Alamogordo / White Sands KOA

412 24th Street

Alamogordo, NM 88310

Reserve: 800-562-3452

Info: 575-437-3003

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Campground Reviews

Sep 16, 2014
Host was excellant. Sites and grounds need maintenance
Sep 15, 2014
The campground was in a great location. The owners had our key and welcome package waiting for us, as we arrived much later than expected. The Kabin was clean and neat.we had a great time in Alamogordo and will be back.thanks!
Sep 11, 2014
We had planned to tent camp, but were thrilled that one of the little cabins was available (more room than a tent and air conditioning). Everyone was super friendly. The grounds were neat and tidy. We will be back.
Sep 10, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 07, 2014
Very friendly. They are getting it back to a wonderful facility. Very prompt follow up too. Thanks for everything.
Sep 03, 2014
We had a great time swimming, relaxing, and playing horseshoes. The owners are extremely friendly and will help you find places of interest and directions on how to get there. Will definitely be going back.
Sep 02, 2014
PROS: The staff was very welcoming and helpful! The pool was fantastic. The showers were excellent (especially for camp showers). Nice shade at ALL of the tent sites! CONS: Tent sites were really close together. There were multiple loud trains in the middle of the night. Teens playing on the playground until midnight or later both nights we stayed (not sure they were camping there).
Sep 02, 2014
Very nice campground with amazing views of the surrounding mountains. The park hosts are very friendly and knowledgeable/helpful. The sites are big and the picnic tables have privacy built in-an added touch! We look forward to the next time we will be in this area and will be booking here!
Aug 28, 2014
Sandy was very helpful. She gave me accurate directions and was very pleasant.
Aug 26, 2014
Liked the individual patio dividers - more privacy. Also had a great laundry area.
Aug 22, 2014
The park was nice, clean and well laid out with tables and a private concrete pad lunch table in each area. Stayed two nights, two different dog runs, good clean pool and great facilities inside and only twenty minutes away from White Sands National Park and seven minutes away from the Science and Space Museum.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Friendly and don't have to worry about flooding.
Aug 17, 2014
Very clean & pretty site but smell bad. Except smell, I give 5star.
Aug 16, 2014
Great staff & park!
Aug 16, 2014
My inexperience led me not to inquire about any forecast rain; a monsoon dumped an inch and I wound up tearing down tent in morning rain. But that's not management's fault, I should ask (but I would prefer that management offer suggestions to tent campers just to make sure). Got to enjoy the pool before the storm so that by itself made this a good stay.
Aug 14, 2014
Upon arrival the campground employee gave us great restaurant recommendations and offered us wax and sleds for our trip to White Sands. She was so friendly and helpful. It was a great experience! The campsite was clean and quiet. Loved our stay!
Aug 14, 2014
I realize that this is a new KOA and the new ownership is working on improvements. But to rate it for our stay, the sites are cramped, uneven and water marks reflecting that the site would be under waterer if it rained.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback! We apologize for the dried mud in your site, but we experienced a small flood about a week before your stay. We don't normally have a bad drainage issue, but 2 inches of rain in about 40 minutes put the entire NE part of town under water.
Aug 12, 2014
Great weekend get-away. Nice people. Would stay there again.
Aug 11, 2014
The campground is going through some renovations right now but it was still a great experience. The new owners seem like they really want to build a great place. The pool was clean and they had lots of outdoor games for the kids. Keep up the great work.
Aug 10, 2014
The train tracks run very close to the KOA and is really loud during the night. Also, the place is really dated and there is not much grass or trees.
Aug 09, 2014
We had a wonderful time
Aug 05, 2014
Friendly staff. We were given saucers to use at White Sands thus saving us some money. Thanks!!! The night we stayed there was a group from France and they totally trashed the women's bathroom. I do not place fault with KOA. I love KOA Kampgrounds. Wish there was a way to "police" these large groups and keep them from making a mess in the bathrooms.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Very quiet.. The bathroom/showers well maintained. I stay here again
Jul 30, 2014
The staff was very helpful and friendly. We had a great trip and stay at this KOA. The grounds were clean, the pool was new, being right in town it was quiet, would definitely stay again.
Jul 28, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Alamogordo Koa. We love how it is getting a new makeover. Our son, Shawn loved working for Kelly & Sandy. They are very nice owners. I would recommend for anyone to come to this Koa. It is a nice quiet campground to stay at. We would love to come back again and again. Thank you, Kelly & Sandy
Jul 28, 2014
It could use some remodeling/updating. Too many permanent campers that should have been in an area by themselves. Over all it was ok for the one night we stayed there.
Jul 28, 2014
Super-friendly staff who even had treats for our dogs!. Park is in good location, and well-cared for. Our site was level and WiFi worked great. Highly recommended.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Good facilities and a nice pool. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Nice people and great place to stay
Jul 21, 2014
camp ground seemed very dated. Kids were not happy with the bathrooms.
Jul 21, 2014
Can't tell anyone enough, how wonderful we were made to feel at this KOA. Sandy and her husband went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and safe at their KOA. We are first time RV's, and of course we were bound to forget something we needed, but not to sorry, the office lent us (not sold us) a coaxial cable we needed. We highly recommend this KOA because of the office staff.
Jul 17, 2014
We really enjoyed ourselves. Good spots and great pool. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The only issue we had is all of the hookups are located at the back of the campsite. With my large 5er, all connections were stretched to the limit. We even bought additional sewer hoses. Not the fault of the new owners. They were great. Would definitely return.
Jul 17, 2014
I really wanted to rate this site better but until they redesign the old campground it's not going to rate any higher. The new owners have been there for 13 months and have rebuilt the tent area. If they continue to put money back into it they will do well.
Jul 16, 2014
Kabin is located next of dump station that bad smell. Otherwise, ok

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for your poor experience in our cabin. The dump station is about 50 feet away and usually doesn't give off any odor. However, we discovered after you left that we had a sewer blockage in the main line which was causing a backup and the subsequent odor. The problem has been solved.
Jul 16, 2014
Good luck with the renovations! You have enough room to serve a breakfast for a fee.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the well wishes, and the great feedback! Now that we're feeling more settled in as new owners, we are exploring our options for food service such as pancake and sausage breakfasts and snack bar service for the pool and recreation areas. Hope to see you again soon!
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Wonderful responsive staff, exceptionally clean sites even in the midst of construction updates!
Jul 09, 2014
Very clean well kept facilities. Wish I had know about the Space Museum; I'd have planned a week here.
Jul 07, 2014
We got in much later than we expected, only a few hours from check out. Management extended our stay at no charge since no one reserved the room the next day. It was very appreciated. The kampgrounds were neat and clean. Would highly recommend it to all my family and friends.
Jul 06, 2014
People very nice and know the area. Campground is dated but the new owners are working on bringing it up to par . Again very nice owners and workers
Jul 01, 2014
we wre only there for one night but our hosts were very helpful with our cabin and answering questions about the area. Definitely plan on coming back for a longer stay.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.