Abilene KOA

4851 West Stamford Street

Abilene, TX 79603

Reserve: 800-562-3651

Info: 325-672-3681

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 07, 2013
Hard to get out of to go west. Men's restroom mess, light covers off, one stool out of service, urinal mounted toooo high
Sep 05, 2013
Camp ground was clean and easy enough to access. It was state of the art for 1970. But for 2013 and the fee they charged I expect more (concrete sites slabs, paved roads (not patch work of patch work), more than the 3 networks on the TV cable, propane available, and just a nicer facility). For example standard fee here is $42 in Houston I can stay in a campground with all these features for $36.
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
This is a great location for an overnight stay or even a couple of days.The pool was nice and cool.Restrooms and showers were very clean. Our site was very level and people in office very nice. Easy access off of I-20. We stayed here in a 40 fifth wheel with 3 slides and had plenty of room.
Sep 02, 2013
I have stayed at this KOA many times in the past. I have always enjoyed my stay. This time was different. No one led us to our space, we just figured it out on our own. After we were set up, we received fewer than 20 TV channels, not the long list that the brochure displayed. And some of the channels were so full of static that we could not watch them. Then the WIFI was practically useless.
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
We planned to take our trailer to the deer lease, but didn't want to set up late at night. I found the Abilene KOA online and it was perfect for the night. After pulling thru a space we only needed to plug in to run the A/C - it couldn't have been easier. After a restful night, we completed the last leg of our trip and set up at the lease. This will become an annual stop for our family.
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Aug 29, 2013
Staff was extremely helpful, courteous and responded to my questions promptly. Sites were shady and accessible.
Aug 27, 2013
made a friend
Aug 27, 2013
Friendly staff and quiet kamp ground
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Price for a pull thru seems high.
Aug 23, 2013
Nice,clean and well taken care of.
Aug 22, 2013
Great place, very quiet but staff is friendly and keep the place very clean. Will stay there again if I have the opportunity.
Aug 21, 2013
Our camp site was level and the grass was trimmed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only reason I did not give this KOA 5 Stars was because the men's bathroom and shower had a few maintenance issues. One sink was out of order and the entrance door's knob was missing. BUT... It was clean!
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
just a quick overnighter but everyone was friendly and helpful.
Aug 20, 2013
Office closes too early.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
If road noise is an issue, this park isn't for you. IH-20 is a busy highway. Great trees and plenty of grass.
Aug 16, 2013
Arrived late and left early the next day. Broken sewer connection and wifi that was incredibly slow! On our first visit Aug 2nd, the power went out to our site in the middle of the night. Had to get up due to inop CPAP (so I could not breathe), and stumble around trying to remedy the problem. Children were still up running around making noise at 1 AM.
Aug 15, 2013
While we have stayed here before, this visit was not up to the standards we expect at KOA. We normally have someone escort us to our site at other KOAs. Not here. There were issues with the men's restroom. One sink was out of order and there was NO door knob at all on the entrance door. Wifi was erratic at best -- slow at worst. Did not need propane this time, but propane station was closed.
Aug 14, 2013
This is the worst KOA we have ever stayed at, and we have stayed at quite a few in the past 30+ years. Hope no one stays at this one and thinks this is the way all KOAs are. Very unhappy with the facilities, run down, and not working. No ADA toilet facilities in 2013, this is unacceptable.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
This was an okay campground. The write-up stated easy freeway access; it was easy to access exiting from the west bound, but getting back on the west bound was terrible. They probably should consider a second bathhouse. We needed propane and they didn't have any available. We were told we could get it at the Pilot truck center. We would stay again if we could not find another place.
Aug 11, 2013
Ok if you only need to stay overnight.
Aug 09, 2013
We arrived late and had to use the late arrival check-in. It was very easy and quick! We stayed in a cabin and it was very nice and clean.
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Very pleasant staff and the site was very sufficient in size. The pool was closed this visit but we have stayed several times and did not have any problems during any of our stays. We will stay again in the future.
Aug 05, 2013
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 05, 2013
The stay was grest and we enjoyed be able to take a pleasent rest. It would help in locating the park if there was a "KOA" sign indicating that the park is at this location off of the freeway. The KOA sign can not be seen from the freeway which would helpful for people on a busy road. The staff was great and very helpful. I would stay again.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
Good friendly staff, nice facilities. Office closed at 6pm, which was earliest we encountered.
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
The roads into and out of the back, badly need gravel or leveling, otherwise the park was average.
Jul 31, 2013
WE enjoyed our stay..
Jul 31, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.