29, 2015
The cabin was a typical KOA cabin, clean and comfortable. The people here are always friendly and helpful. We have stayed at this KOA before (once in a TT, this time in a cabin) and we would camp here again.
Jun 28, 2015
Very nice camp ground and the personnel were very helpful
Jun 27, 2015
Stayed one night only but this KOA was very clean, quiet and Kelly was very sweet! If I pass through Alamogordo again in the future, I will definitely stay at this KOA.
Jun 25, 2015
Very friendly staff and nice clean facilities.
Jun 25, 2015
Owner operators are pleasingly professional and caring people. Always look out for the customer. The location is a great home base for touring the area. Highly recommend this KOA.
Jun 23, 2015
One of the best KOA's, shaded sites, well maintained and very friendly and helpful! we will definitely stay again on our next trip to Alamogordo.
Jun 23, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Appreciated offer of sleds for White Sands. As First time visitors, we didn't have them with us, and didn't want to have to buy them. Enjoyed our stay.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.